We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
grimsby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My partner was left to make the booking for our trip to amsterdam and I must say I was very impressed. Having stayed in Amsterdam 3 times previously this hotel was far by the nicest. The room itself was the biggest ive stayed in the furniture was lovely bed was so very comfortable and very big as requested. Only issue with the room was the lack of a proper shower we only had a hand held over the bath one but not too much of an issue and the under floor heating was a nice touch. We had a quick look at the lounge and the breakfast room with looked very nice indeed however we never ate in the hotel so I ma unable to comment on the standard of food. Yes there were renovations but we were never disturbed by these the hotel staff were very helpful, a taxi booked arrived within minutes overall a lovely hotel and would indeed stay here again however next time we shall be making use of the discount for the koan float centre. Once we gathered our bearings the hotel is around the corner from dam square it just took us a day to figure this out so location is excellent yet far enough out that its very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    207
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
164
320
50
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Unlike a previous reviewer, we hadn't been warned that renovations were going on, and on our first morning we were woken at 7:00am (6:00 British time) to the sound of drills, sledgehammers and men handling equipment. The hotel was very understanding and changed our room for us, to a higher floor. A waitress in the breakfast room told us that there was some emergency work that needed to be done, and the rest of our stay was quiet.
This is an excellent and well-run hotel; it is well appointed, though it does involve a bit of a labyrinth trying to get about in it (as is is a series of many houses knocked together). The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. It is not cheap, but it is well worth the expense.
The hotel has an extensive collection of art on display and the clock in the lounge is a beautiful long-case 18th century clock with an animated dial. The hotel also has a library of more than 3,000 presentation volumes signed by authors who have stayed there (many famous ones indeed).
We hope to come back.

Room Tip: While the renovation is going on, try to be well away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We visited Amsterdam and the Ambassade for 3 nights in mid March. Booking took place through their webpage. With our booking we were notified about ongoing renovation in the reception area. Skeptical what that meant it was a positive surprise to find out that we were not disturbed by the daily renovations at any time! No noise, no dust, nothing.
The hotel has a central location at the Herengracht and the “9 streets “ shopping district. It consists of 10 Grachten (canal) houses from the 17th century. Charming old world ambience at the water is what you expect and what you get. That leads to the fact that there is no parking at the hotel. However, we were aware of that. A few words about parking in Amsterdam at the end of this review.
Pros:
Central location but quiet, walking distance to all attractions, typical 17th century grachten huizen (canal houses), interior design is contemporary with nice touches of antique furniture, up to date technical standards, friendly and welcoming service.
Cons:
No parking, steep staircases and narrow corridors could be an issue for some guests.

On arrival we checked in at a small reception off the closed main entrance (renovation). It was a seamless process by very friendly staff. We were escorted to our room and the luggage send up. This was helpful, because it could be difficult to find your way around the first time in these interconnected century old houses with steep staircases and rather narrow corridors. The modern lift circumvented most of it. Out of the lift, only a few steps up a bright lit corridor decorated with modern paintings and we reached our room on the 4th floor.
Room:
A charming room with high ceiling under a gable roof and Grachten view as we requested. The interior was lovely decorated with partly period furniture. Nice, a historical painting of the 10 Grachten houses forming this hotel. The room was not that large but adequate, same went for the closet space. Technical standards were up to date: free WiFi, TV, Led-lighting, air-con. As it was for the bathroom as well: underfloor heating, Led-lighted rainshower and a huge heated mirror that does not fog up. Space for two and fluffy bathrobes. Toiletry by Rituals.
We slept well in comfortable beds. It was very quiet for the central location and open windows at night caused no disturbance. Our room was clean and well kept all the time.
Breakfast:
Was served in a high ceiling drawing room on the first floor lit by large windows facing the Gracht. However, to get a taste of Amsterdam we decided to have breakfast every morning in varying small cafes in the neighbourhood .
Other public rooms were a fine decorated lounge next to the breakfast room. For those booklovers there is a library with first editions signed by the authors who stayed at the Ambassade.
Staff:
Throughout the hotel they were friendly, polite and helpful. Lois at reception was representative for all of them. Getting us tickets to the Rijksmuseum, recommending good restaurants, arranging a late check-out, putting bunches of flowers in vases and solving the parking problem.
Parking:
And driving in Amsterdam is a challenge for three reasons: narrow oneway streets in the center, thousands and thousands of bikers (forget China) and very limited parking spaces. Fees beat Frankfurt airport parking hands down, around EUR 50 per day no matter where you park: street, car park or hotel garage if any. The solution for us was Park&Ride at the fringes of the city center. Easy to reach, safe, beats traffic jam in the center and incl. a tram ticket that shuttles you in 20 minutes anywhere into the center. Fee EUR 12 per day.
Conclusion:
All in all the Ambassade was a good choice for us. Central location to explore Amsterdam, Grachten houses with well done interior decoration added to the local spirit, friendly and helpful staff. We would not hesitate to return once more.

Room Tip: Room with Grachten view on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Three of us stayed at this lovely hotel this weekend and loved it. The hotel is a sensitively restored amalgamation of ten canal side houses on the pretty Herrengracht a pleasant 15 minute amble from the museum which were the main focus of our visit. Our rooms were spacious, very comfortable, spotlessly clean and intelligently arranged. Good lighting and well equipped bathrooms. Breakfast was excellent,everything very fresh, good bread, fresh fruit salad, variety of cheeses , meats , fish and eggs cooked to order.The greatest plaudits amongst all these complements belongs to the Ambassades stellar front desk staff for whom no request was too much effort. From a loaned IPhone charger, to a tube of toothpaste, arranging cabs and museum tickets, making wake up calls at exactly the time requested, providing tea at 11 pm , everything was executed with grace, friendliness and efficiency.All in all - outstanding in every way.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EelcoDouma, Manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your beautiful message, it is really good noticing you enjoyed your time at the Ambassade Hotel.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights seduced by the website, so we were slightly underwhelmed to find ourselves entering by a side door into a rather pokey reception. It soon transpired that major refurbishment was going on to the main reception area. It should all look splendid when finished.
The location is just perfect, in a quiet area surrounded by some very good restaurants and cafes. Easy distance to the museums - about 15 minutes. About 10 minutes to Anne Frank House and Dam Square. Very quiet at night.
We opted for a De Luxe room overlooking the Singel Canal, and it was a good size room with seating. The bathroom was very small but well equipped, but no bidet. Apples, bottled water and sweets provided free daily. Decent toiletries too.
The breakfast was 17.50 Euros a day, so we just took it for one day. The breakfast room wasn't large enough to accommodate all diners, so if you didn't get down at a good time you were shunted into the lounge to wait for a table. Frankly, there are so many cafes around that I can't see the point of paying that much for breakfast in the hotel.
Without exception the staff were absolutely delightful. We were able to buy museum tickets at reception which saved some queuing when we got there. (Tip. Get to all museums when they open!)
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and the only slight moan was that beds though excellent were just a tad hard, so not so good for old hips.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel is located in the charming nine streets district, walking distance to shops and restaurants, close to the tram station (line 2/5 takes you straight up to Central Station or down to the museum district, 2 stops away).

The first thing I noticed was the incredible art collection. Many original pieces of CoBrA style displayed throughout the hotel. We stayed in a classic room which was comfortable and tastefully decorated.

Breakfast is great. The only thing missing is a proper cappuccino machine.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spent a very comfortable two nights in Room 53 canal-side. The only sign of renovations was a painter who emerged from the lift as we were shown to our room and the portacabins outside. Location ideal for centre and Museumplein. Breakfast room is very pleasant but why place a selection of meats and cheese on each table? Covered cool trays are routinely available on hotel buffets so guests can choose their own, either there must be huge wastage or plates are redistributed. The same applies to the basket of bread and rolls. Selection of fruit and yoghurt could be more extensive. Staff quietly efficient, hotel clean, decor charming. Good time had on our visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.