We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Alright ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The room was clean and the staff helpful. The bed was too hard for us. But otherwise it was fine. Unfortunately a hen party felt it was appropriate to scream for about an hour! But I suppose the hotel couldn't tell them off as soon as they arrived.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for sharing your experiences during your visit to IBIS Amsterdam Centre Stopera. It pleasant to read that you have loved your stay in Amsterdam.

Really sorry to hear that you had problems with other guest of our hotel. If such problems prevent we always want to be informed, so we can solve the problem.

II hope to welomce you another time in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Nathalie van der Vos
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    777
    230
    36
    11
See reviews for
166
622
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here on a stag do. 3 rooms of 3. Very basic but that's all we needed, the beds aren't very comfy and the rooms are very small. Didn't eat with them but 17€ for breakfast seems excessive... The location is it's only 5* quality.

I wouldn't stay again as if you look around you can find better.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madame,

I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay and that you wouldn't stay again.

Kind Regards,

Ms. N. van der Vos
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The location of the hotel is just a bit outside the main centre & and a good starting point to explore the city. The hotel itself is very functional, nothing special but also something you are not disappointed with.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madame,

Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Ms. N. van der Vos
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The strongest point of this hotel are the rooms, copared to the outside and the reception, they were a good surprise , modern, comfortable, the bathroom was small but well decorated and cozy, with all necesaary.
The bed is very comfortable and international channels can be watch on tv at no additional cost (try channel 9)
Internet is free and even though sometimes was not very strong, i constantly had access to it. Staff is very friendly and willing ro help you.
A shuttle can be booked in advance to the airport.
On the down side, the breakfast was poir and repetitive with only a few options, the hotel does not have eoomservice and basically does not have a reataurant, only a bar where a sandwich can be ordered.
All together it was fine, 10 minutes walk from rembrandplein

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you have a good stay with us. See you on your next trip.

Kind Regards,

Ms. N. van der Vos
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed in the hotel with a friend, as we were staying in Amsterdam for 3 nights to watch football.
The hotel is situated in a quiet area, approx 5 min walk from Waterlooplein, where there is a Metro (line numbers 51, 53, 54 all stop here) and the Tram route (number 9 and 14). Although, its only a 10/15 min walk into the central area and Dam Square.

Check in at the hotel was simple and quick and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was on the ground floor, and had a view of a wooden fence and hose pipe, but that was not an issue, as we did not spend much time in the room. There was no significant external noise issues with this room. The room was compact, but sufficient for our stay (although the 2 single beds are very close together). The room was clean and tidy. There is a safe in the room and a TV and phone.

The bathroom was clean and the shower was a nice size.

Breakfast was sufficient with a choice of cereal, criosants, cold meats etc and cooked (scrambled egg, beans and sausage).

in summary, the hotel is basic, but it is clean, and an ideal location to explore Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.



Kind Regards,

Ms. N. van der Vos
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It sounds very stingy....!!! "Pay extra Euros if you want early check in. If 9 AM to 12 noon Eur. 50 (I guess) and if from 12 noon to 2 PM again Eur. 30. Strange. Never saw such notice board in any hotel during my 4 weeks trip to 15 countries in Europe (at least I did not see). It is well known, almost all tourists arrive (either by train or flight) early in the morning. Even if the room is ready, they do not check in.
Plus point is, walk able distance for train station and other important places in the city. Cleanliness, service and rooms are value for money.
I would stay here again, only if I am planning to arrive in the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to IBIS Amsterdam Centre Stopera . I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the price for the early check in.
Because we received more comments regarding the prices the early check in, that we changed it a little bit.
If we have rooms available before 14.00 pm during friday and saturdag is it without any cost. And if you want to check in before 14.00 pm during the rest of the week you will pay € 30,- extra.

I still hope to welcome you another time in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Ms. N. van der Vos
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Valkenburgerstraat 68
1011 LZ Amsterdam
T: 0031 20 531 91 66
F: 0031 20 531 91 45
E: h3044-du@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisy9700
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

ive stayed in lots of hotels over the years and in Amsterdam there is a huge range of hotels but a lot of them fall short unless you pay through the nose.the Ibis range offer a decent standard and clean at a decent price.this hotel is in a good location...10 mins walk to centre and has very friendly staff at more than decent prices

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the canal...not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.