We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #97 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a great stay at the Amsterdam ibis! We were a group of nine ladies on a hen party and found this hotel to be perfect for our one night stop over. The rooms were basic, but extremely clean and had very comfy beds (a prerequisite for tired hens). The shower was excellent and buffet breakfast in the morning went down a treat.
On the Saturday night (15th march) we went on what was a rather unpleasant pub crawl, leaving early to retire to the hotel. Decided to stop for a quick cuppa at the bar and found the man working the shift to be absolutely fantastic and definitely saved our night. He is the sole reason for these well deserved 5 stars!! We bumped into him again the next day after our ferry transfer bus did not turn up. He hadn't even started his shift but stopped to help us and direct us to the next stop. Great thanks to him from all of us!
Would definitely go here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted and specially Driss to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and have remarked and appreciated our services.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    790
    242
    36
    12
See reviews for
177
648
61
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very clean room. Smiley and friendly staff. Good location, close to trainstation and Amsterdam centre as well. Decent amount of food in continental buffet. The only con was very dry air in a room that made me drink water during the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsalforn, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. Have to say that it was a wonderful experience as the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and it is quite central. Just a few minutes walk from the centre. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a good choice for a value hotel - rooms are small but clean with great power showers. Breakfast has a fairly good range - all sorts of bread, plenty of hot food but little fruit to choose from. Staff were helpful and friendly, and there was a room to leave our luggage after we checked out. The one thing that annoyed me was that there was no kettle/tea/coffee in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you have a good stay with us. Concerning your remark about a kettle I can inform you that we have some rooms areequipped with Coffee & Tea facilities for € 20,- per night per room extra which will make your next stay even a more enjoyable one.

See you on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend a couple of weeks ago, the hotel its self was spot on. Maid service everyday, clean & comfy beds, nice restaurant.
The only downfall with this is its location I mean it took us about 10-15 to walk into the main centre from the hotel, its okay if you dont mind a bit of a walk but we did think it was a little bit closer. It's not bad to walk through the day but on a night time it is a bit weiry and i was a little bit scared just with some of the weird people you see around the area.
There is a Spar local shop which is just across the road and about a 5 minute walk you have your first coffee shop and also a beautiful steak house.
We visited the restaurant in the hotel a couple of times we had cheese and ham toasties which were lovely but 6euro for a little toastie is quite a bit but i suppose it was in the hotel and its always the same where ever you go.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Recently stayed 3 nights in this hotel on our first trip to Amsterdam. Found the staff friendly and helpful. Room was fresh, clean and adequate for a short city break. Nice dining room and plenty of choice on breakfast menu. Hotel well placed to explore the Jewish Quarter (and City Zoo), also the 'Skinny' Bridge. The Van Gogh and Rijts museums were within a 30 minute pleasant walk along the canals and the old centre was easily walkable. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from our trip to Amsterdam and were lucky to have stayed at this hotel .At check-in Mr.Nielz warmy welcomed us and upgraded our room for the room with the view to canal which is made our stay amazing.We've been in Amsterdam to celebrate our anniversary and St.Valentine! Mr.Nielz and other staff were extremelly professional and polite.The room was superb, was always clean and warm,pillows and bed were very comfortable(slept like at home). Hotel is situated in very a quiet street but is just a little far from the main center.
We will definitely be coming back!!! Un saluto Dinara e Davide

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted and specially Niels to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and have remarked and appreciated our services. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.