We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully run hotel in central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautifully run hotel in central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is an exquisite little hotel housed in several old Amsterdam canal houses on the Heerengracht, within easy walking distance of the Central Square, the RijksMuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. There is also interesting shopping in offbeat or quirky shops in the "Nine Streets" very close to it (ask at the hotel reception.) Really I cannot commend this hotel too highly. The staff were exceptional - courteous, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The rooms are decorated with great flair, and the bathrooms are spotless. There is a beautiful reading room/library on the reception floor, and one floor up overlooking the canal is a huge, high-ceilinged drawing room for use by hotel guests, beautifully furnished with Dutch antiques and blazing with light from three sparkling chandeliers. It was exceptionally pleasant to wit there and sip a glass of wine before going out for dinner. The breakfasts (they do not serve lunch or dinner, but there is 24-hour room service) were of a very hgh calibre, and very generous. Altogether a very pleasing experience.

Room Tip: If you choose a non-canal-facing room, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    181
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
149
279
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Lovely place, friendly stuff, clean, very comfortable beds, in the rooms you can find bathrobe and slippers. Nice library, such a beautiful lounge, furniture is an art!
Very nice restaurant for breakfast, just the price is overvalued.
Superior Deluxe Double Room with Canal View was fantastic!

Room Tip: The hotel was built in the 8-10 old houses with numerous of crossings and steep stairways - really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here in Nov 2011 (forgot to write a review) but it was a lovely experience. Nice decor, well kept and bathrooms very clean! The location is excellent, tranquil but still close to all the main attractions. The staff were very friendly too! I will be travelling to Amsterdam soon and most likely won't even check for somewhere else.

Room Tip: We had put in a request to face the canal beforehand via email and staff were happy to accommodate u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I always enjoy staying at Ambassade in Amsterdam City. Rooms are really nice and comfortable. Great beds. Very clean. Breakfast is great. Service is great. The location of the hotel is perfect. 3 min walk to the tram and in the middle of the Nine Streets. So far my favourite hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just to put you in the picture, out of the 12 months in the year I spend on average about three of those months in hotels. I see them all - from the appallingly bad to the really good. I have to say that the Ambassade in Amsterdam is the best of the best. This delightful boutique hotel right is right where you would want you Amsterdam hotel to be - right on fashionable Herengracht. I paid a tad extra for a room with a canal view - well, well worth it. Apart from the fantastic location, awesome interior and decor, as well as the great food - the thing that really stands out for me was the truly delightful staff. They were the most attentive staff I have ever encountered anywhere. In fact, I am going to nail my colours to the mast here - the Hotel Ambassade is the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: We were in room 51 - it was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in September. It is in a wonderful location with a view of one of the canals, away from the craziness of the town areas. We initially checked into a two-level room with a spiral staircase up to the bedroom. Alas, the afternoon of checking in, my wife fell in one of the canal boats and hurt her knee. After limping back to the hotel, the desk sprang into action, immediately moving us to an accessible room, and then (for the US readers I'm not making this up) called the doctor who made a call to the hotel room. Turns out he was the sports medicine doctor for the Amsterdam hockey team. He did an examination in the room, and ascertained that no visit to the emergency room was necessary., His fee? Added to the hotel bill. By comparison, I doubt one would get service like this anywhere else.

For the rest of our stay the staff was very attentive in running to the chemist, providing ice packs, and taking care of her when I went off to my conference.

Both rooms were luxury rooms. The room service food was quite good and we indulged in croissants every day.

Room Tip: Definitely best to get a room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for three nights on a long weekend break before Christmas. As we turned off the busy streets of central Amsterdam into the Herengracht we suddenly realised that we were in the centre of an oasis of tranquility! Our room on two levels overlooking the canal was very comfortable and well appointed. Staff very friendly and polite. Well worth a stay if you are looking for peace and quiet away from the rush!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.