We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

What a perfect location and great place to stay. You have to use the spa. I think I may have had one of the best massages ever here. They have the float and massage deal which is well worth it. I slept better after that then I have in a long time. The front desk staff was great very helpful. We didn't eat the breakfast just because we had a very short trip and wanted explore a little. There are a ton of places near by to explore. I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    195
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
153
294
45
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Ho Kus, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at the Ambassade Hotel for 2 nights in July. We absolutely loved this hotel! The fact that 11 beautiful old homes were combined to make this hotel was so interesting, and from looking at the outside you would never know all these buildings are connected. Our room was spacious, and we had windows that opened onto the canal which was great. Each room has a slightly different decor, and the artwork throughout the building was fabulous. We ate breakfast in the dining room, which was convenient and delicious. The location was perfect - you could walk to everything very easily, and the Herengracht and "Nine Streets" area where the hotel is situated is charming. The staff was wonderful! They were very friendly and helpful, and provided assistance whenever we needed them. Overall, I cannot say enough nice things about the Ambassade Hotel. I highly recommend it for anyone traveling to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed in the Ambassade hotel in April 2013.
The hotel itself concists of 10 or more small houses, therefore the rooms are all different. I got a room, which was spacious and luxurious.
The personell was all very kind and helpful and they managed to make your stay as good as possible.
The breakfast was also very different from previuos experiences. The chef made a lot of the breakfast menu just for you, so the eggs and the omelet and the panckaes were all still warm and fresh unlike in most hotels where the breakfast is served in large containers.
The hotel was in a great location, so that we got everywhere need with a tram or just walking a bit

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the ground floor so the windows is straight to the street, some are on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belem, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It's not a cheap hotel, but it's worth every penny! The staff is awesome! They are all very helpful and kind! The breakfast team is especially polite! You'll fell at home. The rooms are very luxurious, with a perfect room service and lovely furniture. Beyond that, you'll be in the perfect location for Amsterdam, at the beautifull and historic Herengracht, minutes by walking from Jordaan neighbourhood, minutes by walking from Anne Frank Huis/House and the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum, minutes by walking from the famous Amsterdam cruises and from the Dam and a few steps away from the beautiful Secret Garden. Or better yet: closer if you choose renting a bike, and they do this for you at the hotel front desk. Highly recommended. I'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed in Ambassade Hotel 25 years ago when it was a rather small hotel with less stars. This time I was amazed of the renovation which was done with this 4 star hotel. The Ambassade Hotel consists of ten 17th century merchant houses all linked together. It is situated along the imposing Herengracht in the historic centre of Amsterdam. There are only 58 rooms and suites at this hotel and our room (#93) was on the second floor overlooking the canal; beautiful room suitable for three people. The hotel serves Dutch breakfast and the price is EURO 17.50 per person (children under 12 years of age EURO 8.75). My suggestion is to negotiate a rate with the hotel which would include breakfast. If you don't want to pay the above amount, there are several nice cafes very close to the hotel which all serve all sorts of breakfasts. I love Amsterdam and staying at this museum hotel did add a lot of value to my love for this city.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the canal and see if you can get a rate which includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Well first off let me start by saying Amsterdam is a romantic city and The Ambassade Hotel is a romantic hotel. We pulled in after a 10 hr flight from San Francisco and our room was not ready but what hotel room is ready at 10:30am. We went for a stroll and got a bite to eat and came back to find all our bags were already in the room and gave us the key. The room was fantastic and the beds were great. Everything was clean and the view from the room was perfect. The staff was fantasic and really was top notch. They helped book dinners and taxis. We called down and ask for a water taxi to pick us up at the hotel. They had never done it before but were more than happy to help. By the way the water taxi was the best way to get around. Pulles right up to the hotel and you hop on. It was really safe and was a big highlight of our trip. The 24hr room service was great but the breakfest room was wonerfull right down to the nice lady who waited on us every morning. Was a fantastic way to start a day. The hotel is in a perfect local. Not a far walk to anything but far enough a way that in the evenings it gets quiet and it's great to just hangout infront of the hotel and soak it in. I would love to visit The Ambassade again. And a big Thank You to all the staff you made our trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.