We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Summer in Amsterdam
Ranked #8 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here in Sept 2012. Hotel and staff was excellent. The breakfast/dining areas of the hotel are exceptional. Originally put in a room with two small levels (kind of like a loft area with the bedroom. As we did not like that type/size of room, we were able to be moved the next day to another single level room. Room was still small but relatively normal for European standards

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    235
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
197
381
54
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We were only in Amsterdam for 24 hours. Had a fabulous stay at the Ambassade. Very well located and fairly quiet for a bustling city. Bathrooms are very modern and our room had a beautiful view of the canal. Definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Sunday morning had to wait half an hour to get seated for breakfast. Reception are polite but are not proactive in assisting you. Nice hotel, what you'd expect for the room rate. Some very good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rufford England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights,to celebrate a wedding anniversary.
There are many good things about this hotel.The location is excellent,in the centre of the "nine streets" area,and our superior room overlooking the canal was very comfortable and well fitted.The hotel is very nicely fitted out,with most interesting art works.Special praise goes to the front desk staff,who were universally helpful and charming.
I do have some reservations however.I was surprised as to the absence of a bar in a hotel of this rating and price,Although there are public rooms where one can order a drink,the lack of a dedicated facility affects the atmosphere.We found the breakfasts disappointing,and went elsewhere after our first morning.My chief complaint is about price.Our room(without breakfast) cost almost 400 euros a night,which seems excessive,but as the hotel was full,my views are obviously in the minority!
Having said this,I would have no hesitation in staying at the Ambassade again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Excellent location, great service, very comfortable & clean room (we had a suite, that was spacious & lovely), great linens, incredible art on the walls - all walls, not just in public areas (though loved the public art best of all. The bathroom was very large, and we loved the heated floors. Double sinks (yes!). Both a tub & a separate shower. Nice touches everywhere. Quick room service (especially for morning coffee). Close to everything. Very friendly and accommodating staff, who offered great suggestions for dining & how to get where (we loved Toots & Roos just down the street for lunch!). Lovely canal views!

One thing; this is Amsterdam, which as many travel books note, does not have the same level of 5 star quality offerings as say, Paris. In another city, the Ambassade would have more competition and thus we might give it 4 stars. We gave it 5 because it is outstanding - the best - for Amsterdam.

We would definitely return, and highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you can, we do recommend the suites. It was so nice to have the extra space for relaxing after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
277 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is charming, welcoming, comfortable and highly idiosyncratic. The rooms are up-to-date and stylish but quite old fashioned in design (the bathrooms, by the way, are terrific) and original artworks are everywhere. Breakfast was good. Fabulous central location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the beautiful Ambassade hotel. . We had a canal view and it did not disappoint. It was a gorgeous view!. The room was nice and comfortable. The location is terrific. We loved walking around the 9 streets area. lots of cool shops and restaurants in the area.

The hallways are beautiful - with stunning colorful artwork and deep red carpets. I loved walking to and from our room in the hotel! The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing that would have made it better was to have more staff at the front desk during peak times. I also wished we had the opportunity to purchase prints of some of the CoBra art they had there.

I was also excited to see that one of my favorite authors was staying at the hotel as well. They have a wonderful library in the hotel with signed editions of books from authors around the world.

I am looking forward to returning to this city and staying again at the Ambassade!

Room Tip: get a canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#12 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,751 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.