We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff and Wonderful Bed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff and Wonderful Bed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We only stayed in the Ambassade one night, but it was the most luxurious of our trip. The staff of this boutique hotel on a quiet canal was very friendly and helpful. They recommended some great restaurants and were very knowledgeable about where to go to get a last minute canal boat ride. From looking at the map, and having never been to Amsterdam, I thought this location might be far from the town center. Rather it was an incredibly close walk to just about everywhere. Amsterdam is much smaller than I expected. I'm glad we ended up in a quiet spot too, since the vibrancy of the city was fun to visit, but wasn't something I'd want to sleep near. And lastly, about sleep. The bed at this hotel was out of this world. We will definitely return there when looking for another luxury get away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    180
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
149
277
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have stayed in Amsterdam many times and reached the conclusion that if you want a good hotel, you must pay for it. So, this time I treated myself to a deluxe room with canal view. The room was very well decorated, unusually spacious, and with an excellent view of the Herengracht from a Juliet balcony.The bed had an excellent quality mattress, and is quiet at night so expect excellent sleep. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the modern bathroom. The bathroom had underfloor heating, twin basins and a powerful shower over the bath. The conceirge was smart, professional and very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel, pay around 240 euro a night for a deluxe double room, although at these prices it would be good to have breakfast included; this is a further 17 euros per person. If you go out of the door, turn left down Herengracht and then immediately left there is an excellent bakery with delicious coffee; go there, save money and breakfast with Amsterdammers.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room for more space and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The hotel is well located, I stayed in a room facing the channel. The room and the hotel were clean, but there were 3 mice in the restaurant where we had breakfast during 4 days (the restaurant is in the street level and the little animals kept going in and out through a hole in the wall). So if you don't mind about having company for breakfast, this hotel is great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This hotel is outstanding and the staff makes you feel like family. It is small and quite personal. The front desk staff is superb and take great pride in making sure that every aspect of your visit is excellent. We had a nice size room, overlooking the canal. Every detail of every day was gladly taken care of by the staff. They even made all the calls and worked through the bureaucracy of the Amsterdam train system to get us a refund for a train trip where the train we booked on had a fire and was cancelled so we had to take a different train. The breakfast room was beautiful and the service was fabulous; again always with a smile. The sitting room next to the breakfast room is beautiful and a lovely place to sit, talk, and relax. An even more relaxing atmosphere can be found in the library, where the books are signed by the authors. This place and its staff are a gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week while on a business trip. It is centrally located (about a 30 minute walk from the central train station, or a short taxi cab ride). Within walking distance of shops and restaurants. A nice view overlooking the Herengracht. The hotel had helpful staff, and nice rooms which were well equipped. The breakfast is not included and a bit pricey, but was very good. Would stay here if I returned again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is charming, the service superb and the location incredible. The best breakfast in bed I have had in years. The rooms are spacious and cozy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.