We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, Amsterdam 1016 AZ, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here. The service was outstanding. Our room was very large and quiet. Room 86. It did not have a canal view but we loved it as it was so roomy and comfortable. They offered to give us a canal room the next day but we decided to stay in our quiet room. Cannot say enough about this hotel. They think of everything. Free wifi was great. It is an excellent location. You can walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms around the courtyard, but it isn't a noisy street so you cannot go wrong. The vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    167
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
122
232
41
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I selected this hotel based on the reviews on this site and the location. The hotel is fine. This is not a five star caliber but it is not bad either. The rooms are nice and some are on quite small. The buildings are very old so it is expected. This hotelis not recomended for older people or persons who have problems with stairs. There are stairs all over the place and some of them ate very narrow and very difficult to use. I did not like the big pillows they suply. I had to request a couple of soft pillows on the second night because it was impossible to sleep with the ones they normally give you. The breakfast is very good but quite expensive if you are not hungry or don't eat much for breakfast. The only thing I really had a problem with is the charges I saw in my bill for six Euros on a couple of days when I took a Herald Tribune from the lobby. They should mention to guest that those papers are not free. I did not see a sign any place that said those where for sale. Normally Hotels that charge $300 Euros a night can afford to have a few FREE papers in the lobby for their guests to read. I don't mind to pay for a paper but I hate when hotels of this caliber charge guest for little insignificant things. Besides I took the papers towards the end of the afternoon when I assumed most guest already read them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my wife for 3 days. The hotel shines. The rooms are nicely decorated. The staff is very helpful. The hotel is situated on a beautiful canal and is central to everything.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cully, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

The location is brilliant; strolling distance for centre without the tacky bits. Ambassade is on the edge of 9 streets area; surrounded by chic cafes and little boutique shops. One off designs and definitely worth a visit. We had a room on ground floor right next to the canal. It was ok, felt a bit disconnected from the main reception areas because of the way the hotel sprawls across several buildings- Dutch style- but it has character! Deserves the Unesco heritage status, Liked this hotel for Location Breakfast was really good but not included in the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Great hotel in fantastic position.Could not fault anything.Will definitely stay there again.Very helpful staff,lovely public rooms as well as bedrooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I just returned from a 10-night stay at the Ambassade Hotel. I have stayed at the Ambassade many times since the 1980s. Why? Because everything about the hotel is right: the intelligent staff, the beautiful and quaint rooms, the many amenities, the elaborate and delicious breakfasts in the charming dining room, the convenient location; you name it, they do it right. Over the years I've stayed at the Ambassade, the hotel has been upgraded and renovated, including beautiful, upscale bathrooms, central air conditioning (that is efficient and quiet), etc. etc.. For me, the attitude of a hotel staff is very important, and everyone at the Ambassade goes out of his/her way to be courteous, friendly, and helpful. The management is amazing and professional. Compared to many hotels today, well, there's no comparison. I could rave on about the Ambassade, but, suffice it to say, it's great. In my estimation, one of the world's best. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Herengracht canal are my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ditchling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for four nights because we needed to be in Amsterdam for business. The Ambassade hotel was like a home fro home. Amsterdam (and work) was a bit hectic but the hotel was a little bit of peace and calm. Beautiful room with lovely bedding, bathroom was small but everything was there; bath, seperate shower, two wash bases. Breakfast was a delicious and so very well presented! But above all, the staff was always friendly, helpful, caring and welcoming. It made our stay in Amsterdam very succesful, just because we had such a lovely place to call 'home' for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 341, Amsterdam 1016 AZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list