We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, Amsterdam 1016 AZ, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here in Sept 2012. Hotel and staff was excellent. The breakfast/dining areas of the hotel are exceptional. Originally put in a room with two small levels (kind of like a loft area with the bedroom. As we did not like that type/size of room, we were able to be moved the next day to another single level room. Room was still small but relatively normal for European standards

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    167
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
121
232
41
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We were only in Amsterdam for 24 hours. Had a fabulous stay at the Ambassade. Very well located and fairly quiet for a bustling city. Bathrooms are very modern and our room had a beautiful view of the canal. Definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Sunday morning had to wait half an hour to get seated for breakfast. Reception are polite but are not proactive in assisting you. Nice hotel, what you'd expect for the room rate. Some very good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rufford England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights,to celebrate a wedding anniversary.
There are many good things about this hotel.The location is excellent,in the centre of the "nine streets" area,and our superior room overlooking the canal was very comfortable and well fitted.The hotel is very nicely fitted out,with most interesting art works.Special praise goes to the front desk staff,who were universally helpful and charming.
I do have some reservations however.I was surprised as to the absence of a bar in a hotel of this rating and price,Although there are public rooms where one can order a drink,the lack of a dedicated facility affects the atmosphere.We found the breakfasts disappointing,and went elsewhere after our first morning.My chief complaint is about price.Our room(without breakfast) cost almost 400 euros a night,which seems excessive,but as the hotel was full,my views are obviously in the minority!
Having said this,I would have no hesitation in staying at the Ambassade again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Excellent location, great service, very comfortable & clean room (we had a suite, that was spacious & lovely), great linens, incredible art on the walls - all walls, not just in public areas (though loved the public art best of all. The bathroom was very large, and we loved the heated floors. Double sinks (yes!). Both a tub & a separate shower. Nice touches everywhere. Quick room service (especially for morning coffee). Close to everything. Very friendly and accommodating staff, who offered great suggestions for dining & how to get where (we loved Toots & Roos just down the street for lunch!). Lovely canal views!

One thing; this is Amsterdam, which as many travel books note, does not have the same level of 5 star quality offerings as say, Paris. In another city, the Ambassade would have more competition and thus we might give it 4 stars. We gave it 5 because it is outstanding - the best - for Amsterdam.

We would definitely return, and highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you can, we do recommend the suites. It was so nice to have the extra space for relaxing after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
496 helpful votes 496 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is charming, welcoming, comfortable and highly idiosyncratic. The rooms are up-to-date and stylish but quite old fashioned in design (the bathrooms, by the way, are terrific) and original artworks are everywhere. Breakfast was good. Fabulous central location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the beautiful Ambassade hotel. . We had a canal view and it did not disappoint. It was a gorgeous view!. The room was nice and comfortable. The location is terrific. We loved walking around the 9 streets area. lots of cool shops and restaurants in the area.

The hallways are beautiful - with stunning colorful artwork and deep red carpets. I loved walking to and from our room in the hotel! The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing that would have made it better was to have more staff at the front desk during peak times. I also wished we had the opportunity to purchase prints of some of the CoBra art they had there.

I was also excited to see that one of my favorite authors was staying at the hotel as well. They have a wonderful library in the hotel with signed editions of books from authors around the world.

I am looking forward to returning to this city and staying again at the Ambassade!

Room Tip: get a canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 341, Amsterdam 1016 AZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.