We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Summer in Amsterdam
Ranked #8 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Genève
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I’ve stayed at the Ambassade Hotel for 3 nights during a business congress. From the first moment I’ve stepped into the hotel I was warmly welcomed. The hotel is a fully renovated old house from Amsterdam, next to the “cannal” and really near the city centre.
The neighborhood is very calm and the hotel it’s absolutely outstanding. I was upgraded to a superior room with very nice views. The room had a lot of space, a huge bed and a huge bathroom with both, shower and separate bathtub.
Service at the hotel was flawless, from the reception that was always willing to help and inform, to the breakfast, which was delicious. A full variety of breads, hams, cereals, eggs, all of high quality.
I do recommend this hotel if you are looking a very nice place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    235
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
193
381
54
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Excellent hotel in a quiet area right by a canal, but very handy for everywhere you would want to visit. Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. We had a wonderful room with canal view and balcony. The Koan Float tank experience is very nice, and hotel guests get a discount. If on a leisure trip, we highly recommend the evening dinner cruise with the Blue Boat company - a delightful experience. Also, the Anne Frank House is certainly worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 15 seems to be the only one with a balcony, although others have canal views too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was probably my favorite hotel on our trip through Europe. Beautiful location right on a canal in the 9 streets area. Perfect spot for wandering about shopping, eating or just taking in the city. The staff is beyond helpful with everything you might be interested in. They rent bikes there at any time of the day or night, are great about helping with where to go and what to do, and were extremely responsive when we complained of a scent that seemed like a sewer backup and immediately moved us to a different room. They didn't even have us wait at all while someone came up to see what was wrong or anything. We weren't perfectly happy, so they moved us without us asking at all. Decor in the rooms is a gorgeous mix of historic and modern chic. Brunch is also fantastic and you can have a cocktail in the beautiful living room area overlooking the canal. Spring for a canal view room, totally worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent staff - very polite, informative and great recommends. The hotel was in a perfect location, close to the centre and on a beautiful canal. I was with 4 friends and this hotel was perfect - very clean, lovely bathrooms and 24 hour too service!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel would have to be one of the best I have stayed in and I am particularly fussy about accommodation. We were so lucky to secure their only apartment which was very large, had its own entrance, separate from the hotel and was beautifully decorated. Right from the start when we started emailing them to make the booking to the final checkout everything went smoothly. The staff are certainly an asset to the hotel and make the overall experience a joy. The location on the Herengracht is amazing and we had the most wonderful view of the canal. We didn't actually have breakfast there but we did have room service twice, the food was always really hot, and was delicious. We have relatives in the Netherlands and they were amazed by the size and quality of our accommodation. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you everyone at the Ambassade we had a wonderful time and would love to return again someday.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in November for a conference I was attending at the RAI. The hotel has a great boutique feel to it and the rooms whilst on the small side provide a good sized desk to work from and well equipped bathrooms. The wifi was very hit and miss so connecting a tablet, smartphone etc is not always successful. There are cables in each room for connecting laptops but even then I found the Internet was slow the majority of the time.

Breakfast was fantastic, fresh breads and pastries served at your table with a great continental buffet selection. Hot items are available to order from the staff and the service was very quick.

I didn't have any time for sightseeing but did walk to the restaurant recommended by the staff on the first night and found a very nice street with plenty of bars and restaurants to suit every taste.

I'd stay again for a leisure trip but the lack of wifi and slow internet really puts me off for business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from lifts and main stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I live in Amsterdam and in the process of moving apartments so I stayed at the Ambassade for a few nights and for two reasons, the first is that my Mother stays here when she visits and second its the best hotel in the city, its close to central, its on the Herengracht which is one of the main and nicest canals in Amsterdam. The hotel is within the '9 streets' where you can spend sometime looking at the assortment of shops and many places to eat and drink. The Ambassade is spotlessly clean, the breakfast is fantastic, the staff are very helpful and very professional, the rooms are excellent and the rates are good considering where the hotel is positioned.

If you are on a short or long visit to this wonderful city, then the Ambassade is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#13 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,745 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.