We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in picture perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in picture perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My daughters (ages 13 and 10) and I just had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Ambassade and will be flying back to the US tomorrow. Thanks to TA for the great recommendation. I chose the Ambassade over other five star hotels in Amsterdam, e.g. Grand Sofitel and Intercontinental, and have no regrets.

Pros: Location is superb for those who want to be in a the most beautiful and upscale part of Amsterdam. The hotel is located on a canal and is a 10-15 minute walk to most major attractions, e.g. Anne Frank, Van Gogh Museum, canal cruises, etc. There are many great restaurants, cafes, and stores for shopping around the corner or within a few blocks, yet, at night it's a quiet residential area so no problem with noise for sleeping.

Service is impeccable. Front desk will help with tours, tickets, etc. I emailed them while I was in Paris because my internet was not working and I asked if they could get tickets for Ann Frank, and Van Gogh museums. They promptly took care of my requests and my tickets were waiting for me upon arrival. Always friendly and willing to answer all questions.

Breakfast is served in a beautiful space overlooking the canal and the buffet has a wide array of offerings and is tasty. For those who prefer to eat out, there are plenty of options in the area.

Interiors furnishings are tasteful and the owner has an extensive art collection which is displayed throughout the hotel.

Cons: We had a triple room and it was adequate in space - not huge, but not small, and had 20 foot ceilings which helps - but I heard some single guests saying that their rooms were small. I think if you request a single, those rooms may be small so you may want to specify a larger room.

Otherwise, there are no cons.

Room Tip: For those asking for a single, I think some rooms may be quite small - perhaps you can request a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    197
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
157
302
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay in the Ambassade Hotel in Amsterdam! We arrived very jet-lagged, and it provided the perfect place to relax and regroup. Clean, quiet, with such a comfortable bed! We loved the location --- near to great little bistros and coffee houses. The staff was readily available to answer questions. The breakfast was worth every penny. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellelsey, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Beautiful hotel but the room was very small- in fact the bathroom door could not open fully as it hit the side of the bed. If you want the best breakfast in Amsterdam, in a lovely old-world dining room- they have it but it's costly.

Room Tip: Always nice to have a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at the Ambassade on a recent trip to Amsterdam. Lovely small hotel. Beautifully appointed room and bath overlooking Herengracht Canal. Within walking distance of everything. Staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel is quite different to others I've stayed in but definitely worth it. The place is certainly all over the place with stairs and elevators but that adds to the charm. If you have limited mobility, be sure to mention this when you book as some of the stairs are steep and narrow - there are rooms that are easily accessible from a lift. The room was very large for a hotel as was the bathroom. It was decorated with some bright colours but it worked well. The location is fantastic and overlooking the canal. The breakfast was very good and served in a glorious room with high ceilings, chandeliers and massive windows. The staff are all very attentive to your every need. The Internet was of a high quality. Lastly, the rates myself and a friend paid for our rooms were extremely good. The canal view costs more but I didn't pay for this and was very pleasantly surprised with my room without the view. A must stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

On the Herengracht, or gentleman's canal, is this charming and quite pretty hotel which is actually a series of buildings all attached by a warren of narrow halls and stairs. Fresh flowers and art work throughout give the hotel an understated elegance. There is an elevator, so some rooms require no stairs at all. Ours was up a few steps with a stairwell INSIDE the room too, but it was very pretty in bright red with a high ceiling, plenty of light, and a large window opening onto the canal. Some late night canal revelers could be heard passing by, but not enough to discourage staying here. The front desk staff was very helpful with directions, arranging cabs, changing currency etc. We are not big breakfast eaters, so we did not try the hotel's 17 Euro breakfast. Instead we went to Toos & Roos just steps away for coffee, juice and croissants, or Broodje Bert a block over. The hotel is very well located, suited to walking, which we did during our 4 day stay, to the Anne Frank House, the Van Gogh Museum etc. It's surrounded by trendy shops within the "9 Streets" neighborhood. We would definitely stay there again. It probably didn't hurt that we had wonderful weather while there. Tip: In Amsterdam, all gratuities are included in restaurants, and taxis. Only if you receive exceptional service is a modest tip suggested.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

On my first trip to Amsterdam, the Ambassade was perfect - GREAT location, charming, spotless (though a little small) room overlooking the canal. Rooms do vary in size & location.
I echo what others say about friendly, helpful service (front desk staff was always ready for sightseeing suggrstions & directions) and delicious, well appointed breakfast (waitress packed us croissants & cheese for our excursion out of town following breakfast).
I would definitely stay again & wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.