We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laliberla Ethiopian Restaurant

Laliberla Ethiopian Restaurant
Eerste Helmersstraat 249 | 1054 DX Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #826 of 2,411 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Carlops
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Different and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you want something different and have some really tasty food this is the place to go! No individual plates but eating together from a huge plate and scooping up your choice of dish (which are not unlike indian curries in appearance) with the pancake-like 'injera' that lines the full plate; using your fingers and not any utensils! One of the kids absolutely loved it, the other preferred the ethiopian sauce with pasta (luckily available as well). Note that some of the dishes are very spicy but some come in different levels of spiciness so ask for a mild version if hot is not your cuppa tea. Also plenty of choice for vegetarians.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Ethiopian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice restaurant, great food and superb chef! This old restaurant is a hidden treasure in Amsterdam! Would recommend this to anyone and fit for low budget tourist and students with good taste!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I first visited this restaurant in 1993 when I was a student. I wanted to take my family there as I remembered it being quite unlike anywhere else I'd ever eaten. We were not disappointed. We enjoyed a huge shared plate of "engeera", an Ethipian flatbread with various types of vegetable, fish and meat dishes. I also sampled some coconut beer (much better than it sounds!). My wife and children really relished the whole experience. The restaurant is on a quiet side-street near the beautiful Vondelpark. It's definitely worth a visit if you are in Amsterdam. The prices are very reasonable. A big meal for 4 people, with drinks came to around €50.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for a different experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

off the beaten track but if your not riding a bike what the hell are you doing in the Dam? big platter with enough food for two, a bottle of malbec and a tip for 50 euros. in the dams thats excellent value and the food was ace. nice to eat with your fingers and some tasty fare. real good for the veggies as lots of choice and the chap service was a gent. some of the decor was a little interesting as the missus has a Guinea Pig skin stapled to the wall next to her head which i found rather amusing but its all part of the fun. intimate setting and something you should go and do.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mild”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went here after reading review in Lonely Planet. Apparently it's the oldest Ethiopian restaurant in Amsterdam. Sadly everything tasted the same and all of the dishes were really watery which made the injera soggy. This is not true Ethiopian- I hope somewhere else in town is serving something more authentic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laliberla Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Laliberla Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laliberla Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.