We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived with two big suitcases & other luggage wondering how to get them down the stairs to the lobby. The receptionist was immediately there to grab the suitcases. I was impressed and never stopped being impressed with the staff during our whole stay. Just a great professional, personable group of people.

Room # 53 was beautiful & relaxing, spacious for Europe, and with a gorgeous view on the Herengracht canal. We were able to control the room temperature. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was huge with rain shower& bath & double sinks with under floor heating which was wonderful since Amsterdam was cold & pouring rain. Ample toiletries. Minibar was well supplied and room service was great. Food delicious, service punctual at time they advised and staff extremely courteous. Breakfast was also very good and the breakfast room very pleasant and the staff top notch. Elevator was unusually large for Europe which was great. Reception was very welcoming and very helpful. Nice convenient computer area for printing out Boarding Passes.
Our superior room on the 3rd floor was close to the elevator which I had expected and it worked well for us (I have a heart condition). Of course, we could hear the elevator during the morning rush hour (after 8:30 am so wasn't too bad) but the rest of the day, we hardly noticed. Unfortunately, there is a family suite above and it is noisy with jumping, running & walking (again, fortunately, it started at about 8:30 AM and stopped around 10 PM) It was annoying at times but we liked the room & view so much that we were able to ignore it most of the time. There is really not much the hotel can do about it.
The hotel's location is fantastic: close to some good restaurants, a spa, boutique shops, all sorts of historical buildings, churches, the Dam etc You could even walk to the museums although we didn't as it was raining.
We love Amsterdam and have stopped over several times. Would we return to this hotel? In a New York minute. And we would return to Room #53, it's just such a wonderful inviting room.

Room Tip: The hotel being a Canal House, there are a lot of steps. If this is a problem, request a room close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    441
    175
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
137
258
43
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
2 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassade Hotel for 6 nights and we were very pleased with every aspect of the hotel - cozy room (#15) which had the wonderful bonus of a balcony overlooking the canal, pleasant and very helpful staff, a wonderfully central location near restaurants of all types, and in a relatively quiet part of town.

Room Tip: Room # 15 is wonderful with balcony overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here in October and enjoyed every aspects of our stay. We originally wanted to book a superior room overlooking the canal but the hotel was fully booked and all they had was a standard room. We had many concerns before arriving but they all disappeared once we were there. The Ambassade is truly a very charming hotel. Location couldn't be better. It is on a quiet area of the Herengracht but in a position that is very close to many of Amsterdam attractions. Service was personal and attentive from the very first enquiry to checkout. Our room was very nice and spacious but I understand rooms differ greatly because of the nature of the building. It would be nice to have a room overlooking the canal but we still enjoyed our standard room very much. Wonderful breakfast in a beautiful hall. Previous reviews mentioned the many corridors and maze like feeling. It can get like a maze, depending where you room is, still the corridors are all so nicely decorated that it is sort of adventure to wonder through the maze. Altogether a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Ambassade, whilst the hotel is in a very nice location in the city, my wife and I were very disappointed with the bedroom we were allocated, room number 96. It was very small for supposedly a double room, for which we paid a substantial amount of money; we think it was a single room with a double bed pushed in; the bed was against a wall so there was no room on one side making it impossible to get in or out of the bed on one side. Plus side was the the room was quiet overnight. Breakfast, however, was excellent value.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you pay for as it is not a cheap hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent location for great restaurants and walking about. The reception staff were very very professional but friendly and aware of our every needs. We arrived way to early to check into our room and the staff did everything they could to speed things up. They had a list of recommended restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel. Very important for first timers to a city. We had a deluxe room facing the canal with huge airy windows. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more.

Room Tip: If you don't mind street lights etc. the canal side is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Museum quarter (best collection of Dutch painters), shopping streets (Kalver street for interntional brand names, Bloememarkt for Dutch made and imported goods), canal cruises (including special cruises as fine dining Dinner Cruise, romantic Candlelight Cruise, funny Cocktail Cruise etc), city’s historical center (Dam quarter), Heineken brewery (very good organized with a lot of high-tech fun), Red light district, Coffeeshops, fresh herring at street booth - that things make Amsterdam, often called North Venezia, very unique and worth to visit city.

Travelers' reports have shown very contradictory opinions hotel Ambassade. I believe travelers with negative opinions just didn't take into account that this hotel located in historical, OLD buildings and close to night life center, so has those specifics.

Have arrived early morning at 6.30 am got the receptionist warm welcoming - a city’s map, explanation about main sightseeing and a tray with good coffee and cream, chocolate, cookies, so I could conveniently wait for my room in comfort. I have found after elevator hallway a separate room with a working table and lamp, so did my morning work in comfort.

The hotel’s GOOD THINGS:

- EXCELLENT LOCATION - close to everything: Museum quarter, walking shopping Kalverstraat which came right into historic city’s center Dam square, Royal palace , Bijenkorf shopping mall etc. The canal right under your windows. You will hear marvelous sounds of the watch bells at nights;
- CLEAN – everything is clean and properly maintained to be clean. All linens, bathrobes, floors are clean as supposed to be;
- GREAT TEAM - starting from welcoming receptionist and ending with bell boy - all of them were kind and very helpful with any my request;
- HISTORIC BUILDINGS - bring you a 17th century feeling. The owners and designers have tried to keep that old time atmosphere with furniture, lamps, mirrors.
- FREE HIGH-SPEED INTERNET – Wi-Fi and cable. Wi-Fi speed is 3Mbps download and 1Mbps upload, ping is 27ms though; using provided cable I've got 22Mbps down, 2Mbps up and 22ms ping.

BAD THINGS - not found. There are some inconvenience and minor issues, part of them are justified by historical and central location, some other are can be considered as personal preference:
- Because of ancient, narrow street on water you can hear a street sounds as transport, night life etc;
- Because of old building strucutre, an entrance into bathroom is unusual, however these things are presented at any hotel located in historical building;
- A mattress to my taste is lumpy and cloggy;
- Water pressure and temperature can't be considered OK enough.

I would suggest to hotel owners pay special attention to plumbing matters and consider mattresses replacement.

Conclusion – charming hotel in historic buildings managed by great team, having some specifics though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 for a few nights and it was fantastic. First, the staff were very helpful and willing to work with our changing travel plans. Second, the room was very comfortable, clean and had some very nice features such as a heated floor in the bathroom. Third, the location is excellent, Herengracht really is the place to be. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.