We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Ambassade Hotel is a truly wonderful hotel located in a very convenient area in the heart of Amsterdam. From the reception staff to the hotel housekeepers and breakfast room staff, everyone was really very nice, very helpful, and extremely professional. They really know how to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. The hotel is a couple of pretty buildings connected together in front of one of the pictureseque tree-lined canals, the sort of scene that you might have in mind when thinking of Amsterdam or looking at a postcard of the city. You can walk just about everywhere from the hotel, certainly to all the tourist attractions, shopping areas and good cafes and restaurants. The room I had was a very nice size, at the back of the hotel with windows overlooking a small courtyard and the building behind, so it was very quiet which suited me well. This was my first trip to Amsterdam, so I had quite a few questions for the reception staff who were more than happy to answer them and give me very good advice. This is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, if not the best and would very happily stay there again when I return to Amsterdam. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, especially if it is your first trip to Amsterdam, because your stay in this charming city will be made just that much more memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    210
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
165
326
50
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Spent a great week here. Great location, super clean, luxurious furnishings, soft towels, sheets and comfortable beds and pillows.

Staff is outstanding. Can help with taxis, tram tickets, bikes, dinner reservations, museum tickets.....almost anything.

Very friendly atmosphere, right on the canal, near tram stops, coffee shops and shopping.

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

What a perfect location and great place to stay. You have to use the spa. I think I may have had one of the best massages ever here. They have the float and massage deal which is well worth it. I slept better after that then I have in a long time. The front desk staff was great very helpful. We didn't eat the breakfast just because we had a very short trip and wanted explore a little. There are a ton of places near by to explore. I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at the Ambassade Hotel for 2 nights in July. We absolutely loved this hotel! The fact that 11 beautiful old homes were combined to make this hotel was so interesting, and from looking at the outside you would never know all these buildings are connected. Our room was spacious, and we had windows that opened onto the canal which was great. Each room has a slightly different decor, and the artwork throughout the building was fabulous. We ate breakfast in the dining room, which was convenient and delicious. The location was perfect - you could walk to everything very easily, and the Herengracht and "Nine Streets" area where the hotel is situated is charming. The staff was wonderful! They were very friendly and helpful, and provided assistance whenever we needed them. Overall, I cannot say enough nice things about the Ambassade Hotel. I highly recommend it for anyone traveling to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed in the Ambassade hotel in April 2013.
The hotel itself concists of 10 or more small houses, therefore the rooms are all different. I got a room, which was spacious and luxurious.
The personell was all very kind and helpful and they managed to make your stay as good as possible.
The breakfast was also very different from previuos experiences. The chef made a lot of the breakfast menu just for you, so the eggs and the omelet and the panckaes were all still warm and fresh unlike in most hotels where the breakfast is served in large containers.
The hotel was in a great location, so that we got everywhere need with a tram or just walking a bit

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the ground floor so the windows is straight to the street, some are on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belem, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It's not a cheap hotel, but it's worth every penny! The staff is awesome! They are all very helpful and kind! The breakfast team is especially polite! You'll fell at home. The rooms are very luxurious, with a perfect room service and lovely furniture. Beyond that, you'll be in the perfect location for Amsterdam, at the beautifull and historic Herengracht, minutes by walking from Jordaan neighbourhood, minutes by walking from Anne Frank Huis/House and the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum, minutes by walking from the famous Amsterdam cruises and from the Dam and a few steps away from the beautiful Secret Garden. Or better yet: closer if you choose renting a bike, and they do this for you at the hotel front desk. Highly recommended. I'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed in Ambassade Hotel 25 years ago when it was a rather small hotel with less stars. This time I was amazed of the renovation which was done with this 4 star hotel. The Ambassade Hotel consists of ten 17th century merchant houses all linked together. It is situated along the imposing Herengracht in the historic centre of Amsterdam. There are only 58 rooms and suites at this hotel and our room (#93) was on the second floor overlooking the canal; beautiful room suitable for three people. The hotel serves Dutch breakfast and the price is EURO 17.50 per person (children under 12 years of age EURO 8.75). My suggestion is to negotiate a rate with the hotel which would include breakfast. If you don't want to pay the above amount, there are several nice cafes very close to the hotel which all serve all sorts of breakfasts. I love Amsterdam and staying at this museum hotel did add a lot of value to my love for this city.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the canal and see if you can get a rate which includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.