We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food, ambiance and service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bord'Eau

Bord'Eau
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2-14 | De L'Europe Amsterdam, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 531 1705
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 2,399 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $50 - $88
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Recently Michelin star awarded Bord'Eau offers a culinary adventure directed by Executive Chef Richard van Oostenbrugge and Sous Chef Thomas Groot. Exceptional ingredients are blended to create symphonies of flavour, all complemented by the finest wines from around the globe. The intimacy of the salon-like setting, the classical simplicity of the decor and the grace and attentiveness of the service suggest high style and privilege overlooking the Amstel River.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best food, ambiance and service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Recently we had a dinner at Bord"eau and we had a great evening. The location is superb in the hart of Amsterdam, overlooking the canal and the "Munt" tower. We had a pre-dinner drink at Freddy's bar where the service was great and there was live music. We were later welcomed by a very friendly service team of Bord'eau. We took the 6 course menu whereby they took very well notice of individual requests. The amuses (5 of them) was a parade of mouth watering little dishes. The food of the menu was very tastefull, beautifull presented and well explained. The staff was very professional but still informal. especially the lady sommelier did a great job in explaining, in a very cordial way, all the wines. The executive chef also presented himself at the table. This restaurant for sure deserves its 2 Michelin stars. We had a delightfull evening!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    22
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comme il faut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had a perfect lunch, by the waterside window, looking out at the swans and canal boats. Service was impeccable, and the price was not insignificant but half what we paid in Barcelona for another 2 star MIchelin experience. The wines are very well chosen in the tasting menu and we were invited downstairs to see the cellar by Dannis Apeldoorn. My partner is gluten intolerant and a call ahead of time ensured her meal was prepared without any offending items, including fresly naked gluten-free bread, warm from the oven. Bravo!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“great food, setting & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The restaurant offers great views on the canal, so be sure to book a table by the window. Staff is very professional, friendly and enjoyable. We had the 5-course menu, with the cheese platter as an extra. Perfect appetizers were followed by two starters: one with marinated salmon and one with crayfish. Mains were dover sole and tournedos rossini. Nice variety of cheese (not only dutch cheese...) and the dessert was one of the nicest we ever saw. Extensive wine list (and a charming somelier). Overall we were very pleased! It's a new 2* in Amsterdam, within a short time they will have earned their place next to Le Ciel Bleu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Michelin Starred Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is one of my favorite Michelin-starred restaurants and also a memorable one. Food was great, particularly the wild duck tea. Presentation and execution were done perfectly. What distinguishes this Michelin-starred restaurant from the rest is the service. One of the problems I often find in Michelin-starred restaurants is that they are very attentive and yet very intrusive too. However, all the staff at Bord'Eau were genuinely friendly, attentive and were very happy to serve us! Highly recommend it to all!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic lunch. Requested a window seat which we got - definitely worth requesting. Great view. We had the set course lunch which was great value. Lots of very interesting appetizers and fabulously innovative food. The restaurant is stunning and the service is outstanding. A real delight!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bord'Eau also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bord'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bord'Eau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.