We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AMS Hotel Concert Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AMS Hotel Concert Inn to your Saves list
AMS Hotel Concert Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 11, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Saint kitts and Nevis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights (solo) this Dec 2013. well I booked this hotel after reading all reviews on trip advisor. So I arrived at the airport and took a taxi to reach hotel since I was lil bit hesitant to use Tram services though u can reach here through tram from airport (in front of the hotel).I arrived 5 hrs before my check in time but these guys gave me a room straight off. I found ppl at reception very polite and helpful. I asked them so many times "how to go there", "which tram should I pick" and they very humbly gave me the best advise.Property is well maintained, ,rooms are clean (non smoking). It has 4 floors (with elevators) . I got good sleep. There is a small garden and a small dining place. Also this place is well connected with other areas of the city. I will definitely recommend this place to all. Thanks guys for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    46
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
18
26
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

As 4 women travelling together this was one of the few hotels that could accommodate 4 people in a single room. It was right on the bus route to the airport (number 197 from stand B11 every 15 mins Concert Hall stop). Also tram 16 into the centre. It was 3 mins walk to the Van Gogh museum and 5 to the Rijksmuseum. 20 mins into the main Damrak area, passing by a great little deli or 2, and lots of lovely unique shops.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was extensive with lots of choice.

Room Tip: not all 4 bedded rooms have 4 separate beds, our had a double and twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel is newly refurnished, rooms are quite small but enough if you don't intend to spend the whole day inside. Ask for a standard room, not a small room. Breakfast is good, large choice. Located next to concert hall, van gogh museum and rijskmuseum. Tram nr.16 has a stop in front of the hotel, and will take you to Dam Square in 10 mins and Central Station in 12-15 mins. The area is wonderful, sorrouded by houses made of bricks.
Rooms could be bigger, but regarding the fact that it is an old private residence, rooms are ok. Breakfast room cand get sometimes crowdy, in the summer there is a nice garden in the back. We had nothing to hang our towels in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Small rooms are very small. Try the standard ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This place is pretty nice, enjoying a nice location close the the museum square. In addition to the museums, there are good restaurants and bars nearby, and the tram right outside goes directly to the city center. I had a single room, which was quite small, but reasonably priced with a comfortable bed. The water heater with free coffee and tee was a nice bonus. The bathroom was small but modern and clean, with a shower but no tub, a fairly reliable hot water (temperature jumped around a bit, which you don't really expect in a modern shower, as temperature-adjusting valves are pretty universal these days).
The only major objection was the thin walls. My room was on the 3rd floor (4th floor counting the street level) and I had neighbors on either side, and I could hear them quite clearly when they were talking in their rooms. Luckily they were not very noisy, but if you get some noisy neighbors you will definitely be sharing their experiences. There was some street noise (including trams), but the double pained windows did a pretty good job of blocking this out... could be a problem in the summer though, as I don't think the place has AC.
Overall, considering the price, it was a very decent hotel.

Room Tip: Half of the rooms face the courtyard and are probably quieter than those that face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We took the room at the entrance, with the big windows to outside. There is not too noisy, the room is super comfortable, you have a water-heating inside with tes and coffe. the batroom is super nice.
The breakfast is very complete, for all tastes! The location is quite fine,with a good pizzeria nearly.
The staff is super friendly and they speak several languages.
Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Firstly, what you think of this hotel depends largely on what you paid. I paid in total about 80 Euros a night for a single room, room 22. Looking on Booking.com it was about the best I could get for Oct 9th for 3 nights, judging by Trip Advisor reviews of others. Room 22 is fine as a single room except for the noise of the traffic/trams. It is at the front of the hotel. Decor is clean and smart. It is non-smoking though there is an outside area downstairs where you can smoke. The staff are helpful and professional. Breakfast at 7 Euros is good. The location is very good right next to the Van Gogh and Stedeiljk museums and on tram route 16 to Dam square and the central area. The stop into town is 100 metres up the road. The one back stops right outside. Bus 197 runs from rank B11 at the airport for 4 euros and stops 100 metres up the road from the hotel. It strikes me that hotels in Amsterdam are not cheap unless you share in a dormitory. If money was no object I would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Upon arrival around 21h30, kids were tired, but we still got an extensive (way too long) explanation about checking in at a hotel (as if we never had done that before!?). Even worse: when entering the room (first floor), the heating was still on (as max stand) with the excuse "it's cold outside". I estimate the room temperature was about 30°C. The fan was not useful (very noisy), nor was opening the window (people smoking at ground level).
When taking a bath the next morning, it turned out the bath plug was missing....
For 330 EUR a night, this hotel is certainly not value for money!
And yes, staff was "quite" friendly, but... it gets you nowhere.

Room Tip: Wouldn't be surprised if none of the rooms have air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AMS Hotel Concert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Hotel Concert Inn

Address: De Lairessestraat 11, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AMS Hotel Concert Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AMS Hotel Concert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Concert Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AMS Hotel Concert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.