We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A centre location in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #105 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A centre location in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 via mobile

Stay in Ibis Stopera Amsterdam was very exciting experience. Even as the budget hotel Ibis have minimise facilities to offerred but you would have a good stay with them. The location was my first choice. Only a short walking distance from Central station and Dam square its easy to go around the city. Albert heinz supermarket is only 200m on the left side hotel. The breakfast was wonderful with many various choice. But as a budget hotel, they have not provided such as mineral water, tea or coffee making facility, but you can get a hot water in the cafe near the Lobby. They only provide soap and shampoo in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    840
    267
    39
    15
See reviews for
187
698
61
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is located close to the central station, max 15 min walking.
However, it is not so close to the main attractions, but nothing than a good walk could not solve it.
Furthermore, the restaurant has a bad service, principally because there is not staff enough to provide and serve all costumers.
Rception staff is very attencious.
Rooms are small, but it is ibis pattern.
Price is so expensive, but it is normal in Amsterdam.
There is a supermarket just 1 block away.
No restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The hotel is not located in a mainstream area. Good dining area and main tourist areas are within easy reach by foot or public transport. The hotel has small clean rooms with good showers. Not much room for suitcases if you are travelling with partner. The bed is hard, which can effect sleep. Breakfast is expensive and is not value for money. Room tariff is a little high for the room size. In future would only use this hotel chain if nothing else was available for around the same price. Recommended with reservation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed there on Eastern with family (me, my wife and our two kids, 2,5 & 1,5 years old).
Hotel is good, clean and close to the city center.
Our room was on the top floor and was big enough for our needs. As i l know, room's in Ibis hotels are small. Our room at this one was big.
It's location is very close to the city center and just a few steps (3-4 minutes walk) from the closest tram stop and the closest metro station.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on business. My room was small - almost like a dorm. Not much room for clothing and had to get on one of the beds to open the window. Bathroom was adequate - good size shower, but small sink. Very loud toilet. VERY CLEAN. A bit dated. TV channels were ok - a few languages available. Room had 3 twin beds. I was paying a group rate - only 86 Euros a night. Wireless internet rate was very inexpensive - about 11 Euros for 3 days worth. Good location - near subway and bus lines. Close to the Maritime Museum and Nemo. Staff was excellent and helpful. Beds were comfortable but the pillows were too hard for me. My room had 3 single beds in it - making it crowded. I would stay here again if traveling alone - would be too small to stay with others. Good restaurant for dinner. Supermarket and good coffee shop and bagel shop within 10 min walk. I was not able to check in early - it really depends upon how busy they are. But they were able to lock the baggage up while I went out for the day. Front desk took care of everything flawlessly - calling taxis, making dinner reservations (strongly recommended) and providing internet connectivity. Room was very clean.

Overall good deal if you don't mind a small space and little to no frills.

Worth the walk or taxi to Humphrey's for dinner. Best bargain in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed in Amsterdam for a night and 2 days, we booked this hotel using IBIS's own booking website that gave us a good discount if you prepaid before your visit. We paid €91 for a standard room, which for a central Amsterdam hotel was a good price. We arrived at the hotel just before 11.00am so we expected just to drop the suitcase off at the hotel and check in later, as earliest check-in was 2pm, but we were pleasantly surprised to get the room early and we were given a canal view room at the rear of the hotel. The hotel was quiet and it was a midweek booking as well. The room was a good size and very clean. Good flat screen TV mounted on the wall and wifi access was available for €3.95 for a 24hr period. The location of the hotel was excellent in a nice residential area on Valkenburgerstraat opposite the fire station. The hotel charges €15 per person for breakfast in the hotel restaurant, but there is a nice cafe called the Cafe De Valk about 50metres past the hotel who do an excellent breakfast for €6.95 and the cappuccino was superb. The hotel restaurant does a good Italian menu but we ate out in the evening in small restaurant on Damstraat. The location of the hotel is very good, 15mins walk from Dam Square and the Oude Kerk. We are hoping to go back to Amsterdam again next year, as we enjoyed our time there and have still so much more to see there.

Room Tip: Request a canal view room, there was very little noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011 via mobile

A 10 minute walk from the train station and easy walking access to the city centre. My room lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.