We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms but convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AMS Hotel Concert Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AMS Hotel Concert Inn to your Saves list
AMS Hotel Concert Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 11, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Small rooms but convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel very close to Concertgebouw and museum square. The majority of the rooms are very small (except a double room in the courtyard, Nr 5), but everything is clean. People are very friendly. Breakfast OK. The courtyard is very nice when the sun is here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
18
27
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

a sad stay, perfect location but a serious sewage issue.

first hotel to request full payment up from for the three nights stay... no preview of room

Room was perfect size, great view overlooking the buildings but the smells hit us as we opened the bathroom door - had to plug over the outlets of shower and basin as the smells were unbearable to start. we realised that this maybe a temporary issue and then considered it to be the cleaning materials??

Great dining facility - good breakfast options and lovely enclosed quart yard for summer !

Room Tip: good location, well priced over saw the issues which we resolved personally without reception as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The room was clean and perfect a little small but on the whole had a bathroom and closet and safety box and coffee tea.The staff were very helpful and friendly.The trams were all very close to the hotel Number 16 drooped us right outside the hotel and both trams 2 and 24 were a small walk away aswell as a supermarket with everything.The breakfast was perfect each morning with a nice selection and filled you easy for a day of seeing the sights.I will be back to this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Double room was perfect not huge but more than enough with a nice double bed and breakfast included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013. Even allowing for the off-season time, price was excellent- €150 ex-breakfast. Room was small, but comfy and warm. given that it's a converted Amsterdam house, this is to be expected. Check-in/Checkout staff were helpful, courteous and friendly.

All-in-all, can't fault it at all.

Room Tip: Tram outside, so some noise until about midnight. Therefore, a higher room will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here 8 at night on Thursday and was greeted by a guy on reception that didn't have a clue what he was doing. We had pre-booked a double room considering we were a travelling couple. Expecting this, we were so disappointed when we climbed 3 floors and found out that we were stuck in a very small room with 3 single beds. Now, considering we were so tired, we thought we would just leave it and sort it out in the morning, when a manager or somebody else more experienced was present.

We found out the night porter that was on front desk the first night had only been in Amsterdam a week and was from Hungary. Not very good management to begin with.

We went down the next morning to try and sort out what we had actually pre-booked, the superior double room, and got another room number hoping it was what we paid 371 euro for. Opened the door and it was a twin room again but slightly bigger. Their reason for putting us in these rooms is because they "overbooked". So it was a complete waste of money.

My partner and I came to experience the coffee shop culture. Being smokers ourselves, and experiencing the smoking facilities at first hand, we would not recommend this to anyone who smokes. The facilities are two wooden tables, a couple of benches and two ash trays, out in the freezing cold.

The other downside is that housekeeping staff randomly walk into your room at 11.30 in the morning, when you could be still sleeping, and start cleaning your room. Yes it's nice to have your room cleaned for you when your away on holiday but to just come in the room without knocking is just ridiculous. We got woke up every morning we were there.

However, the hotel is in a reasonably good location with a bank machine 200 yards away and an underground supermarket that has everything you need.

All in all it was a different experience, I will be returning to Amsterdam, just not to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for our second trip to amsterdam, its a good budget hotel on the outskirts of amsterdam. Its close to the main museums and an albert hejin (small supermarket equivalent to a co-op in the UK) isnt too far away.
We arrived at the hotel early and the guy on reception kindly allowed us to get into our room to leave lugage. The room was extreamly small if you had any more than hand lugage you would struggle in the small rooms to fit in! The bathroom was washroom style very small on space but had everything you needed in it. The room we stayed in needed a fresh coat of paint with some attention needed on the bathroom. The heating was a nightmare, the thermostat on the radiator appeared broken so it was either a sauna or a fridge in the room, we ended up sleeping with the door open to the balcony which was less than ideal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is not a bad choice if you are on a limited budget. You arrive straight from the airport on bus 197 (4 euros). Very close to main museums. The room was small but clean, warm. Breakfast room nice, breakfast OK, plentiful. It is cheaper if you pay cash or Maestro. While I was there there was a minor interior reconstruction going on downstairs. Very friendly staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AMS Hotel Concert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Hotel Concert Inn

Address: De Lairessestraat 11, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AMS Hotel Concert Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AMS Hotel Concert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Concert Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AMS Hotel Concert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.