We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Restaurant opened now.
Ranked #7 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunny Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

On the Herengracht, or gentleman's canal, is this charming and quite pretty hotel which is actually a series of buildings all attached by a warren of narrow halls and stairs. Fresh flowers and art work throughout give the hotel an understated elegance. There is an elevator, so some rooms require no stairs at all. Ours was up a few steps with a stairwell INSIDE the room too, but it was very pretty in bright red with a high ceiling, plenty of light, and a large window opening onto the canal. Some late night canal revelers could be heard passing by, but not enough to discourage staying here. The front desk staff was very helpful with directions, arranging cabs, changing currency etc. We are not big breakfast eaters, so we did not try the hotel's 17 Euro breakfast. Instead we went to Toos & Roos just steps away for coffee, juice and croissants, or Broodje Bert a block over. The hotel is very well located, suited to walking, which we did during our 4 day stay, to the Anne Frank House, the Van Gogh Museum etc. It's surrounded by trendy shops within the "9 Streets" neighborhood. We would definitely stay there again. It probably didn't hurt that we had wonderful weather while there. Tip: In Amsterdam, all gratuities are included in restaurants, and taxis. Only if you receive exceptional service is a modest tip suggested.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    245
    20
    12
    2
See reviews for
213
405
56
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

On my first trip to Amsterdam, the Ambassade was perfect - GREAT location, charming, spotless (though a little small) room overlooking the canal. Rooms do vary in size & location.
I echo what others say about friendly, helpful service (front desk staff was always ready for sightseeing suggrstions & directions) and delicious, well appointed breakfast (waitress packed us croissants & cheese for our excursion out of town following breakfast).
I would definitely stay again & wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Ambassade was a lovely hotel in a very convenient area of Amsterdam.Our adult son was traveling with us and while the room was not large, it was very comfortable and clean. We could walk everywhere but it was close enough to the train station that when we left, taking a taxi there was not expensive. The breakfast was wonderful and large. In addition, there was free WiFi in the room, a real bonus. The hotel staff, especially the front desk, was helpful and accommodating. It is not inexpensive but very worth it. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ambassade for two nights in May 2012. We opted to pay extra for a canal-view room, and ate breakfast at the hotel each day. The room was well-appointed with an exceedingly comfortable kingsized bed and soft linens, fantastic shower/tub with rainfall and handheld shower wand, cold a/c, elegant drapes that did well to keep the sun/light out at night, and impeccable service. The hotel is an easy walk from great restaurants, tourist sites, and is located in a quiet neighborhood. Breakfast includes your choice of eggs cooked to order, the small traditional pancakes with thick molasses syrup, croissants/toast/rolls basket, sliced meats/cheese plate, juices, fresh fruit, smoked salmon, yogurt, cereals, coffee/tea/chocolate, and champagne (I believe we paid 17 euros each for breakfast). Free WIFI and mini bar included. We would have stayed longer in this gorgeous room (Room 32... which is white with dark pink damask accents), but at over 300 USD a night, a two night stay was plenty. At my request, the hotel had a lovely box of sweets waiting for my spouse from one of the more famous chocolatiers in Amsterdam. My only critiques of this hotel would be the incongruous modern prints that aren't a good fit with the historic beauty of the hotel, the laundry service that is a bit slow (if you turn in laundry after 10 am you will not receive it back until the following day after 5 PM), and -- this is going to sound really picky -- the eggs were consistently overcooked. Despite these very minor nitpicks, I highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: We booked through Booking.com and received a canal view room for two nights for 575 euros. Not all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

With only one day and one night in Amsterdam, it was important for me to have a well situated hotel with a comfortable room. My cousin had suggested this hotel and she was spot on. Delightful experience but way to short! Service was warm and friendly, my room was beautiful with a canal view (wish I'd had more time to enjoy it), an amazingly comfortable bed (wish I could have slept in longer but had an early departure the next day) and luxurious bath amenities. It's a boutique style hotel- not cookie cutter in the least- windy hallways, very simple lobby, charming art gallery adjacent to the lobby, but exactly what I was looking for. Front desk staff were terrific and very helpful. Especially that nice man who had the overnight shift and saw me off in the early morning and insisted on making me coffee and even sandwich to take with me because I was leaving before the breakfast opened up. Truly a delight- would highly recommend this to anyone seeking a special place to stay in one of the world's most enchanting destinations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidalia GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Ambassade is on the Herrengracht Canal, a beautiful part of town. It is made up of many canal houses connected by an interesting combination of elevators with diagrams pointing which way you need to go to get from one to another - unusual, to say the least! We had large windows overlooking the Canal and the very Dutch bridge and houses across the Canal. The service was excellent & the rooms were well-appointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view - if you're going to splurge on a hotel, you might as well go all the way a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at Ambassade for three nights on our recent trip to Amsterdam. It was the end of a four week tour around Europe, and there was no better way to finish it off than Ambassade Hotel! We were spoilt with luxury service and were blown away by the beautiful hotel! We will most certainly be back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#12 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,812 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 57 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The Ambassade Hotel has a bar and restaurant/brasserie that specializes in the classical French kitchen. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.