We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple, modern and functional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #97 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Tehran, Iran
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“simple, modern and functional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

My husband and I spent our four-night-stay in Amsterdam in Ibis Amsterdam Stopera. Some friends had suggested Ibis to me since I was looking for a clean and bargain hotel. After several weeks search I realized that I couldn't find a three star with the services Ibis offers and the same price. I reserved a double room. A few days later I found I had skipped the special offer option which cuts down on prices to a great degree, and includes breakfast as well, but it was too late. When I got to the hotel I realized I had made the right choice: The hotel building was new and modern, the rooms perfectly clean, the receptionists very-well trained and helpful, and most of all, the location was great; close to Amsterdam main attractions while having a quiet and peaceful neighborhood.
There are only two negative points about the hotel: One is the small size of the rooms;even so, they're designed in the most functional way. The second, I believe, is that the small size of rooms can be tolerated only if you stay in the rooms with the beautiful canal view. My first room had the view of the back of some buildings which intensified the sense of suffocation I had because of the small space, but fortunately I could change it to a room with canal view the second day and that really made a difference.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    792
    242
    36
    12
See reviews for
178
649
61
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

After arriving at the airport, which is huge, we caught the train into Amsterdam Central Station which cost 3.70 euro and took around 20 minutes, the ticket machines were very easy to use, and helpful that you can select a language. (Note the machines we saw were either card only or card and coins - i didnt notice any machines that took notes) a ticket office is available if the machines seem a little daunting! On arriving at Central Station, the hotel is an approximate 15 minute walk away, and is very easy to locate. The location of the hotel itself is on a fairly busy road, and is in the old Jewish quarter about 100m away from Waterlooplein, and the flea market. There is a Metro station around the corner, but we never used it as we walked everywhere in the city, a supermarket is also located nearby which was useful as there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room. All attractions are pretty much nearby aswell, with a 10-15 minute walk taking you to most attractions including Dam square, red light district etc etc.
We arrived at the hotel just before 10am, there were not any rooms ready but the lady on reception kindly told us one would be available at 12 noon and offered to look after our bags in a secure room/locker. The room itself was on the third floor, and was a good size, modern, with an lcd tv on the wall. The bathroom, again, was a good size, with a large shower and hair dryer attached to the wall, both rooms were very clean and to be honest, spotless. Our towels were changed daily, and the bed made everyday.
We stayed for 3 nights and had breakfast each morning which was great, it was a buffet style, which had everything from coffee and juice, to fruit, to hot food, pasteries, bread, yoghurt etc etc... all was very nice, and was replenished often, great for filling up before a day exploring! The breakfast room doubles as the restaurant later on in the day, we never actually ate there later on, so i cant comment on the food in the evening.
During our stay we experienced no problems whatsoever , all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, they all acknowledged us as we passed.
I would definately recommend this hotel for a visit to Amsterdam.
One final tip would be to book your tickets for Anne Frank House onine, you just print your tickets out at home, (take them with you of course) and you can just walk right past the extremely long queue, that snakes round the corner and walk through a door on the left and straight in! It cost an extra 50 cent, but meant not having to queue for 2hours!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

2nights in August 2010

Amsterdam is an expensive city. This hotel was prebooked months in advance and it was around 90Euro a night.
Location – good 15min walk from Central train station along the river. 5-10min walk to the central square and shopping region. Metro/tram stops nearby, but everything is accessible by a short 10-15min walk. Huge shower cubicle. Breakfast not included, supermarket within 5 minutes, restaurants 5-10mins to have a meal.
No minibar or tea/coffee facilities.
Our room was next to the elevator - but surprisingly quiet and no problems.

A good hotel for touristy Amsterdam. A little further to walk but does the job.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed at Ibis Stopera for 2 nights, arriving straight from Melbourne. We took the train from the airport (about 15-20mins) which costs 3.70 Euro, and then walked to Ibis, which took about 15mins. Very easy. Check in went well, we were able to check in at 12pm. Our room was modern, clean, had a window what opened with view over canal (this is where the canal cruises travel through). It was a good location as it is quiet and away from the seedy central part. There is also a bike hire place a few doors down, and for about 7 euros you can cycle around for the day, which is a great way to see the sights efficiently. We rode all through the canals, red light area, Dam square, Vondel park, Anne Frank House + a cafe lunch stop over, all in 2 hrs.

The breakfast is good, it is a buffet style with cereal (rice bubbles, muesli & cornflakes), yoghurt, baguettes, cold meats, cheese (brie, gouda etc), fruit salad, croissants, and toast. Tea, coffee, & juice. I think it is excellent value for money and will definitely stay here again and I am recommending it to my work colleagues. I paid a lot more to stay at NH Barbizon Palace the following weekend, which I was very disappointed with (see my review on this).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Friends booked this as part of a car ferry trip from Newcastle, England. One night at the Ibis and a canal cruise were part of the package. We were much happier with the hotel than the canal cruise. I don't know what we paid for the room since it was part of the package but it was clean and comfortable and not badly located.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Hi
Good points- close to central station. about a 15 minute walk. We were charged 25 Euros in a taxi which we now know was a clear rip off.
Hotel is only a 10 minute walk to Dam Square and also the Red Light district.
Reception/ Bar staff were friendly

Bad points- in a run down block, no fridge or tea/coffee facilities.
Never tried any meals as were expensive
Room was clean but small & basic, no seats for instance.


Amsterdam- nice city to walk around if its Sunny, which it was for us. Enjoyed Anne Frank House & Heineken experience.

Can be expensive for drinks, overall enjoyed our 3 day break

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend. Very good value for money. Very close to the city center, train station etc. We walked with our suitcases from the train station to the hotel in about 15 min. The train ticket from Schiphol airport to the main train station costs 3.70 euros one way - very cheap. We didn't try the breakfast at the hotel. There was a big supermarket very close by. The room was very nice and clean and looked exactly like on the pictures shown on the Ibis website. The staff was very nice and polite - always. We stored our luggage at the hotel after check-out because our flight departed in the evening. There's a metro station very close to the hotel but we neither used public transportation nor taxis as we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Even at night it was no problem walking back to the hotel. Very nice hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.