We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location on one of the canals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful location on one of the canals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

There were five of us...we had two rooms. Room 28 was located overlooking the canal and very comfortable. Room 26 was a good family room...one king bed and twin beds located in a small room off to the side. This room (#26) is located in the back of the hotel (no view) but very quiet and comfortable. We could walk to everything!

Room Tip: There was no parking on site, but the hotel did reserve a space in a garage that was not too far fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    197
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
158
304
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Wonderful hotel. Great location. Beautiful boutique hotel with lovely decor. Our room was on the 4th floor and overlooked the canal. Everyone was friendly and helpful. It was my birthday on the day we checked in and in the two minutes it took for us to go from registration to the dining room, the host was informed and wished me a happy birthday. Good start to the day. Walking distance to just about everywhere. Just watch out for the cyclists.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel is terrific...gracious and welcoming staff, perfect location, wonderful views, excellent breakfast...simply everything, but it is not inexpensive. Others have noted that some rooms have accessibility issue. This is true, but we've stayed here many times and because of some disability that I have, have recently been noting this when reserving, and we've always been made very comfortable. This is a wonderful hotel that I can recommend heartily.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful in booking travel needs. The room was spacious but could use a bit of pickup. It is a bit of maze to get to you room. The location is excellent for this very walkable city. The breakfast was very generous in choices and service was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We travel periodically to Amsterdam and Ambassade is the only hotel we have ever used there. As other travelers have noted, it has a wonderful location on Herengracht. It is convenient for our business, but also to great food, entertainment, and museums. The property is historically significant and charming. We count on, and receive, a warm welcome and excellent service.
One of its best features is its breakfast, which is not routinely included in room rates and rather expensive, but nonetheless excellent and served in a lovely room overlooking the canal.
The rooms, including the baths, have been retrofitted into a set of ancient row houses. This means rooms can be fairly inaccessible (up and down steep and winding stairs) and are variable in size and appointments. Bathrooms have luxurious finishes and fittings but can be challenging--to take a shower, one often has to climb up into and out of a deep, elevated bathtub. On our recent trip, we were in a room that was relatively small and difficult to access; the bath was down a flight of steep stairs within the room, the deep tub was elevated, and the double sinks used all the available counter space.
This is not an inexpensive hotel. The challenges we experienced, along with the unreliable wifi, have made us doubt we will return. But we were glad to enjoy its charms one more time.

Room Tip: If you have issues with stairs be sure to make sure you get a room that is reasonably accessible. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

If there was any decision I would consider the most important decision to make when traveling to Amsterdam it would be the Hotel

Here are the reasons why I consider and recommend to all of you to book the Ambassade hotel.

Location: Amsterdam is a city on foot so location is key! The Ambassade hotel is set in a very beautiful high-class district away from all the tourists not to mention a beautiful view of the canal. If your set to enjoy walking the city everything is just a 20 minute walk : that includes the Anne frank museum, the flower market, the city center to name a few.

Service: As a boutique hotel their service was of a five star hotel, their knowledge of the restaurants and locations to visit at night. I always believe a hotel that makes an effort in small perks really try and think of the customer in mind, first Wifi was free in the hotel, free water every day in your rooms plus in most hotels they would charge us for even the use of their chargers and that was not the case at this hotel which was an added bonus.

Room: I have to admit for the price you pay the rooms are quite small but it is a boutique hotel in the end of the day and I knew going in that this was what I would have expected.

Safety: The hotels is safe, what I mean by that is first you could not go through to the elevators unless you had a key and can safely keep the keys at the front desk without worrying about your room. Second I had an incident where I had forgotten to put in my expensive watch back in the Safebox and left for the whole day. I came back to find the place clean and my watch still in its place and I have to say there are many stories which this wouldn’t be the case in hotels in Europe.

Food: I did not actually dine at the hotel as there were multiple restaurants and cafes all around the hotel so I could not judge the hotels food services.


Don’t let the price of the hotel get you second guessing this boutique hotel, the location and services make the stay worth every minute.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

After a perfect stay at the Ambassade Hotel in June 2013, we returned and were greeted immediately with a very friendly 'welcome back' and immediately escorted to our room. Ideally situated on the beautiful Herengracht canal, within easy walking distance of historic sites and museums, this extraordinary hotel is beautifully appointed and the entire staff is committed to guest comfort. Our spacious room overlooking the canal was beautifully appointed with an ecclectric combination of traditional and modern furniture with a large bathroom with walk-in shower, bathtub, and double vanities. Breakfast in the bright, airy breakfast room is both substantial and delightful. The reception staff universally are consummate professionals, but also are congenial, friendly, and generous with their time in attending to guests' needs and making suggestions to enhance the guest's stay in Amsterdam. And all staff at the hotel are attentive, efficient, helpful, and display a pride in their role in making this hotel the extraordinary hotel that it is. From the moment of arrival to the moment of departure, our return was yet again an exceptional and perfect experience. This is a world-class hotel both in terms of comfort and service deserving of every accolade and award. We look forward to yet another stay at the Ambassade Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.