We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true ambassador for Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A true ambassador for Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My pet hate? Pretentious hotels that act like they are doing you a favour by letting you in! Nothing could be further from the truth in this gorgeous establishment, their warmth is matched in staff, ambience and setting.
In a picturesque setting of merchant's houses, in the quirky/arty section of town not the noisy hen/stag area the Ambassade is a straightforward walk from the Central Station.
We had the beautiful blue room 51, but I'm sure all rooms are gorgeous, even down to the Rituals toiletries. There is a library where authors who have stayed at the hotel have left signed copies of their works, very high-brow I didn't feel the need to get engrossed in too many but it was a lovely room. We loved afternoon tea in the formal drawing room, a beautiful mix of antiques, art and antiquities but not at all hands off don't touch, guests were always encouraged to feel at home.
Art adorns all the walls of the hotel, from sketches to modernist work - again they were accessible not prescriptive. They provided a very comprehensive list of recommended restaurants for the area, although we already had dinner reservations at Vlaming - which I will be reviewing in a mo!
Breakfast is exceptionally good, the hot chocolate divine! When booking we confirmed that my husband is gluten free (coeliac) no mention was made until very unobtrusively a basket of gluten free bread was seemlessly delivered to our table - that's attention to detail!
I could wax on but what I would say is my husband travels extensively for business, and we both agreed this is definitely one of our favourites - we will be back and we highly recommend the Ambassade.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    197
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
153
299
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and baby in December 2013. We were delighted with the hotel, the breakfast and facilities that it offered. The room was extremely comfortable and the staff very accommodating.

The only down side is that this, hotel, like so many buildings in this city do not easily accommodate buggies/prams. Although there are lifts, there are also steps on the floors to get to the rooms.

However I would recommend this hotel to anybody and good value for money for what you get

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Enjoyed my stay, room was clean and staff was helpful. They made me dinner reservations prior to arrival. Good location for activities throughout the city in a quiet neighborhood. Would probably stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is an exquisite little hotel housed in several old Amsterdam canal houses on the Heerengracht, within easy walking distance of the Central Square, the RijksMuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. There is also interesting shopping in offbeat or quirky shops in the "Nine Streets" very close to it (ask at the hotel reception.) Really I cannot commend this hotel too highly. The staff were exceptional - courteous, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The rooms are decorated with great flair, and the bathrooms are spotless. There is a beautiful reading room/library on the reception floor, and one floor up overlooking the canal is a huge, high-ceilinged drawing room for use by hotel guests, beautifully furnished with Dutch antiques and blazing with light from three sparkling chandeliers. It was exceptionally pleasant to wit there and sip a glass of wine before going out for dinner. The breakfasts (they do not serve lunch or dinner, but there is 24-hour room service) were of a very hgh calibre, and very generous. Altogether a very pleasing experience.

Room Tip: If you choose a non-canal-facing room, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Lovely place, friendly stuff, clean, very comfortable beds, in the rooms you can find bathrobe and slippers. Nice library, such a beautiful lounge, furniture is an art!
Very nice restaurant for breakfast, just the price is overvalued.
Superior Deluxe Double Room with Canal View was fantastic!

Room Tip: The hotel was built in the 8-10 old houses with numerous of crossings and steep stairways - really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here in Nov 2011 (forgot to write a review) but it was a lovely experience. Nice decor, well kept and bathrooms very clean! The location is excellent, tranquil but still close to all the main attractions. The staff were very friendly too! I will be travelling to Amsterdam soon and most likely won't even check for somewhere else.

Room Tip: We had put in a request to face the canal beforehand via email and staff were happy to accommodate u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I always enjoy staying at Ambassade in Amsterdam City. Rooms are really nice and comfortable. Great beds. Very clean. Breakfast is great. Service is great. The location of the hotel is perfect. 3 min walk to the tram and in the middle of the Nine Streets. So far my favourite hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.