We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel on the Herengracht” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel on the Herengracht”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

Staff could not have been nicer. Rooms were ready and clean. Hotel is superbly located and in a lovely canal-side setting. The only problem was that the two-story "suite" was cramped, the stairs too narrow and curving, and the layout inconvenient - not much room for luggage upstairs, only bath downstairs, etc. Nevertheless, if you prefer boutique hotels you will love the Ambassade.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    181
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
149
279
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

Stayed in room50, 1st floor, no view to speak of and quite small. there were his and hers sinks in the bathroom which was a nice touch. We used room service a couple of times, and found the service to be quick and not madly expensive. Free Internet was available (and used) downstairs in the "business centre"..there are connections in your room too. Breakfast, at 16 euros was an excellent investment. You can eat as much bread, yoghurt, fruit, cereal as you like. Egg and bacon are also available but they are delivered by the nice waiting staff. A hearty breakfast here will stave off the hunger until late afternoon! .
English papers (and from usa) were available in the lobby..There is a library and a lounge area with antique pictures and a huge clock.

In short- the room could have been better size-wise, but everything else was great.

  • Liked — great staff
  • Disliked — the view
  • Tips/Secrets — get a tram/bus pass 48hrs for 10euros, credit cards are not widely accepted
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

We stayed for 5 nights in a wonderful room w/ a balcony overlooking the canal (room 108). The room was not huge, but it was very charming. The staff was warm, friendly and efficient, the location was perfect and the bed was very comfortable. I would totally recommend the Ambassade!

  • Liked — Charming, comfortable, great staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

Just had three days at the hotel and it was perfect. Is on a beautifal and very quiet canal, 10 mins walk from all the main areas and with terrific staff and service. Having stayed in a lot of UK hotels this year it makes such a difference when papers, internet, brollys are all available for free. Found it by accident on this site but recommend it if you want somewhere relaxed, friendly and very good value.

  • Liked — location, staff, service
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you order breakfast ....it is huge and will set you up for the day
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

My girlfriend and I, in our early 20s, stayed at the Ambassde in early June. The service was excellent, the receptionists are very very friendly and speak perfect english, and the hotel was clean and modern. The hotel faces the canal on a quiet street, but is easily within walking distance of many wonderful restaurants and attractions. (there is a fantastic one just down the street though the name escapes me). There is a light-rail stop less than 5 mins walk from the hotel, so it's easily accessable. We were upgraded to a Jr. Suite when we arrived, which was a nice 2- level room- only complaint is that bathroom is on bottom floor, which didnt bother us really, but might for some older guests as the spiral stairs up to the top bedroom is rather steep. Breakfast is about avergae price as far as a nice hotel like this goes, but is well worth the price at least once- the spread is large and the food and service is great. I left a bag on the light-rail train, and when I asked the receptionists if there was any chance of retrieving it, they quickly made phone calls and offered me any help I needed. Nice library, sitting room, internet room make the Ambassade a great stay in Amsterdam. Would definately stay here again. One note, if you are in Amsterdam, dont miss the interactive Heinekin museum experience- its well worth the trip

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

The Ambassade is a gem, a beautiful hotel on the prettiest canal, with a real neighborhood feeling, yet an easy walk to most sights. Our canal-view room was on the very top floor of one of the linked canalhouses that make up the hotel. It was accessible by elevator and then a winding journey of halls and small steps. Although it was small -- the higher you go, the smaller the room -- we were all alone, with no one on either side, so it was very romantic. We loved sitting in the window and watching the boats go by. The lack of airconditioning, which we had been warned about, was a bit of a problem in the heat wave (80's) we had, but when the sun went down the air was cool and sleeping was no problem. Service was outstanding, with tickets, reservations, cabs, directions, all handled smilingly. And being greeted each morning with ,"Good morning, madam, good morning sir," was delightful. Since all rooms are different, some are better than others, which is risky, but we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

We stayed there for three days, and we had a great time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was nice, and the loaction was great. The room was a little loud, but that is to be expected when you are right on the street.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.