We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful art collection, brilliant location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful art collection, brilliant location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel is located in the charming nine streets district, walking distance to shops and restaurants, close to the tram station (line 2/5 takes you straight up to Central Station or down to the museum district, 2 stops away).

The first thing I noticed was the incredible art collection. Many original pieces of CoBrA style displayed throughout the hotel. We stayed in a classic room which was comfortable and tastefully decorated.

Breakfast is great. The only thing missing is a proper cappuccino machine.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    197
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
153
300
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spent a very comfortable two nights in Room 53 canal-side. The only sign of renovations was a painter who emerged from the lift as we were shown to our room and the portacabins outside. Location ideal for centre and Museumplein. Breakfast room is very pleasant but why place a selection of meats and cheese on each table? Covered cool trays are routinely available on hotel buffets so guests can choose their own, either there must be huge wastage or plates are redistributed. The same applies to the basket of bread and rolls. Selection of fruit and yoghurt could be more extensive. Staff quietly efficient, hotel clean, decor charming. Good time had on our visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Really comfortable hotel! Room was lovely (canal view ideal) and we were high up and so didn't hear any noise (there was building work going on).
Breakfast was great!
The reception staff were really helpful
Would have scored this a 5 if it hadn't been for the works outside!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

All the positive comments ring true so no need to re-iterate. The only two things that didn't make this particular stay perfect was that (1) there was drilling in the next room in the morning while I was still lounging in bed, and (2) the plug in one of the sinks in the bathroom was broken and it was not rectified before retired for the night so I had a sink full of water. Not a big deal as there were two sinks. I would definitely stay here again.

I stayed in Room 29, canal view, which was more than adequate for what I needed.

Room Tip: Room 29, canal view, was lovely on a sunny day. A bit of street noise could be heard but nothing of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had fantastic three night stay in this hotel from beginning to end. We were given a two level apartment on the top floor. The lounge and bathroom each had spectacular views out over a beautiful part of the city and the bedroom windows peaked out across surrounding rooftops. Lovely. The apartment was luxuriously appointed and was very pleasant to come back to each day.

The hotel is wonderfully decorated throughout and it was a delight to walk the corridors. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there when we visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel was just lovely from start to finish. The rooms were so fun and quirky, just what you'd hope for from a hotel in this part of the city. We were put in the top floor and after the trek up it was definitely worth the wait. The room was stunning. Wood beams along the ceiling and a cathedral like top. The bathroom had under floor heating and the room was absolutely massive. The bed was like a cloud you could sink in to and never want to get up. And then you do and look out the window to a gorgeous canal.

Would definitely go back to this hotel. It was wonderful. I want to try the saltwater soak next time!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I agree with all the positive comments about this hotel. Our room was tastefully decorated and
very clean with all the amenities needed. The staff for the hotel and the dining area was very accommodating. The breakfast
room is so bright and cheery and the food delicious. The location is excellent for walking to the
major museums and many restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.