We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

From the moment our taxi pulled up to the Ambassade Hotel and reception staff immediately appeared to take in the luggage, I knew we were to be well taken care of, and the impeccable service continued in all aspects of our four day stay. Reception staff were consummate professionals, very friendly, considerate, and extremely helpful in recommendations regarding restaurants, making dinner reservations, and advising how to make the most of our stay in Amsterdam. The spacious room overlooking the canal was well-appointed with a mixture of modern and antique furnishings. The bathroom was large with all modern ammenities including a stand-alone shower, two basins, and a soaking tub. Room service was prompt and efficient in maintaining the room. All the common areas of the hotel were well-appointed, stylish, clean, and well-maintained. The breakfast room is well furnished and bright, and the breakfast was well worth the cost with a buffet of fruits, cheeses, breads, hams, cereals, and yogurt, and eggs, bacon, and omlets were cooked to order. The location of the hotel is perfect on Herengracht canal, one canal from the city center in a quiet and stylish neighborhood with all attractions of the city within easy walking distances. It is evident that all staff are very proud of their hotel deservedly so, and they make all efforts to make a guest's stay a truly memorable, delightful, and wonderful stay. Bravo!!!!! Already, we are planning our next stay at the Ambassade Hotel.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the canal is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    174
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
136
258
43
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Ambassade for our wedding anniversary. We booked a suite with a canal view. It had a little kitchen, dining area, couch living area/desk and bedroom. The bedroom was in the back which is good as it kept any noise from the canal and street from bothering us. The stairs up to our room were very narrow and absurdly steep- common in canal houses. It was no problem for us but could be for someone with any disability. I actually made our dinner reservations before we arrived - the concierge was really helpful. ( I have a gluten allergy so finding places to eat takes a little more effort.) The hotel is in a gorgeous area - much nicer than the busy Dam area although it is a short walk to all the sites. We even used the bikes that the hotel arranged for rental to ride around the parks. My husband ordered breakfast from room service- ( I was amazed that they got it up the stairs!) which was plentiful- actually enough for me to get enough to eat as well as they would get gluten free bread on request. So even though the breaksfast was a little pricey we split it, and did not have to go out in the rain to get it!
Note- it rains there A LOT!!! We did not use the rollaway bed- it looks like it woudl be fine for a third person. the couch was a bit short and firm for anyone other than a child if sleeping on it.
I would stay at this hotel again. The service at reception is very good and the free wi fi was fine in our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Myself, my husband and our 16 year old daughter just spent 5 days at the Ambassade Hotel. We had a lovely room overlooking the Herengracht canal. The beds were very comfortable, the showers were wonderful (felt like we were standing in a slow rain), and everything was very clean. The location is truly great, we walked all over the city with no problems. The hotel staff is extremely professional and helpful. We would definitely stay at the Ambassade again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited Amsterdam to celebrate our wedding anniversary and chose this hotel mainly because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed! We had a lovely suite, overlooking the canal, furnished in a stylish way, which blended in with the quaint charm of the old canal houses that had been combined to form the hotel. There was amazing artwork all around, the service throughout our stay was impeccable and the location made getting around very easy. We would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again on our next visit to Amsterdam

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

On a trip to Amsterdam I booked the hotel Ambassade for myself 54, my daughter, 21 and niece,30. We had a triple room which was roomy enough for all three of us. The hotel was in an amazing location. Within a 10 minute walk one way was the DAM square and just beyond the Red Light District. 10 minutes the other way the Heineken experience, the Van Gough museum, the huge Amsterdam sign. A 5 minute walk the Anne Frank Haus. The service in the hotel was fabulous, the morning breakfast full of European foods but also made to order omelettes, great croissants, bacon, etc. and mimosas! I especially appreciated their dinner recommendations which they had. A sheet that actually rated the restaurants by very good, good, ok.....etc. It truly seemed their recommendations were based on hoping their patrons enjoyed their experience, not that they were getting a kick back. I said a lot of research before I chose this hotel, and moneynis not a consideration for me. This was a great location, great service, great value!

Room Tip: I think these are 11 canal houses joined so not sure one room is better than another. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After reading an article about this hotel on Conde Nast Traveler magazine I had to check it out. We stayed in a large, beautifully decorated and comfortable room with a perfect view of the Herengracht. The bed was very comfortable. Don't forget to visit their beautiful library. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We loved this hotel and would highly recommend it. It's a gem of a small boutique style hotel but with all the service and sophistication of a larger 5 star chain. But without all the tourists and crowds. Reception was warm, welcoming and very helpful with check in, restaurant reservations made before our arrival, pre-purchased tickets for museums (which saves valuable time in lineups), arrangements for taxis etc. Our room was on the small side but well organized and furnished beautifully. We overlooked the canal which we loved day and night. Im a light sleeper but no noise from canal to awake me. Bathrooms are great and lots of cupboard and drawer space. I loved the design of the hallways and main rooms...exceptional art everywhere and a great mix of modern with antique pieces. The breakfast room was beautiful and we enjoyed all our breakfasts there...delicious fruit; cheeses; yogurts; breads and rolls; eggs done to your specifications and amazing coffee. Because we wanted to spend much of our time at the museums and concert hall, I wondered if the hotel would be too far from these sites. However location was perfect. We really enjoyed the charm of the canals at our home base, but were quickly transported by the trams to the museum area. And the trams were fun to ride. And cheap. If you are debating about going to Amsterdam just go....its vibrant and exciting and so much to see with all the rejuvenated museums and galleries. We took a day trip to Harlaam and that was an easy and wonderful jaunt. The Frans Hals museum is a treasure as is the smaller city. And deifinitely stay at the Ambassade. Also have dinner at the Italian restaurant Bassia nearby and Restaurant LaStage a short cab ride away. Both outstanding Proevarij 274 was good too and close by.

Room Tip: HIgh floor and overlooking canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.