We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful hotel in delightful city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“delightful hotel in delightful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited Amsterdam to celebrate our wedding anniversary and chose this hotel mainly because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed! We had a lovely suite, overlooking the canal, furnished in a stylish way, which blended in with the quaint charm of the old canal houses that had been combined to form the hotel. There was amazing artwork all around, the service throughout our stay was impeccable and the location made getting around very easy. We would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again on our next visit to Amsterdam

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    196
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
153
295
45
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

On a trip to Amsterdam I booked the hotel Ambassade for myself 54, my daughter, 21 and niece,30. We had a triple room which was roomy enough for all three of us. The hotel was in an amazing location. Within a 10 minute walk one way was the DAM square and just beyond the Red Light District. 10 minutes the other way the Heineken experience, the Van Gough museum, the huge Amsterdam sign. A 5 minute walk the Anne Frank Haus. The service in the hotel was fabulous, the morning breakfast full of European foods but also made to order omelettes, great croissants, bacon, etc. and mimosas! I especially appreciated their dinner recommendations which they had. A sheet that actually rated the restaurants by very good, good, ok.....etc. It truly seemed their recommendations were based on hoping their patrons enjoyed their experience, not that they were getting a kick back. I said a lot of research before I chose this hotel, and moneynis not a consideration for me. This was a great location, great service, great value!

Room Tip: I think these are 11 canal houses joined so not sure one room is better than another. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After reading an article about this hotel on Conde Nast Traveler magazine I had to check it out. We stayed in a large, beautifully decorated and comfortable room with a perfect view of the Herengracht. The bed was very comfortable. Don't forget to visit their beautiful library. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We loved this hotel and would highly recommend it. It's a gem of a small boutique style hotel but with all the service and sophistication of a larger 5 star chain. But without all the tourists and crowds. Reception was warm, welcoming and very helpful with check in, restaurant reservations made before our arrival, pre-purchased tickets for museums (which saves valuable time in lineups), arrangements for taxis etc. Our room was on the small side but well organized and furnished beautifully. We overlooked the canal which we loved day and night. Im a light sleeper but no noise from canal to awake me. Bathrooms are great and lots of cupboard and drawer space. I loved the design of the hallways and main rooms...exceptional art everywhere and a great mix of modern with antique pieces. The breakfast room was beautiful and we enjoyed all our breakfasts there...delicious fruit; cheeses; yogurts; breads and rolls; eggs done to your specifications and amazing coffee. Because we wanted to spend much of our time at the museums and concert hall, I wondered if the hotel would be too far from these sites. However location was perfect. We really enjoyed the charm of the canals at our home base, but were quickly transported by the trams to the museum area. And the trams were fun to ride. And cheap. If you are debating about going to Amsterdam just go....its vibrant and exciting and so much to see with all the rejuvenated museums and galleries. We took a day trip to Harlaam and that was an easy and wonderful jaunt. The Frans Hals museum is a treasure as is the smaller city. And deifinitely stay at the Ambassade. Also have dinner at the Italian restaurant Bassia nearby and Restaurant LaStage a short cab ride away. Both outstanding Proevarij 274 was good too and close by.

Room Tip: HIgh floor and overlooking canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The Ambassade Hotel in Amsterdam is a delightful hotel; over the years the owners have expanded the place so on the outside it looks as if it consists of several canalside houses, but inside it's one large hotel with walkways & corridors going up and down, left & right, in order to get to your room!
Our room was on the top floor and so space was limited but we did have a delightful view of the canal and bridge. The place was pretty clean and tidy, plus the service was excellent. My wife & I didn't think much of the breakfasts and so most days we ate in nearby cafes. I'd like to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I and our 3 college kids spent 3 nights at the Ambassade Hotel. The staff was wonderful and extremely pleasant and helpful. The rooms were always nicely cleaned and it was beautiful to open the windows and see the canal and people every morning. They have free wifi which is a huge plus. The hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk everywhere. It's very close to anne frank house and the pancake bakery which has delicious food. I am use to very high end hotels and the Ambassade can stand up to any of the big name brand hotels. We ordered breakfast in our room on 2 mornings and it was delicious.

Room Tip: We chose their largest room, but be aware that the sitting room is on the first floor and there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Ambassade Hotel is on the canals in Amsterdam. Not big or flashy, but definitely elegant. Lovely rooms, and a dining room where you can get a great breakfast that will hold off hunger for hours. The hotel is very lovely.

From the moment you arrive, they make you feel welcome and are very helpful with maps and where to find things, restuarant listings, and coupons for sighseeing. It's l, located close to many things, like the flower market and art market. Many restuarants and cafes.

A definite stay while in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.