We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in a traditional old dutch house by the canals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in a traditional old dutch house by the canals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located, on one of the central canals, within short walking distance from most points of interest in downtown Amsterdam, including the museums the palace and the rest of the canals, as well as the shopping areas. In the center of Amsterdam, having a car is in fact more of a nuisance and walking, renting a bicycle or taking the canal boats is the best way to explore the city. The bulding is an old traditional house on the canals, with a lot of charm. The house stretches between two canals. The rooms are spacious, furnished with antique charm, with tapestries and classic furniture, and with modern conveniences, spacioous bathroom with modern update. The staff very friendly and had excellent recommendations. The hotel offers breakfast, but we did not try it since we wanted to explore local bakeries and brunch places. I would stay there again and recommend it for its beauty, comfort and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    197
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
153
300
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Stevens, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked the culinary package which included all breakfasts and a dinner out at a the bluepepper restaurant. The restaurant was only so so, but the hotel itself was fabulous. Nice romantic view, beautiful room, excellent service and an amazing champagne breakfast each day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canals
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of my best recommendations. Its cosy, friendly people, 4-5 star rooms, old fashioned but stylish and clean. Excellent breakfast served at your table with a spectacular view to the channels. This is your hotel for the romantic tour or even your busines trip:-)

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe or superior. The rooms aint big but cosy:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The Ambassade is generally a nice hotel, with certain quirks that may be considered charming. Rooms are small-to-medium sized, with elements of creative floor planning. The hotel shows marks of having been expanded multiple times, with narrow, meandering corridors on slightly different levels. The stairs are extremely steep, typical for houses in the Dam. There is a single, small elevator, though.

The staff is attentive and friendly. Rooms and en suites are nice and clean, although somewhat dated. Wifi access in the rooms is included

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute after making a mistake at another hotel that was unsuitable. We got a room over looking the Herengracht, it was picturesque, quiet, peaceful, with double doors opening over the street/canal. If you were to imagine a typical residential block in the heart of Amsterdam this street and building is it. Great location. Short walk from everything that most tourists want to do. The hotel is very quirky in a good way. It is actually several small old rehabbed buildings rehabbed into one hotel. Walking down a hallway is a trip. Up 3 stairs - down four stairs - turn left, turn right, etc... Staff was extremely responsive. Room was very spacious an nice. Pricey.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room overlooking Herengracht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Arrived here early in the morning and as they were full the night before was not able to get in my room straight away. They were very charming took my bags and promissed that they would do there best.
I first stayed at The Ambassade in 1986 and have returned a few times over the years. The hotel is in excellent condition, spotlessly clean and decorated in a very tasteful way. They are located right on one of the prettiest canals in Amsterdam. There is plenty to do right outside your door!
I had a room on the canal which i was worried would be noisy but I slept soundly.
One change was that you now have to pay for your breakfast. Gone are the days of filling up on an amazing dutch feast of cheeseand meats etc. I would say that it is a bit on the expensive side but the quality is very high and the selection including hot dishes cooked to order and sparkling wine was very good!
I am sorry that I was only staying one night. I will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had the best time at the Ambassade. Great location, close to shops, bars, restaurants, but quiet! Magic! Will return. Staff friendly and helpful. Clean. Breakast good but expensive; lots of cheap cafes nearby and a great European pancake/crepe place. On a canal and a great "only in Amsterdam" feel. Romantic and adorable. If you don't fall in love with this hotel, there's something wrong with you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually decorated. Try asking for a balcony. We had a lovely blue room under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.