We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, well run hotel. Perfect location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great, well run hotel. Perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Let me add my praise to the many fine reviews written in TA about this hotel. Perfect location - elegant canal setting serene, yet convenient. Wonderful, friendly and helpful service from everyone. Very large, clean and comfortable room. (We had one of the attic rooms with a view of the canal.) Large marble bathroom. Make sure you treat yourself to breakfast there at least once. Worth the cost. You can't beat a well-run hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    230
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
181
370
53
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Ambassade Hotel is a lovely, small hotel located in the old part of Amsterdam. My husband and I thought the location was perfect as we could easily walk to museums, restaurants and shops. One of the unique things about the Ambassade is their art collection which is displayed thoughout the hotel, even in the back hallways. It is obvious that a lot of attention is given to detail as all of the decor is tastefully done. We were impressed as soon as we approached the hotel to see a beautiful flower arrangement right outside the door - that was just a hint of what we were to find inside. The staff were all helpful and professional and happy to arrange for our tickets at the museums ahead of time. Our room overlooked the canal and so we had a beautiful view. It was fun to watch the activity down below as soon as the weekend approached.The room's decor was pleasant, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom completely modern and immaculate. We ate breakfast there only once during our 3 night stay as it was a little expensive (especially with our exchange rate), but the choices of food were plentiful and all nicely prepared. I would highly recommend this hotel for a truly memorable stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed in the Ambassade Hotel for four nights in September 2011. I was visiting the city on business, but wanted to explore as much as possible during my free hours. The Ambassade is absolutely perfect in that regard -- an easy walk to several fine shopping areas (including the Bloemenmarkt), and a slightly more vigorous walk to the museum district, the Koninklijk Paleis, and the Centraal Railway Station. It's right on the Herengracht, one of the main canals running through the middle of the city, and convenient to several tram lines. I spent a lot of time walking all over Amsterdam during my visit, and I never found a place in the city where I would have preferred to be -- the location is perfect.

The hotel itself is almost perfect as well. During the five days I was there I encountered 8 or 10 different members of the hotel staff, and never was one of them less than friendly, gracious, and accommodating. They showed the perfect balance of warmth and professionalism. The room wasn't huge, but it was big enough and graciously appointed (the two apples and two bottles of water were a nice touch), with a very comfortable bed, good-quality linens, premium bathroom amenities, and a larger TV than I'm used to encountering in a European (or British) hotel. Breakfast was included with the room, and was exceptionally good: in addition to a very nice buffet including premium cheeses, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, fruit juices, etc., the table service included a bakery basket with several different kinds of bread, a plate of cold cuts and gouda cheese (both young and aged), and optional egg dishes. I ate way too much every morning.

The only two downsides to the Ambassade are more or less outside the hotel's control; one is minor, one is more troublesome. First, because the hotel is actually made up of several connected buildings, finding your way from room to room can be very difficult; I had to go up and down between floors a couple of times to get from my room to the entrance or the dining room, and got lost several times during my first couple of days there. If you are in a wheelchair or have difficulty with stairs, you might have trouble getting around inside this hotel (although there are elevators between all floors). Second, Amsterdam is a damp city and therefore rather buggy, and the hotel has neither air conditioning nor screens on the windows. That means that if you're visiting in summertime, you'll have to choose between sleeping in a warm, stuffy room with the windows closed or being eaten alive by mosquitoes. (I opted for the latter.) In fairness to the Ambassade, however, I'm not sure I've ever encountered a hotel (either in Europe or the US) that puts screens on its windows, and it would probably be silly for the Ambassade to go to the enormous expense of installing air conditioning, since it would be used so rarely. But still, the mosquitoes were a problem and they marred what was an otherwise fantastic stay. Those reservations aside, I would heartily recommend the Ambassade Hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam -- especially in the winter when the bugs aren't out.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The Ambassade is located centrally in Amsterdam, the staff helpful and polite. Rooms are relatively small, comfortable. That is it. Oh, I forgot - it is expensive. The Amstel (IHG) is probably better value. We were woken up early in the morning (one day) by drilling and hammering. The hotel could not establish where it was coming from so we just put up with it until it all stopped.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We are so glad we found this hotel!! It's on a quiet, beautiful canal street -- Herengracht in the front, and Singel in the back. We had a picture perfect canal view. It's located right next to Spuistraat, which has many restaurants and cafes, pancake houses, etc. There are shops within walking distance as well as the Albert Heijn market on Leidestraat. The staff were incredibly accommodating and very polite, despite our many requests. You can purchase daily tram tickets at the front desk, and their map was extremely helpful. When we got there in the morning, it was before the official check in time, and our room was not ready (reasonable!), so we managed to catch the tail end of breakfast service. It was a magical introduction to the hotel, the canal, and the hospitality. The breakfast is a little pricey, but well worth doing at least once or twice. The dining room is beautifully laid out, with large windows that overlook the canal. Like a fairy tale. Please go and stay in this hotel, esp. if you want to avoid the noise of that Dam square!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Herengracht might be even quieter than the ones overlooking the Singel. Spuistraa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed with friends at the Ambassade hotel for three nights. It is on a nice quiet street but minutes to shopping districts and tourists attractions. Near everything that is the best of Amsterdam! The breakfast is a bit pricey but worth it for the delicious buffet, the extra you can ask for at the possible champagne for breakfast with no extra ccost. Front desk staff was nice and very helpful every time, We will stay here for every visit we make to Amsterdam, I really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Room 28 is overlooking the canal, not very big but nice og newly redecorated. In bromn colours. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband, two year old daughter and I stayed at the Ambassade hotel for three nights. It is on a nice quiet street but minutes to shopping districts and tourists attractions. The breakfast is pricey but worth it for the delicious buffet. Room service menu was reasonably priced for the big portions. Front desk staff was courteous and helpful every time, We will stay here for every visit we make to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.