We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
hps5
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Clean, with nice sized rooms and bathrooms for Amsterdam. The hotel is made up of a series of canal houses that have been renovated. The staff were very helpful and friendly. While the common spaces are not large, they are comfortable and well kept. This is a very good hotel if you are looking for a central location and do not want that large industrial hotel feel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    462
    180
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
147
271
43
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just a 15 minute stroll from the heart of the city, this hotel offers the quiet of a canal setting to escape the hustle and bustle. For what I would consider a small hotel, it offered all that a larger one would with fantastic, attentive service. The room we had was classy and full of comfort. A wonderful breakfast too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
2 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

we've spent a week in Amsterdam, in which we stayed in this great hotel.
first of all it's location is very very good, close to everything. we got a nice vintage room, with a view of the canal.the hotel is lovely and sweet, and there is a nice library in which you can work if you need.
the staff was helpful.
the breakfast is very big and rich, but the price is high (18 euro per person).
i highly recommend, especially for couples.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Ambassade is located in walking distance of major attractions on a magnificent canal. Our room was tiny without a view. Our friends, however, had a reasonable sized room with a lovely canal view. The staff is knowledgeable, cordial, and extremely efficient!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappahannock
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had some great experiences on our 23 day trip to Europe, but this hotel was the nicest we visited. We had a double room (room number 97) and my wife, two daughters (12 and 14) and I loved our stay. The whole place is a bit quirky, but in a really neat way and the staff is very professional and courteous. We adored everything about Amsterdam and were surprised to discover how much we liked it. We are all happy we went and would love to go back in the future.

The Ambassade is nicely situated on a canal and it is close to lots of food. It is also very convenient to the trams that are very regular. The tram system is easy to navigate and will wisk you to the rail station quickly when you are ready to move on to the next town on your trip.

The rooms were very nice and we actually found ourselves finding reasons to take showers and baths because they were so nice and relaxing.

All four of us would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were travelling with our 10 year old son and didnt want to book a separate room for him. Luckily Ambassade had a triple room which was perfect - it was on the 4th floor and had a bit of an attic feel to it because of the slanted roof. It was charming and perfect. As soon as you walk into the room there is a single bed in its own tiny room - that has a window and bedside table.. then you walk through another door and there is the kingsize bed with a bathroom and tiny living area - but to be honest you dont really spend a lot of time in the hotel room in Amsterdam coz the area is absolutely gorgeous. Its right on the canal and its close to everything. Very cute boutiques nearby and a quaint organic cafe is right around the corner. The triple room gave us some privacy but at the same time allowed us to keep an eye on our son. The staff was very helpful and friendly - i would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: book the triple room if you are staying with your child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It's close enough to walk to many of the major points of interest (shopping, restaurants, museums), on a lovely -- and fairly quiet -- canal and street, and convenient to the street car and bus. The renovated canal houses are lovely, and each room has individual style and character. Breakfast was excellent.

The staff were extremely knowledgeable and helpful, giving suggestions and advice, helping with reservations, offering advance purchase tickets to museums, etc.

A couple of warnings (echoing some other reviews): because of the nature of the hotel -- houses linked together that didn't have floors at the same level -- there are a lot of short flights of stairs. Even within the rooms themselves there can be stairs (down from door, steps into bathroom, etc.). For the able-bodied, no problem. Otherwise, it's best to call and make arrangements for rooms with as few steps as possible.

Also, while the location is perfect for seeing the city, if you plan to have a car and make excursions outside the city, you will have to plan ahead. There is no parking near the hotel, so cars have to be taken/brought by valet service, which can take some time and isn't cheap.

Overall, we had a great experience with this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.