We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in a busy city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“An oasis in a busy city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for three nights on a long weekend break before Christmas. As we turned off the busy streets of central Amsterdam into the Herengracht we suddenly realised that we were in the centre of an oasis of tranquility! Our room on two levels overlooking the canal was very comfortable and well appointed. Staff very friendly and polite. Well worth a stay if you are looking for peace and quiet away from the rush!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    230
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
181
370
53
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed three nights at Ambassade in December, our second stay at this charming hotel housed in a row of old canalside mansions. Our comfortable 'superior' room had three big windows overlooking the canal and the bathroom was warm and luxurious. High standards of housekeeping and everything spic and span, The hotel has a cosy library and pretty first floor sitting room though no bar or evening dining. However, there are numerous good restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance and the neighbourhood, in the '9 Streets' is delightful. Reception will find you a restaurant reservation or sell you tickets for the main museums to avoid the queue (well worth it for the packed Rijksmusuem). The young staff were friendly and helpful although a tad overstretched with the hotel very busy. Recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely worth booking a canal view room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jordan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My Husband and I spent 4 nights in the Ambassade hotel , our flight was early and our room was not ready so the manager offered us instead one of the hotel apartments that were one block away, we were pleasantly surprised, the apartment had all the amenities, the hotel staff were always attentive and friendly. The location of the hotel is a walking distance from the DAM square, I must say our stay went perfect, it was a perfect short city break.

Room Tip: Stay at the appartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here in Sept 2012. Hotel and staff was excellent. The breakfast/dining areas of the hotel are exceptional. Originally put in a room with two small levels (kind of like a loft area with the bedroom. As we did not like that type/size of room, we were able to be moved the next day to another single level room. Room was still small but relatively normal for European standards

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We were only in Amsterdam for 24 hours. Had a fabulous stay at the Ambassade. Very well located and fairly quiet for a bustling city. Bathrooms are very modern and our room had a beautiful view of the canal. Definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Sunday morning had to wait half an hour to get seated for breakfast. Reception are polite but are not proactive in assisting you. Nice hotel, what you'd expect for the room rate. Some very good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rufford England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights,to celebrate a wedding anniversary.
There are many good things about this hotel.The location is excellent,in the centre of the "nine streets" area,and our superior room overlooking the canal was very comfortable and well fitted.The hotel is very nicely fitted out,with most interesting art works.Special praise goes to the front desk staff,who were universally helpful and charming.
I do have some reservations however.I was surprised as to the absence of a bar in a hotel of this rating and price,Although there are public rooms where one can order a drink,the lack of a dedicated facility affects the atmosphere.We found the breakfasts disappointing,and went elsewhere after our first morning.My chief complaint is about price.Our room(without breakfast) cost almost 400 euros a night,which seems excessive,but as the hotel was full,my views are obviously in the minority!
Having said this,I would have no hesitation in staying at the Ambassade again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.