We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect introduction to Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect introduction to Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we traveled with 2 college aged boys and my 80 year old mother. I had requested a room for my mother near the elevator so she would not have to deal with so many stairs and she was given a wonderful room facing the canal. I booked the rooms directly with the hotel by email and they were very helpful and prompt.

All the service was excellent. We were given terrific restaurant recommendations and if we could not get reservations at one they booked us at another great place. I loved the location. It is on Herengracht, a beautiful canal, but it is within easy walking distance of other hot spots. I can't wait to go back and I am shopping for a Dutch bike to use here in Minneapolis

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    185
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
150
282
44
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

This was a great place in a great location. It is composed of a couple of houses or apartment type buildings just adjacent to the front office, so I had to go out of the front door and 100yds down the street to get to my room, then in a door and into the hall of a building that had maybe 5 rooms. Kind of unusual but that is how it goes when the houses are all really narrow. My room was very, very clean and interesting in layout in that there was a down and upstairs to it (it was a basic room). The downstairs was a very small (12 x 12) sitting room and the bathroom was down there. Then there was a very steep and tight spiral staircase up to the bedroom which was also really nice. Very cool lighting around with dimmers and tv's on each level. If you have mobility issues, probably not for you, if you are a couple looking for a romantic getaway, this is a good place. It rained and they have umbrellas to borrow at the desk. They also rented me a bike, but it was in pretty bad shape (breaks were iffy and the gears did not work) so go to a bike rental place for that because they keep their bikes better. And the place is pronounced "Am bah sahd", like the marquis de sade. I was asking people where it was and I was pronouncing it very incorectly and getting blank stares.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Wonderful quiet location facing the Herengracht canal in several old houses. Rooms are gennerally quite small, and those offered to single guests are the smallest of all with narrow single beds in some cases. Breakfast is not included and very expensive if requested.

Rooms facing the canal are few in number, but offer the best taste of the city, and this location is quiet; most of the time the loudest nightime noise is the wissh of the bicylcles rushing by.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

A very nice hotel, 4* not 3* as stated on Tripadvisor. Very pleasant staff who were professional and also genuinely friendly at all times. Although we didn't eat breakfast, to be honest at 16 Euros it was a bit too expensive, the breakfast room is beautiful. Our room was lovely overlooking the canal, bed and pillows (usually my main grip) were very comfortable with quality linen. Furniture, carpet and curtains to a very high standard. Bathroom was a little on the small side, very modern with a beautiful rain shower over the bath tub. The quality toiletries were replaced every day so there were plenty to take home I asked for extra shower gel and this was done with a smile each time. One thing to note, the web site has a map which is a little misleading, if you’ve been to Amsterdam before it's a 15 min walk to the museums and a 15-20 min walk to central Damrak i.e the gay area. I hope that helps. PS check Hotel.com ect our rate was reduced from 240 to 180

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I always search tripadvisor by ranking the lowest rating first. If I can stomach the lowest rating I don’t mind taking the risk. In the Ambassade's case the lower rating commentary in the reviews are complete BS.

We stayed in room 49 (4th floor overlooking the canal). The room was lovely, modest in size but clean and well furnished. The hotel also offers a quaint library, lounge, free internet access and an enjoyable breakfast area.

The staff are friendly and efficient. The hotel location is not only central but on one of the prettier canals in Amsterdam.

Of the hotels of a similar rating I have stayed during past visits to Amsterdam, the Ambassade is the hotel I will return to in future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Hotel that has great Dutch charm, is located on the Herrengracht. If you decide to go there, you will find a friendly staff who try to do everything for you. Don't miss the Float that is located next door of the hotel for a relaxing and serious massage and more.
If you decide to go here, you should specifiy a room with a view...ahuh...on the Canal.
Will personally return. A bit expensive, but compared to what?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

THe reviews were mainly right on. The Ambassade is an excellent hotel located in the center of Amsterdam. It is on the quiet Herengracht. It is an easy walk to most attrations. The staff was unbelievable. We requested a view of the canal so they automatically upgraded us to a junior suite which was the best room we had during our month long vacation in Europe. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.