We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pitty; crammed room, saggy old beds, messy carpet, building work outside... But great location and (paid) breakfast.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
North Holland, Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a pitty; crammed room, saggy old beds, messy carpet, building work outside... But great location and (paid) breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Invited my parents and must have got the oldest, smallest, darkest and crammiest room right under the creeking staircase with saggy beds and not enough room to even walk past another!

For that it is totally overpriced as the fab breakfast is extra anyway!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    197
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
153
299
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for one night in January 2012. We found the hotel itself to be extremely well located in a pleasant district (my husband is from Amsterdam, so I can say this with confidence), and within walking distance of the shops, museums and bars. Our room was beautifully decorated and modern, yet very cosy, not to mention spotlessly clean. The en-suite was modern and once again extremely clean. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, especially the gentleman that welcomed us upon our arrival.
All in all a reasonably priced and thoughtfully decorated hotel, I will definitely book again.

Room Tip: We used room 34, which was in the eaves of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I just returned from a 2-night stay in Amsterdam with my wife and three children (ages 4-12). We had two rooms, both of which were very nicely furnished and perfectly clean and maintained--as was the rest of the hotel. I travel very frequently across Europe for business, and this hotel was as well-maintained as any 5* hotel I stay at. The front desk staff was perfectly helpful with advice and reservations. We stayed in rooms 95 (great view of canal, nice bright room) and 86 (nice room, bright enough but without the view). I will note than with a canal view you are able to hear a bit more of the activity of the city, but with a third-floor room it was hardly bothersome. Breakfast was very good (I thought it was a bit pricey at first, but after eating one breakfast off-property, I would say the hotel breakfast is a fairly good deal for Amsterdam). Location was very convenient to everything we wanted to see--an easy walk to the Anne Frank house, Van Gogh museum, city centre and shopping. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Staying at the hotel was a great experience with one exception - there was some outside construction noise that started early in the morning. We were staying in a low, street - side room. The staff was very attentive to this issue and decreased the room price because of the inconvenience. The staff was also very helpful and had great recommendations for sight seeing, restaurants, etc. The hotel is perfectly located allowing for easy city viewing with essentially little need for public or private transport.

Room Tip: avoid low, street side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Well rated on TA and for a reason.

First Location
This hotel is near Rozengracht and extremely central to most Amsterdam activities. Walking nearly everywhere was not an issue to say the least. It is surrounded by great shopping ( go a block in just about any direction) and some really great rated TA restaurants are all within a few blocks. There are close main line bus stops if going a further distance (google maps does have public transit guides so just tell it where you want to go to and from and what time to leave and it will tell you what transit to take). The canal it is on is pretty quiet and a lovely view.

The Hotel Itself
The hotel is a collection of multi-story buildings that are side by side and tied together. It looks amazing, especially if you are in to elegant architecture and decor. It has been expanded over the years and only gotten better. They have a library ( full of books of authors that have stayed there and guest books of all the famous people they have had in their decades), a sitting room, a large dining area, business center (two computers, printer, etc), and a meeting room (along with a few others you probably can accidentally find!). All have grand furniture that is extremely antique and well maintained and the art is very nice also. You just do not find hotels decorated like this any more. The halls are a bit narrow (one person or a squeeze), and while there is an elevator you could end up with one or two half flights of stairs to get to your room (sometimes up and down even!). So while a bit annoying getting to the room the bag boys will take care of your bags, and its really a minor walk. Finding everything in the hotel can sometimes be a bit confusing as the hotel facilities are a bit scattered, any questions through and the front desk is happy to help.

The Hotel Room
The hotel room is as elegant as the rest of the hotel, and the bathroom is right there with it. Towel heaters, heated tiles, nice counters, and nice shower. The room might be a slight bit on the small side but still enough room for two people in one of their small rooms with a few suitcases I believe. Bed was very good and got some great sleep.

While the breakfast is a bit pricey it may be worthwhile as its quite the spread and served in a very elegant area. There are cheaper options but for a nice time at the hotel it certainly is recommended. There is free wifi throughout the hotel and it worked well. The hotel staff seemed friendly enough and the frontdesk was always very helpful (and can be used to buy various local things like bus and tram passes too). When you leave you are expected to leave your key with the frontdesk and they will hand it back to you when you return (its got a big bell on it so far better than carrying it!).

Finally the price is excellent for really what is a top venue hotel. I couldn't believe the level of service and quality of hotel for such an affordable price, I would have expected 3 times as much for this sort of Ritz.

Room Tip: Canal rooms have a great view but might be a bit noisier during busy times, if one or two half fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Really great experience. everything was great.the hotel is typical dutch by the canal.great breakfast,people , service.everything was done on time with pleasant smile and effectiveness.the staff was really helpful,the room was great with a view on the canal.the weather was windy and rainy but yet we’ll remember this trip as a wonderful one.next time again in ambassade hotel.

Room Tip: Well the people in the city are very nice and the location is in the quiet part but very close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We're a family of 5 (kids aged 3,6,9) and booked two adjacent rooms (hotel does not have connecting rooms) for our stay over New Years. The rooms were very clean with modern and well functioning appointments. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Location is excellent; right in the middle of everything. Tram is a quick walk away. The only thing we would change about our visit is next time we would get two rooms across from each other so that we could get between the rooms more easily. Thanks for a great stay, Ambassade Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.