We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #98 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed in this hotel back in February with my partner and we enjoyed very much out stay. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. Had enough clean towels every morning and beds changed every day too. The room was very clean and inviting and had a beautiful view of the canal from our window. The hotel had print outs of the wifi password available everyday and always had enough brochures and leaflets stocked up everyday. Also the facility of being able to leave your bag in the hotel even if you have checked out was so handy as my partner and I had an evening flight back to London and didn't want to stroll the city with out suitcase the whole day. Loved this hotel and would definitely come back and stay here :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    807
    247
    37
    12
See reviews for
178
666
61
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed in hotel for a long weekend in early July 2014. Good location, with only a 10 minute walk to Dam Square etc. Hotel in perfect condition throughout, staff superb at reception desk - upgraded us to a premium canal-side room, when I told them it was my partner's birthday weekend (a tip I got from another trip advisor reviewer !). The Ibis is a simple hotel, at a good rate (approx £100 per night, per room) with no frills but plenty of comfort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Located walking distance to train station, city center, and tram line, yet still in a quiet area of town. Room was not fancy but was quite comfortable. WiFi was great and shower was big. Staff there was awesome, especially Pieter and Shandor. Always answered questions we had without hesitation and pointed us towards good food and things to do. Very satisfied with my stay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. It is an economy hotel like all other Ibis. Everything is functional with few luxuries or frills. Bathroom was like a moulded pod in the bedroom and small - door automatically shuts and gets very stuffy. No mini-bar or tea & coffee or bottled water. Breakfast was again, functional and adequate. For all that, good night sleep on comfortable bed and a good shower. Clean and well maintained and with friendly staff. Ok location in walking distance (15min) of Centre. A good 'value' hotel when on a budget.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you have a good stay with us.
Concerning your remark about tea & coffee facility I can inform you that as of this year some rooms will be equipped with Coffee & Tea facilities which will make your next stay even a more enjoyable one.

See you on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Ms. N. van der Vos
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtarfa malta
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Reading reviews on Stopera made me book this hotel and I feel that the vast majority are right to say that this hotel is very good. Situated in a tranquil area of Amsterdam but still you are within walking distance from the centre. The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms make you think you are on a cruise liner because of the small size. Still the shower is very comfortable. WIFI is free and this si an added bonus. Breakfast is fine with a nice choice to please most. Staff is very welcoming too. The only hiccup is that my room window facing the street did not open. Therefore you cannot get some fresh air. The A/C worked but it was not as effective, but no big deal as the tempreture in Amsterdam is rarely hot !

Room Tip: Try to get a canal room in advance. If you ask for it on arrival, you might be charged extra. So you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and have remarked and appreciated our services. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Peter Holierook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and HotelsClick so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.