We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to see Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milwaukee,Wi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location to see Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I recently stayed at the Ambassade hotel with my 3 college age children. We picked the hotel because of many good reviews and because of it's location. It is in a nice area of town, one block off a main shopping street but a classic canal zone neighborhood. The hotel consists of series of linked row houses that have been converted into hotel suites. We had one deluxe suite for my wife and I and what they call a triple for the kids (a "living room") and a main bedroom. Given that the buildings date to the 1700s they have done a remarkable job keeping them modern. All have free wifi. The bathrooms are updated and the heating and cooling work well.
The people there were polite and usually helpful but professional. The breakfasts were extra but worth every penny with a nice buffet and cooked to order eggs. The breakfast area is charming and bright.
On the down side, the windows in our room were far from soundproof and Amsterdam rocks on weekends. Even in our neighborhood, partygoers were in the streets until 3 or 4 am and they SING! It is also not cheap, although we felt it was reasonably valued.
Overall a very nice stay, but expensive like most big cities in Europe. And beware of the cabs in Amsterdam. They are totally unregulated and very likely to rip you off. Most don't even have meters!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper level rooms if you can get it. Much quieter as long as you can do stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    230
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
181
371
53
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Loved this hotel to it's perfect location to the service of the staff to the amenities in the rooms. The hotel is VERY quiet. We had a room facing the canal/street and the neighborhood is so quiet, noise was never a problem. Need anything? Ask the front desk and they will take care of it from tickets to the museums (no need to wait in line!) to restaurant recommendations.
It is a busy place, popular with writers, so things can get busy in the lobby, but we would definitely choose this place if we return to this fun city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Spent a two night mini-break in this hotel and can endorse other reviewers' comments. Service is excellent and just the right level of helpfulness, friendly but not overbearing. Staff are very knowledgeable and referred us to two very good restaurants: Luden for a cosy basic meal, and Zuid Zeeland for something more upscale; provided us with tickets for van Gogh and Rijksmuseum - so we could jump the queues. Rooms in the newly decorated part very comfortable, with lots of great touches (free wifi, toiletries, monsoon shower, free water and fruit on arrival, good lighting for reading, windows that actually open, comfy chairs for sitting/reading, super comfy beds and pillows, etc etc). Wonderfully elegant breakfast room, sitting room and library. Great breakfast with good choice and cooked to order excellent. Location is superb - 15 minutes walk from anywhere you might want to go, but very quiet and very picturesque. One of the best hotels of any class we have stayed in for years. I cannot think of a single criticism!

Room Tip: Back facing rooms v quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Compared to a large chain hotel, this was awesome. Great location, quiet at night, fabulous staff who all speak immaculate English, wonderful canal views. Fantastic breakfast (no lunch or dinner here, like many boutique European hotels), big and comfortable rooms, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Ok, it is quite expensive, but worth it in my opinion. If I ever return to Amsterdam, I won't go anywhere else. Check out the Utube video on the amazing library. There are many places to eat within 5 minutes walk, and both public transport and shopping is within 2 minutes walk. Overall we loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savyon israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

There is really only good things to write: the polite and helpful staff, the room, the Location and the beautiful library. Overall it׳s the place to stay in thisvcharming city...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was because it seemed to be so perfectly located for what we wanted to do during our four days in Amsterdam. The Herengracht is absolutely beautiful..........and this hotel is actually a series of gorgeous 17th century houses looking right onto the canal. One of the special treats for us was to look outside our window and watch tour boats, and people on bikes going by quietly and continuously past the beautifully tree lined cobbled streets. While walking to or from the hotel whether you looked up at the wonderfully gabled architecture or enjoyed the bridges it was always delightful. We walked, and walked and walked and really never felt tired. The tram stop at Spui was very near to get to museums and you could easily walk to Dam Square or the Jordaan. Obviously this perfect location would never have warranted five stars if the staff and facility had not also been excellent. We could not be happier with the way we were treated. Everyone was always helpful and courteous and everything on the premises was spotless and very attractive. The breakfast buffet was delicious and available in the elegant dining room also overlooking the canal. This hotel was not inexpensive but if you can splurge a little this is where you want to do it.......it will make your stay in Amsterdam definitely a very special experience !

Room Tip: I would suggest calling for a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had a wonderful room overlooking the canal, where we immediately felt at home. Comfortable and charming, you could be living in Amsterdam. Very quiet, far from Dam Square and crowds. No city noise at night, just the very occasional car passing. And yet, it was not far from anything. The historic part of Amsterdam is big enough to be interesting, but small enough to walk anywhere. We were a 20-minute walk from the museums farthest from us.

Service is friendly and exceptionally knowledgeable. They recommended terrific restaurants for us, after carefully listening to what we were looking for. Afterwards, they listen carefully to your opinions, and their advice is continually being updated.

The breakfast room is full of sunshine and overlooks the canal. Many writers stay here - their autographed books fill the hotel library. There are several beautiful public rooms where you can sit and have a drink at the end of the day.

Room Tip: It costs more, but get a room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.