We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel For All Ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel For All Ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

A bit late in posting review, but it was such a great experience I had to share. Traveled to Amsterdam with my two girls (7 & 10) for a long weekend and found this hotel was absolutely perfect. Called the hotel to book directly and the reservationist was excellent. We wanted a top notch room and she suggested a suite with a king bed and rollaway to accomdate us. Our room was right on the canal with a huge window that gave us views of all the boats. We had two floors with a bedroom on top and living space below. The kids loved the cool staircase. We actually entered on the street so it was almost like living in an apartment in the city which was very cool too. Two of us shared the bed and the rollaway was in the living room below with room to spare for seating and tv.

Travelling with kids can be hairy sometimes and the hotel was very relaxed and accomodating to my kids. Since my husband didn't join us on this trip, my kids sent daily emails from the small but efficient business center and no one raised an eyebrow about kids on the computers. The front desk was also helpful in securing tickets to some of the big ticket attractions. The kids forgot to mail thier postcards on our last day and the front desk even offered to send them out for us.

The hotel's location was ideal . There were plenty of restaurants surrounding the hotel so no matter which way we went exploring, we were never at a loss of where to eat. Right around the corner was a busy square with tons of cafes with outdoor tables. The location was ideal for sightseeing too. A very short walk away were a host of must see sights. In fact, everything was so central to the hotel we rarely had to rely on taxis or public transportation. In fact, the public transportion was so clean and easy to navigate that it became our main mode of travel. A main tram hub was right around the corner so that was super convenient and there were plenty of shops right there to buy the tickets. Several tram lines also made frequent stops on the streets surrounding the hotel so we were always able to hop on and off within a few minutes walk of the hotel.

Some of the attractions my kids loved, and all within walking distance, were the Ann Frank museum, the Houseboat Museum, drinking hot chocolate at the myriad of canal side cafes and buying our daily snack of french fries in the square by the Ann Frank museum. By tram, we visited the zoo, had dinner at the Hard Rock Cafe and rented bikes to ride at Vongel park. We rented bikes on our last day and regretted not renting for the entire time we were there. Lots of bikes, and very few cars make for a great and safe way to explore the city.

Each night my kids ordered bedtime hot chocolate from room service and we found the service to be prompt and very cordial. We ate breakfast in the hotel once but it was too quiet and stuffy for my kids so we decided to grab breakfast around the hotel. There was also a supermarket near the houseboat museum so we stocked up on snacks and made use of the fridge in our suite.

Amsterdam was the perfect trip for my kids who found lots of fun and fascinating things to discover and the Ambassde was the ideal place to stay. It offered us the comfort and level of service we expect from hotels but was unique enough to escape the generic hotel room syndrome. It really did offer us a taste of Amsterdam and we loved it!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    180
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
135
256
43
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

My wife and I spent two nights at the Ambassade and were very impressed, both with the standard of the hotel and its conscientious staff who went out of their way to help make our stay as pleasurable as possible; this included booking tickets to the Van Gough and Rijks museums in advance to avoid queuing, giving us detailed directions to shops and restaurants and looking after our luggage after we had checked out until we left for the airport. The Ambassade is ideally located on the Herengracht - far enough from the city centre to avoid being kept awake at night by marauding gangs of boozed up Brits but within easy striking distance of the main museums as well as a broad range of shops, cafes and restaurants. While our room wasn't the most inspiring, it was clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast, though expensive, was tasty and abundant and room service was reasonably priced. In all, a lovely hotel that I would recommend highly and hope to stay at again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

I guess we were lucky. Our large and beautifully appointed room #52 on the Herengracht had a view of the canal, a large soaking tub and a seperate shower. Free bottles of water and fruit upon checking in and friendly service throughout our stay. The beds were divine. The location is perfect. We were able to walk everywhere from there. Very quiet in the evening. Perfect for a good night's rest!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, MA USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Located on the Herengracht, one of the old canal rings encircling the city, the Ambassade is beautifully decorated - we were open-mouthed at the quality of the furnishings. And it was staffed with friendly, knowledgeable, multilingual employees. The location was perfect - we were within walking distance of museums, the Dam, the Red Light District, the Begjinhof, great restaurants and bars (we loved the Five Flies just around the corner, built in 1634). The breakfast was sumptuous, but seemed a bit pricey, so we only tried it once. WE stayed for 3 nights, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

The Ambassade is not a really bad hotel. It is just far too expensive. The location is very good. The entrance is very promising but the rooms were a big disappointment and so was the service. Our room was small and dark. The room service we ordered was never delivered. One just gets tired complaining to the staff all day but unfortunately you have to.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys, Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in the Staff are wonderful friendly very very helpful, efficient.
The Breakfast is first class, room service was fast and hot.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We enjoyed our stay (3 nights) at Hotel Ambassade in Amsterdam. The hotel staff was friendly, efficient, and helpful, and their English was excellent, assisting with everything from nearby restaurants to tram tickets/directions. Our room had a great canal view. Street noise at night was non-existant.The decor of the room was OK, and the bed was comfortable. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was spotty - sometimes great and sometimes not. Very close to tram lines and walking distance to many attrations, we couldn't have imagined a better location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.