We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Extraordinary and Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An Extraordinary and Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

After a perfect stay at the Ambassade Hotel in June 2013, we returned and were greeted immediately with a very friendly 'welcome back' and immediately escorted to our room. Ideally situated on the beautiful Herengracht canal, within easy walking distance of historic sites and museums, this extraordinary hotel is beautifully appointed and the entire staff is committed to guest comfort. Our spacious room overlooking the canal was beautifully appointed with an ecclectric combination of traditional and modern furniture with a large bathroom with walk-in shower, bathtub, and double vanities. Breakfast in the bright, airy breakfast room is both substantial and delightful. The reception staff universally are consummate professionals, but also are congenial, friendly, and generous with their time in attending to guests' needs and making suggestions to enhance the guest's stay in Amsterdam. And all staff at the hotel are attentive, efficient, helpful, and display a pride in their role in making this hotel the extraordinary hotel that it is. From the moment of arrival to the moment of departure, our return was yet again an exceptional and perfect experience. This is a world-class hotel both in terms of comfort and service deserving of every accolade and award. We look forward to yet another stay at the Ambassade Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    219
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
168
346
51
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband , myself and two of our adult sons spent four fabulous days at this really great hotel.
The position is perfect, the staff helpful and friendly, the rooms (deluxe) quiet and well appointed. We were sorry to leave the hotel! And all look forward to going there again. Well done to all concerned, you have a very good product indeed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I was in Amsterdam just for a day (June 4th, 2014)for business and had booked a single occupancy room. This hotel is simply fantastic. Location, management, guest services.i will give 10 on 10.

Upon my request they upgraded me to a suit over looking canal... Simply superb!!!
Shall definitely return to same property whenever in future and recommend to all.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I spent valentines weekend 2014 at this wonderful hotel. Fantastic location and a beautiful room with real character. The hotel had vouchers for the main museums which saved us queuing for hours outside the museums. Really re commend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

You cannot stay in a better location (near the 9 streets), in a more charming setting (a series of canal houses) and be more spoiled. The front desk was very helpful with wonderful suggestions for our stay. The hotel is beautifully appointed with antiques and modern art, our suite #97 was spacious and beautiful with lovely canal views. My only caution is it is a circuitous route to the room that involves two elevators and a final steep staircase. Fortunately they do have a porter for the bags. They also rent bikes by the day. A convenient offering- but be careful. It isn't an easy icy to bike. The breakfast (wasn't included in our rate) was delicious and very hearty. We would love to come back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Amsterdam is not a good hotel city, but this is one of the best hotels I've visited there.

Charming, good location and great service.

Extra points for renting out bikes and the real champagne (!) at the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We found this hotel on the web by accident, and very happy we did. We hate staying at big impersonal hotels, and this eclectic amalgamation of 1O restored and renovated historic canal houses on the Herengracht, with its excellent collection of art from the Cobra group, with some stunning pieces by Karel Appel and Corneille, suited us to a T. Interesting, charming, real. No wonder so many writers and artists visiting Amsterdam make the Ambassade their home base, and contribute their works to the hotel's excellent library. So let's run through what makes this place special:

1. Not only the fact that the hotel is composed of historic canal houses, but also its location: on the Herengracht, one of the main canals in Amsterdam, lovely in itself and central to everything you will want to see. Yes, Amsterdam is a small city with excellent transportation, but it’s nice to have everything within really easy walking distance: Rembrandt-Huis, the Anne Frank House, the Purse Museum (!), and best of all, Museum-Plein with the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Gallery, and the Concertgebouw.

2. The staff: the people who work at the Ambassade are genuinely pleasant, helpful and professional, a terrific crew of people who obviously enjoy being there. One couldn’t ask for better service. The one minor misunderstanding I had with one front desk person did nothing to diminish the pleasure of our stay.

3. The room: ours was on the top (3rd) floor of one of the canal houses, and it was larger than we expected given how narrow these canal houses can be. Because so many separate houses have been “joined’ into one, the hallways and steep staircases can be a bit of a labyrinth to navigate, but you learn the route and once in your room you feel you’re in a private oasis, quite separate from other rooms. Our room was nicely decorated, with a terrific abstract over the bed, and with three large windows facing the canal. A downside was the “king size” bed which was in fact two single beds joined together, so there was a gap down the middle, plus each single bed was on the firm side and seemed to “crown” in the centre, which made for an odd sensation. Despite that we slept well. Perhaps the room had too much furniture in it: we had to maneuver around the two armchairs and coffee table. The bathroom was very good: double sinks, a bath, a shower, plenty of clean towels every day.

4. The library and art collection: wander around the hotel, poke your nose around corners, you’ll discover delightful pieces everywhere: small sculptures, ceramics, ink drawings, prints and oils. Spend some time in the library. Nice.

5. Service: the staff will bring you a coffee, a glass of wine, anytime and almost anywhere in the hotel, except other people’s rooms: in the two ante rooms off the front desk, in the salon on the first floor off the dining room, and in your room. Plus they’ll bring a side dish of salted and spicy nuts.

As some other reviewers have noted, the breakfast at 17.50 Euros per person seems a bit expensive, but then everything in Amsterdam is expensive. And, as some have noted, the staff in the breakfast room could be more uniformly courteous and responsive to all their guests. The basic breakfast itself is continental buffet, and you can stuff yourself with cheeses, fruit, cereals, yogurt, smoked salmon and herring etc. You can order eggs and bacon etc. at extra cost. Or you can simply go out for breakfast at any number of nearby charming cafes, which is also fun.

All in all, the Ambassade is a find, a bit of a destination in its own right, and even its rough edges and kinks contribute to its character, to its unique and authentic feel. I like this place, and if we ever return to Amsterdam, which is a city we really like, we will stay here again with pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Herengracht, the major canal the hotel faces. The view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.