We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Tapas y Steaks

Castillo Tapas y Steaks
Reguliersdwarsstraat 89, 1017 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 620 1975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #657 of 2,401 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Argentinean, South American, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

The spare ribs were perfectly cooked. The BBQ sauce did not overpower the ribs. I'm not a big BBQ fan but tried the ribs with BBQ sauce even though there were other choices for the ribs. Just perfect. Lemon ice cream a perfect desert.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    34
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Spare Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Best spare ribs I've ever eaten. Delicious. Baked potato with salad. Good price. Good service. Good desserts. Comfortable setting.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We chose from the tapas menu rather than the alternative of steaks. There was a decent selection at a cost of about €6 per tapa. For two of us we had olives followed by two vegetable, two fish and two meat tapas at a cost of €40. The grilled sepia was excellent - firm but nor chewy and with just a touch of charring on the outside - also the wrinkled potatoes were notable. The house wine - a temporanilo at €18 per litre - was very drinkable and decent value but the main wine list was expensive with an Alborino at €37 and Faustino I at €51.The setting is pleasant and the staff extremely charming albeit slightly chaotic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Amsterdam ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

After the bad experience at the "cafe de klos" we had no chance to eat well and happily in this city, we were wrong. This Sud American restaurant has delicious steaks and I suggest to try the boiled potato with acid wiped cream. Alvaro, the owner, is very cheerful and funny, a real breath of fresh air in Amsterdam!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Castillo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

A smallish place in the heart of Amsterdam Castillo has an excellent menu...! The steaks are a must try.... The staff is very friendly and helpful and what more the place is not too pricey!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castillo Tapas y Steaks also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Castillo Tapas y Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Tapas y Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.