We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special in Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Special in Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This was my second stay at Ambassade Hotel....and there will be a third! Everything about this special hotel works for me - excellent location on the canal (which quiets at night), within easy walking distance of restaurants/cafes/shopping/tourist sights, etc, lovely decor (beautiful renovation since my last visit!) and exceptional service. The front desk staff could not be friendlier or more accommodating. It was such a pleasure to return to this welcoming and classy hotel after full days of sightseeing. I highly recommend The Ambassade Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    220
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
168
349
51
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Just returned from an excellent three night stay, rooms were well decorated and clean, hotel location was excellent, on one of the main canals with easy access to the city centre.
Staff were very friendly and offered help finding restaurants and trips. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

It was our first time in Amsterdam, so I decided to spend a little more to stay in a nice hotel and the Ambassade Hotel didn't let us down. I got an attic room as requested with a nice canal view. The room is not big which is normal for Amsterdam but it's well-equipped. We have free good-wifi in the room. The rain shower and the comfy bed are to die for after a long walk each day. The hotel has just been renovated to install an elevator, which is a plus given steep stairs here. The location is superb with lots of small shops, restaurants and cafés in the little nine-street area.
Ok, it's not cheap but I think it's really worth the money.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just returned from a stay at this charming small hotel. We truly loved this place. High marks for:
1. Location - on an active but quiet at night canal. I am a light sleeper and our canal view, third floor rooms were very quiet. In the center of the 9s (definitely where you want to be). A 5 - 20 minute walk to literally everything most visitors want to see in Amsterdam. And right around the corner from Van Stapele, which has unbelievably yummy cookies, and other great eating spots.
2. Beds - one of the most comfortable ones I've ever slept in when traveling.
3. Décor - has a fabulous art collection in the common areas. The rooms are old world and colorful, with a few modern touches. Our 2 rooms were plum colored and black/white and olive (numbers 65 and 53).
4. Service - they accommodated every request and were extremely helpful in making and changing dinner reservations and giving directions and making recommendations.

Average marks for breakfast, although I think a good value at about $25 pp since it included hot items such as eggs. Also, the rooms were starting to show a little wear and tear, but I still found them lovely.

I researched a number of other similarly rated hotels, and the few highest end ones. Having gone by some of them while walking around, I think we picked the right spot. Overall, I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Splurge for the canal view rooms and if light foot traffic noise is an issue, ask for a room on a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed in family bedroom August 2014. The room was actually a ground-level apartment adjacent to main hotel property, with a separate entrance. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The accommodations were nice, but the room was small for 4 people and there was too much furniture in the space. The location of the property was a big plus, a quiet neighborhood very close to the Dam and shopping district. Based on the room we had, we would probably not return as a family, but if it were just my wife and I, we would consider another stay in the main hotel. Room service is available, but we did not avail of this given all of the dining options in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great location on a canal with lovely views from our room. The furnishing is all historic but clean and with a very modern and comfortable bathroom. It was a bit pricey but the room size was good and the staff very helpful.
The only drawbacks were that breakfast (superb, extensive & served in a beautiful room) was a bit pricey, the WIFI could be a bit 'hit & miss' and there were no tea & coffee making facilities in the room.
TIP: On check out the staff said that we should have asked for tea & coffee making facilities at the start of our holiday and they would have provided a kettle etc for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view & kettle in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egnach, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Really a nice place to stay in this lovely city. The rooms are wunderfull and filled with love. We were in the 4th floor with a breathtaking view over the Herrengracht. The breakfast for 17€ is really a great thing... Champagne....Croissants.....Eggs in all variants. The People are so lovely and happy to help you in any case. (Taxi, Vouchers for the VanGogh Museum or Recommentions for a good Restaurant). Be sure we will come back soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.