We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Summer in Amsterdam
Ranked #8 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Calgary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived at 11:30 knowing that our room would not be ready. We sat in the lobby, enjoying the surroundings and getting familiar with the hotel and while waiting someone from the Reception asked if we would like a coffee, which was brought to us with cookies. Our room was ready 2 hrs later, suitcases had already been brought to the room. Beautiful room, spacious, newly renovated bathroom, overlooking a canal. The wonderful breakfast with lots of choice in a very nice room completed our enjoyment of this hotel. The staff was very helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Reserve long time in advance as this hotel gets booked early, especially if you wish to have a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    235
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
195
381
54
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Was in Amsterdam for overnight to see an exhibit and chose this hotel based on reviews. Not disappointed. Hotel is a calm refuge from the touristic bustle only minutes away. Room was spacious, well appointed, comfortably arranged and spotlessly clean--believe it was a deluxe. There was minimal street noise with the curtains drawn though the windows are not double glazed. Excellent bed and linens. Bath was completely modern, large and functional with amenities like heated floor and towel bar, rain shower in separate shower, even a scale. No problem with water pressure, but one does hear some plumbing noise which is to be expected in an old structure.

Service was professional and friendly. On arriving early for check in but wanting get a bit oriented before setting out, we had lunch from the room service menu in the library which was quite good. The public places are comfortable and I appreciated having original art all around--such a relief from all that vacuous hotel 'art'. The front desk made dinner reservations, had museum tickets on hand and generally was very helpful. It's definitely worthwhile to have breakfast in the hotel if you take a full breakfast rather than just coffee. Kitchen was very accommodating with special requests.
Room service (for drinks) was almost instantaneous. The hotel also upgraded our room after I called to have a room close to lobby--a fact I really appreciate.

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel and will return and recommend to others. Apart from the virtues of hotel itself, its location cannot be beat as it is on a lovely canal and one can walk to train station, Hermitage, Jordaan, Museum quarter 15-20 minutes and have many choice of restaurants within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
280 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed as a family of five at the Ambassade Hotel.The communication with the hotel before arrival was very efficient.On arrival our suitcases were immediately taken care of.
Hotel is classy without being snobbish.Rooms are well appointed albeit not big.
The hotel has a quaint library and lovely victorian style lounge were one can relax and even have a small bite.Breakfast is euros 17.50 which initially seemed expensive but is excellent value.
You can get virtually anything and is more a brunch than a simple breakfast.
Staff are friendly and helped with directions,bookings and restaurant reservations.
The location was excellent for us.10 minutes from the Dam,5 minutes from the flower market,20 minutes from the Van Gogh museum(on foot).
Price was not cheap but we had a faultless stay.

Room Tip: Splurge on a canal view.......................
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

When selecting a hotel in Amsterdam for a three day break with my 12 year-old son I considered several establishments before opting for the 4 star Ambassade. It proved a perfect choice - not least because of its excellent, canalside location next to the chic boutiques and buzzing cafes of the Nine Streets area. From the striking contemporary art lining the walls (originating, we learned, from the COBRA movement), to the impressive library with books signed by famous writers who've stayed there, the Ambassade is both sophisticated and charming. Our third floor bedroom (95) overlooking the Herengracht (Gentlemen's) Canal was extremely comfortable, and breakfast, though infortunately lacking freshly squeezed orange juice, was substantial and delicious - the bread basket alone could have kept us going for the entire day and the freshly baked walnut bread deserves a special mention. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. On our last day a flotation session in the hotel's Koan Float Centre next door was an unexptected treat. Though not cheap, the Ambassade is good value and a delightful place to stay - I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I read all the positive reviews for this hotel and I am delighted I stayed there. It is not cheap (though not expensive for an European inner city hotel) but i was worth every penny/cent. The hotel is great, the rooms are a good size, the fittings top notch and the service very good. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. Room service is really quick - 10 minutes to have a fresh pot of coffee delivered to my room. Breakfast was really good as well. I recommend the superior room overlooking the canal - it is worth the extra money. All in all a great find! I am recommending this hotel to any of my friends planning on visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived with two big suitcases & other luggage wondering how to get them down the stairs to the lobby. The receptionist was immediately there to grab the suitcases. I was impressed and never stopped being impressed with the staff during our whole stay. Just a great professional, personable group of people.

Room # 53 was beautiful & relaxing, spacious for Europe, and with a gorgeous view on the Herengracht canal. We were able to control the room temperature. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was huge with rain shower& bath & double sinks with under floor heating which was wonderful since Amsterdam was cold & pouring rain. Ample toiletries. Minibar was well supplied and room service was great. Food delicious, service punctual at time they advised and staff extremely courteous. Breakfast was also very good and the breakfast room very pleasant and the staff top notch. Elevator was unusually large for Europe which was great. Reception was very welcoming and very helpful. Nice convenient computer area for printing out Boarding Passes.
Our superior room on the 3rd floor was close to the elevator which I had expected and it worked well for us (I have a heart condition). Of course, we could hear the elevator during the morning rush hour (after 8:30 am so wasn't too bad) but the rest of the day, we hardly noticed. Unfortunately, there is a family suite above and it is noisy with jumping, running & walking (again, fortunately, it started at about 8:30 AM and stopped around 10 PM) It was annoying at times but we liked the room & view so much that we were able to ignore it most of the time. There is really not much the hotel can do about it.
The hotel's location is fantastic: close to some good restaurants, a spa, boutique shops, all sorts of historical buildings, churches, the Dam etc You could even walk to the museums although we didn't as it was raining.
We love Amsterdam and have stopped over several times. Would we return to this hotel? In a New York minute. And we would return to Room #53, it's just such a wonderful inviting room.

Room Tip: The hotel being a Canal House, there are a lot of steps. If this is a problem, request a room close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassade Hotel for 6 nights and we were very pleased with every aspect of the hotel - cozy room (#15) which had the wonderful bonus of a balcony overlooking the canal, pleasant and very helpful staff, a wonderfully central location near restaurants of all types, and in a relatively quiet part of town.

Room Tip: Room # 15 is wonderful with balcony overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,748 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#13 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,746 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.