We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In mid of city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“In mid of city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Was staying for 3 nights on September, the hotel is still the same with my previous visit 25 years ago. Well maintain..good service, nice boutique hotel and great breakfast. Will get back again for my next visit...

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    212
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
165
331
51
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Ambassade for three nights in early October. The location was perfect-- we walked everywhere. The staff was most helpful and professional. The rooms were lovely, and the bathroom was spectacular. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We love, love, love this hotel! It's absolutely adorable, the decor is sumptuous and elegant, and so wonderfully European, our room both times was right on a canal, decorated in rich, rich colors and super comfortable. The staff couldn't be better, and the breakfast room is as sweet as can be. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on a canal - go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svelvik, Vestfold, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ambassade Hotel is a beautiful hotel situated only a few minuts from the flower market by the canal. The area is quite but still close to everything you would want to experience. The rooms (54 of them) are unique and beautiful. Service is top, and you feel very well taken care of! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights ! Rooms are gorgeous and canal view is fantastic !
The staff was very friendly indeed one of the best boutique hotels.
Definitely the place in town after having been to some others.
I strongly recommend staying there if you want to enjoy and grasp the atmosphere of the herengracht.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent three weeks traveling in Europe, and while we stayed in some fantastic hotels, none came close to the Ambassade in comfort and charm. This hotel is truly elegant, and is an amazing mixture of historical charm and modern convenience. The service was gracious and front desk staff were always eager to help with anything we needed. I am a bit of a fanatic when it comes to wanting comfortable beds when I am paying for overnight accommodations. I have never slept in a more comfortable bed in any hotel. I wanted to strip the silky sheets off of the bed, pack them into my suitcase, and take them home with me! The hotel is located within easy walking distance of many shops and restraraunts. We had a canal view room, which really served to enhance our Amsterdam experience. Oh, and what a bathroom! It had gorgeous fixtures, a heated floor, and towel warmers. The hotel serves a wonderful breakfast in it's very beautiful dining room at a reasonable price. We were able to purchase tickets for a canal cruise from the hotel for only 9 euros. I highly recommend this pleasant one- hour cruise, which provides a great way to see many of the lovely historical homes in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

You cannot go past Ambassade Hotel for wonderful customer service, quiet comfortable rooms with so much character.
We stayed at this hotel for two days at the end of a river cruise. Ambassade lives up to all the reviews on this site. Consisting of ten canal houses connected by way of interesting spiral staircases and corridors makes for a charming hotel. The location was great, very close to all attractions and lots of good restaurants. We chose a Superior Deluxe room to ensure we had a canal view. Our room, which was well appointed and very spacious, overlooked the Herengracht. Friends travelling with us chose the standard double room, it was lovely, very spacious and had a view over the Singel Canal.
I had the misfortune of having my handbag stolen from me in the city. The staff at the Ambassade could not have been more helpful in what was quite a distressing time. I was given access to a phone to make international calls to cancel credit cards and report passports missing. They called the police for me, all and all they went above and beyond to enable us to put the event behind us and enjoy the rest of our stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.