We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cordial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cordial to your Saves list
Hotel Cordial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 62 - 64, 1012 KW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Central”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at cordial hotel for only one night because I had a flight to south east Asia the day after I stayed with a friend of my and he was with the car They told us we had an opportunity to park in a place the hotel takes care off but on arrival my friend was waiting in the car while I asked at the hotel and he got a ticket from 90 euros while I arranged the parking at the hotel in five minutes

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    94
    111
    57
    91
See reviews for
37
109
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed at Cordial hotel with my friend and we've loved it! Room was clean,nice and warm. Personal was really helpful and friendly (we asked them a lot of questions about some attractions and places in Amsterdam.) We paid for breakfast every morning and it was delicious. You could choose from variety of food!! The best thing about the hotel is the LOCATION!! We have never used the city transport!! We walked everywhere because everything from thr hotel was close!! There are good restaurants, shopping area (just behind the hotel) and red light district just around the corner.
Thank you Cordial hotel for our pleasant stay :))

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Based on our experience,

the staff is professional and honest, there is a drink machine a bit expensive but so pleasant when you need something.

the hostel offers free wifi and also the rooms are fairly ok,

if you go there to sleep it is not a good idea to book, but if you are going to party it is especially well located close to the dam and clubs, and pubs...

it was a last minute reservation and the rooms are clean also the beds.

was a nice compromise with price and proximity of the center. (you are actually in the center)

good place but a bit noisy in the morning because of the under construction work in the street

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The blankets were full of small, black hairs. It seemed as if someone trimmed his pubes on the bed. The sheets were absolutely disgusting. When I went down to request new ones, I was simply given a stack of sheets upon returning at the hotel. It should have been up to them to change the sheets, not me.

On top of this, the little pillow was stained. The biggest stain however, was inside the 2 mugs that were standing next to the tea pot.

The floor was also quite nasty and there were hairs in the shower. The toilet paper is pretty much like sandpaper. Thank god I didn't need any.

The rooms are also ridiculously small as opposed to the way they are advertised.

The only good thing about the hotel is the location, but there are dozens of hotels in that street. I wouldn't even stay there anymore even if they offered it for free.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chgo
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The best part of this place is location. It's a quick walk from the central train station, about 5-10min. As soon as we walked in the person at the desk didn't even acknowledge us because he was too busy texting. Once he was done with his important task he acknowledged us as we waited patiently in front of him. The upside of that day was that our check in was at 2pm, we arrived at 11am & were checked in right away. What I didn't like about this place is that you have to leave your room card at the front desk when you go out. Also you have to ring the doorbell after hours in order to get in as well as to get out. We were told that there is someone always at the front desk. Just our luck it wasn't the case. One night we tried to get in around 11pm and could not get in. We waited about 5min with another guy who had been waiting already for 20min. Once in and we dropped off our stuff, we went back out. I should say we tried to leave we waited over 20min in order to get out! Inconvenient & frustrating to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

It's not much inside your room, but you have everything you need.
Commfortable bed, rain shower, tv and a water heater including tea.
Our room was small, but if you visit the city you will just stay in your room for sleeping.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Hotel Cordial was not our first choice, or even second or third when it came to choosing accommodation for our last minute 2 night stay in Amsterdam. Due to the lateness of our travel plans, and many other hotels being fully booked or not offering free wi-fi, we stumbled across Hotel Cordial. It had available rooms for the dates we required and the location was good for all major sights and attractions, as well as a short walk from the train station. The train journey from the airport being approximately 25 -35 minutes. All seemed good!
We arrived early in the morning, so had no choice but to leave our luggage behind the counter of the reception area, this was not an out of sight secure room as offered in many other hotels with early arrivals.
The large lobby area is stark and unwelcoming, similar to a hostel with only a Nespresso coffee machine and a snack vending machine available. No sign of Dutch culture or art on display here!
The room was adequate but very small for 3 (2 adults & 1 teenager ) thankfully the room was air conditioned! There was no view to speak of, just a void area filled with cigarette butts, obviously thrown out of the windows of the "No Smoking" rooms.
However the location is central to everything and does have free wi-fi!
With this in mind, with a little more time to plan I would choose somewhere else to stay. At 376.00 Euros for 2 nights it is not cheap.
Hotel Cordial charged 8 Euros each for breakfast served in a very small basic room alongside the reception area, we chose to eat out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#194 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#149 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RHO Hotel
RHO Hotel
#144 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#133 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#199 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordial

Address: Rokin 62 - 64, 1012 KW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cordial 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cordial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cordial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.