We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family stayed here for two nights recently and I have to say it rates as one of the best, if not the best hotel, I have stayed in. The staff were so helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were tastefully decorated and clean and spotless. Our room over looked the canal and was located in a central position in the city. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    185
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
150
282
44
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I recently stayed here for a few nights with elderly parents. Apart from the great location, fabulous rooms and decor, and sumptuous breakfast, what makes Ambassade stand in a league of it's own is the quality of service from the staff. Enquires for directions to the local post office were met with an offer by the reception staff to package and post the items on my behalf, without any surcharge. When we mentioned we were headed to the Van Gogh museum, the same staff sold us tickets (again without any surcharge) then and there, telling us we would avoid lengthy queues at the museum: we walked straight past about 200 people and straight in as a result! These were many other instances of genuinely friendly and wonderful service.

The rooms were a delight, definitely ask for canal views. If the full breakfast is too much (it was for us), there are any number of cafes along the canals for a coffee and pastry in the morning. The receptionist did say we could ask for a half breakfast, although the breakfast staff, while providing it, did indicate this was not normally done.

This is definitely going to be my regular hotel for weekends in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was at least our fourth stay in this hotel and once again we were extremely happy with the room, the beautiful location and the professional staff. Our room was tastefully furnished, spotless and extremely comfortable. The location of the hotel is very attractive by the canal, and the staff are so polite, helpful and accommodating in every way. We love it for a few days relaxation and travelling around the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is located perfectly and the stuff is amazingly friendly.
Rooms are bit small, but that's typical Amsterdam with its small narrow townhouses.
We loved our stay and can recommend this hotel absolutely !!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed for a short leisure break. Very clean and modern but with a traditional feel. Superb location on Herengracht, ideal for all major attractions and shopping. Very comfortable and quiet room at the back of the hotel. Very hot water!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

One of the best hotels I've stayed in through Europe and it has a feel of being authentic to the location. Well appointed rooms, each in a different style. Friendly and helpful staff. Interesting artwork through the hotel. It is away from the noisy central Amsterdam which we appreciated and meant we could sleep. Still it is within easy walking distance to everything. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very good location for an Amsterdam weekend - in the quiet 9 street area, and withing walking distance from everywhere. Service was attentive, helpful and friendly, even when busy. The hotel is created by the joining of 11 interconnected buildings. We had a nice canal view, but it did not fully compensate for street noises filtering in through the closed windows and the heating system's sluggishness. Breakfast was great - both in verity and service. All in all a good place to stay over a weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.