We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nicely appointed, lovely art and excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location, nicely appointed, lovely art and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

All the positive comments ring true so no need to re-iterate. The only two things that didn't make this particular stay perfect was that (1) there was drilling in the next room in the morning while I was still lounging in bed, and (2) the plug in one of the sinks in the bathroom was broken and it was not rectified before retired for the night so I had a sink full of water. Not a big deal as there were two sinks. I would definitely stay here again.

I stayed in Room 29, canal view, which was more than adequate for what I needed.

Room Tip: Room 29, canal view, was lovely on a sunny day. A bit of street noise could be heard but nothing of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    197
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
153
300
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had fantastic three night stay in this hotel from beginning to end. We were given a two level apartment on the top floor. The lounge and bathroom each had spectacular views out over a beautiful part of the city and the bedroom windows peaked out across surrounding rooftops. Lovely. The apartment was luxuriously appointed and was very pleasant to come back to each day.

The hotel is wonderfully decorated throughout and it was a delight to walk the corridors. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there when we visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel was just lovely from start to finish. The rooms were so fun and quirky, just what you'd hope for from a hotel in this part of the city. We were put in the top floor and after the trek up it was definitely worth the wait. The room was stunning. Wood beams along the ceiling and a cathedral like top. The bathroom had under floor heating and the room was absolutely massive. The bed was like a cloud you could sink in to and never want to get up. And then you do and look out the window to a gorgeous canal.

Would definitely go back to this hotel. It was wonderful. I want to try the saltwater soak next time!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I agree with all the positive comments about this hotel. Our room was tastefully decorated and
very clean with all the amenities needed. The staff for the hotel and the dining area was very accommodating. The breakfast
room is so bright and cheery and the food delicious. The location is excellent for walking to the
major museums and many restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in february 2014 for four nights. the staff , especially at the reception . they were helpfull and friendly. the location of the hotel is perfect. it is in midway between the center of the old city in one direction and the major musuems in another. the unique feature is the library of the hotel .

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed at the Ambassade with my family last week for four nights (February 19-23). We had booked two double superior rooms with canal views and had to change one of the rooms because it was too small and had a tiny closet), The change was the following day and this time the room was great. It was cozy, spacious and had excellent views. The only thing worth mentioning is that the rooms are not well insonorized and being on the first floor you could hear absolutely everything going on outside.
Apart from that, the staff was very nice and always willing to help.
The breakfast was fabulous!!
I would no doubt recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wilts, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The reason for booking this hotel was that this was our first trip to Amsterdam and we thought it would be lovely to have a canal-facing hotel with a canal facing room. The reviews here were excellent so I thought we were on to a winner. We booked two superior double deluxe rooms which have guaranteed canal views for husband, myself and teenage son. We requested they be close together.

On booking in, we were told that we were being upgraded to junior suites. Even better, thought I - wrongly. There are a few suites - junior and senior. All but one has a canal view. Yes, we were given that. It was also several doors down the street from ours - meaning you had to walk down the street to get to ours and would have to wait outside because our room was in a different block which had it's own key, so you did not have access to the building. The suite is also below ground level, meaning you have a view consisting of bike and car wheels and people's legs so is also noisy.

Our suite was higher, but the seating area was downstairs, as was the bathroom, and the bedroom upstairs. Upstairs is reached by a narrow spiral staircase which is VERY difficult to get your suitcase up. The positioning of the staircase meant that it was difficult to get to the wardrobe and we had to leave lights on in the night so as not to break our necks going to the bathroom at night.

We were told that it wasn't possible to put us in the rooms we had booked. We were very unhappy and our son chose not to use his hotel room that night and slept on the spare single bed in our room. However, a phonecall later from the reception team told us that the suite opposite us would become available the following day which was a relief.

The hotel is undergoing renovations which we knew nothing of in advance. The main renovations were going on in the room NEXT to the suite my son had been given. The digging and drilling would have made it intolerable for him to stay in that room and the noise level in the dining room while breakfast was going on was phenomenal and the lounge next door was covered in a layer of dust as a consequence. Really not a good impression for a hotel trying to give the appearance of "luxury".

Breakfast was lovely, our bed was comfortable and for our inconvenience of having a room that was unused the first night, we were given a 15% discount for one night for that one room alone. In my opinion, however, this situation should not have arisen and we should either have been given the rooms which we booked, or told that the hotel could not have accommodated us. There should also have been some notification of the major alterations going on. I felt so sorry for anyone who may have been jet-lagged trying to get some peace in all of that.

Location is pleasant, the area seemed very safe and the staff polite and pleasant. I wouldn't return, however, as we didn't get what we booked, and the "upgrade" was no upgrade in my opinion, but was probably an attempt to placate us that they were over-booked and shouldn't have offered us our son's room in any circumstances.

Room Tip: Ask if they've finished the rennovations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.