We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed there for around 5 days in April of this year and would definitely stay there again if finances allow. The staff was very friendly and professional. The room was very nice and clean. We had a room overlooking the canal so that made it even nicer. Free wireless internet in the room. Nice clean bathroom. Comfortable bed. The location is also great, it was pretty much walking distance from everything we wanted to do. It was pretty expensive, but I do believe you get what you pay for - high quality! No complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    197
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
153
300
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We chose the Ambassade because it offered triple rooms for two adults and a college-aged son, because it is well located, and because it has a/c. Our triple under the eaves consisted of a main bedroom, a bed in an anteroom that could be closed off from the main room,and a bath. It was more than adequate for our needs, very nicely decorated. The a/c was welcome even though it was relatively cool and rainy during our stay--the first night, mosquitoes came in our opened windows overlooking the Herengracht. Right in the charming Nine Streets boutique shopping area of Amsterdam, a quiet neighborhood with good restaurants, convenient to multiple trams to the main attractions, close to the Anne Frank house. The front desk staff were wonderful, and well equipped with tickets to the museums so you can avoid lines. They reserved a time for us at the Anne Frank house, as well. We didn't breakfast at the hotel--there are cafes nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Unfortunately, we stayed only 1 night at the Ambassade, but it was a memorable experience that we would love to repeat. The rooms and amenities were very good, the location on the canal was perfect--but the top-notch staff were really what made the stay special. They were cordial, kind, polite, helpful, attentive, and prompt to all the guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend who stays here all the time - we loved it! - Great location, the staff were welcoming, informative, professional and friendly - Our room overlooked the canal - well worth the extra $$ as you really get the feel of Amsterdam. The bed was extremely comfortable-well serviced daily and charming. I would very much like to stay here again in the future - well done!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We recently returned from our first trip to Amsterdam and are thrilled that we chose the Ambassade Hotel for our three day stay. The hotel is ideally located and allowed us to reach all of our desired destinations easily by foot, although the tram is easily-accessible as well. Because we reserved late, we opted for a deluxe room to assure a canal view and we could not have been more pleased with the expansive and beautifully-maintained accommodations. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was large with heated floors and the living area was both spacious and charming. The staff are courteous and helpful to a fault and offered outstanding dining recommendations. We ate breakfast at the hotel one day and while we thought it warranted the cost, there are plenty of good, reasonably-priced alternatives in the neighborhood. We can't wait for our next visit to Amsterdam and the Ambassade Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

My college-aged daughter and I spent three nights at the Ambassade Hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated in the historical section of Amsterdam, on one of the canals. We walked everywhere from the hotel.

The staff at the hotel was very helpful getting us online reservations at the Anne Frank House and helping us with other questions we had. The room service was quick and good.

We had a room that was at the front of the hotel with only a few steps. The hotel is located in a historic building. We noticed some of the rooms were located up steep steps.

The hotel is very clean. We loved it and would most certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Wonderful canal house with view. Very steep stairs made it realistic. Suitcase taken care of immediately - no worries. Superb room service. No problem that I had to cancel second night's stay,

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.