We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Quaint and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Ambassade is a beautiful boutique hotel, set between two canals in a quiet area. It is within an easy walk of the Anne Frank house and right in the Nine Streets area with lots of interesting cafes and shops. The hotel is exceptionally well maintained. The staff are very courteous and helpful. It is a bit of a hike to the Van Gogh museum and the Rijksmuseum but easily walkable, or the tram is very close by that goes right there. Best of all is simply walking beside the canals and exploring the alleyways. It is a bit pricier than staying closer to the train station, but well worth it.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the Herengracht, which was great. I imagine all the rooms in this hotel ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    180
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
149
277
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

We are fussy and can't think of anything critical to say about this hotel. Service, cleanliness, room size, breakfast, location and everything else were wonderful and, considering the quality, the cost was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed at the ambassade in Oct
staff: respectful,professional
location : ideal
room: standard.clean,cosy
price:reasonable

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british rover
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Admittedly I scored a great out of season deal for my one night stay - but i would probably be pressed to pay more if I needed to revisit the city and unsure of other hotels in my normal price bracket. Great service, truly quirky extended townhouse hotel - all the mod cons, decent breakfast (not just ham and cheese by any stretch) but this is extra...

Lots and lots of steps so be wary if relevant, otherwise i cant think of a more charming and comfortable hotel. Its a definite 20 minute minimum walk to central train station - that was a tad annoying, but its easy to find and even better if you get a canalside view.

Room Tip: i had an internal room it was super quiet - but road outside is basically a pavement so i doubt nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is not only a beautiful, picturesque hotel but it is staffed by the friendliest people in the world. The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious and the location is perfect - close to the center but also lovely and quiet. The library and lounge are great places to relax and work.

I stay here when on business in Amsterdam, but would recommend it for anyone over on vacation. It's one of my favorite hotels and I will be back very soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed for three nights at the Hotel Ambassade and loved it! The hotel is elegant and relaxing and is well-located on the Herengracht, right near the fascinating Jordaan area and the "9 streets" shopping district. I was very fortunate to have a room overlooking the Herengracht so I was able to watch all the fascinating passing traffic on the canal. The room was beautifully furnished and fitted out and with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in in any hotel anywhere in the world! I slept so well! Also a lovely bathroom with lots of nice little extras and lots of hot, fluffy towels. Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming, extremely helpful and very professional. (I arrived at the hotel mid-morning after a long flight from Melbourne, Australia and they did everything possible to have my room available as soon as possible - I was very appreciative of this)! I will definitely stay at the Ambassade on my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Ambassade is a collection of canal houses along one of the quieter stretches in the historic canal belt of Amsterdam. The rooms are very comfortable and well-equipped, with fine, spacious bathrooms. Many have good canal views. A real plus for gadget-equipped travelers: There are plenty of outlets. Very comfortable beds.

Service is warm and personal and staff are well-versed in area restaurants. We left an item of clothing in the room, but it was found and returned to us in the US in a matter of days.

It's really a good location: Convenient to restaurants, shopping and sights, yet quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.