We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Superb, will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Location was superb- 10mins walk to Anne Frank's Haus, 20mins to Central Station & 15mins to Dam Square. We walked everywhere. The deluxe junior suite was superb, views over the canal. Customer service was friendly. Their recommendation for dinner was ace-€30 for 3 course & food was good too

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    197
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
153
299
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is smart without being pretentious, and the service is professional without being cold. Being several houses put together, it can feel a little cramped and there always seem to be some stairs (although there's a lift). However, it's very comfortable and well-equipped. My spouse, who has a bad back, was especially happy with the mattress. It's centrally located, within reasonable walking distance of anywhere you'd want to go in Amsterdam, and without the penalty that sometimes comes with a convenient location (i.e. noise). There's an especially nice lounge overlooking the canal. Friendly enough for a romantic break, and business-like enough that you could relax after a difficult day, or confidently send a client here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family (wife and 18 year old daughter) booked a two bedroom suite at The Ambassade hotel along the Herengratch in July 2013. Her room was small but comfortable. The larger room (with small windows with canal views) was also very comfortable and very well maintained.

The bathroom was modern with a "rain shower" shower with two spaces and two sinks.

The breakfast buffet had eggs to order as well as Dutch cold cuts, delicious croissants, perfectly ripened fruit, great coffee and prompt attentive service.

Service was excellent and friendly all the way around and the only downer was the weak air conditioning. Other than that, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a canal view might mean you hear the party boats passing by in the middle of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Ambassade Hotel is a truly wonderful hotel located in a very convenient area in the heart of Amsterdam. From the reception staff to the hotel housekeepers and breakfast room staff, everyone was really very nice, very helpful, and extremely professional. They really know how to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. The hotel is a couple of pretty buildings connected together in front of one of the pictureseque tree-lined canals, the sort of scene that you might have in mind when thinking of Amsterdam or looking at a postcard of the city. You can walk just about everywhere from the hotel, certainly to all the tourist attractions, shopping areas and good cafes and restaurants. The room I had was a very nice size, at the back of the hotel with windows overlooking a small courtyard and the building behind, so it was very quiet which suited me well. This was my first trip to Amsterdam, so I had quite a few questions for the reception staff who were more than happy to answer them and give me very good advice. This is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, if not the best and would very happily stay there again when I return to Amsterdam. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, especially if it is your first trip to Amsterdam, because your stay in this charming city will be made just that much more memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent a great week here. Great location, super clean, luxurious furnishings, soft towels, sheets and comfortable beds and pillows.

Staff is outstanding. Can help with taxis, tram tickets, bikes, dinner reservations, museum tickets.....almost anything.

Very friendly atmosphere, right on the canal, near tram stops, coffee shops and shopping.

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

What a perfect location and great place to stay. You have to use the spa. I think I may have had one of the best massages ever here. They have the float and massage deal which is well worth it. I slept better after that then I have in a long time. The front desk staff was great very helpful. We didn't eat the breakfast just because we had a very short trip and wanted explore a little. There are a ton of places near by to explore. I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at the Ambassade Hotel for 2 nights in July. We absolutely loved this hotel! The fact that 11 beautiful old homes were combined to make this hotel was so interesting, and from looking at the outside you would never know all these buildings are connected. Our room was spacious, and we had windows that opened onto the canal which was great. Each room has a slightly different decor, and the artwork throughout the building was fabulous. We ate breakfast in the dining room, which was convenient and delicious. The location was perfect - you could walk to everything very easily, and the Herengracht and "Nine Streets" area where the hotel is situated is charming. The staff was wonderful! They were very friendly and helpful, and provided assistance whenever we needed them. Overall, I cannot say enough nice things about the Ambassade Hotel. I highly recommend it for anyone traveling to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.