We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Average Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #104 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Two minute walk from the Central Station for train and tram travel, which allows easy access to anywhere in the city. We stayed here for two nights. The room was small, but perfect for our needs (sleeping and taking showers). The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We encountered two room cleaning staff who were arguing with each other in Spanish near the elevator, which looked very unprofessional. Other than that, no real complaints, and would recommend this hotel for short stays and travelers looking for a convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalleBijveot, Commercial Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Shyam G,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will inform our Facility Manager about the room attendants, to make sure this does not happen in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback, which is most valuable to us.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Pascalle Bijvoet
ibis Amsterdam Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    1,265
    534
    94
    60
See reviews for
390
955
194
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashdod, Israel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel cound't be located better: two steps from the Central Station (very conveniently connected to the Schipol airport), trams and boats - and a short walk from the city center. The Ibis standards met our expectations - clean and functional but very "basic" rooms, friendly but a bit slow staff, simple breakfast. Pity that the hotel does not offer rooms for families so we had to stay in two separate rooms. I believe that for the longer stay we wouldn't choose this hotel but for two nights it was just good. Plus location = Very Good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Thanks to the many reviews on Trip Advisor (thank-you to all who contribute) we chose this hotel. The room tips advise on asking for a Red Tulip room, which is in a different section of the hotel with its own lift, really paid off. We were put on the seventh floor with a view overlooking the river - fantastic. The Red Tulip rooms are a certain design with larger bathrooms and showers.
The hotel is modern and clean with friendly, efficient staff. The location is great for exploring Amsterdam as it overlooks Centraal Station.
Our only slight gripes are the air conditioning which hardly did it's job and was very noisy which meant at night with the windows shut (you have to shut them due to the noise from the station and particularly the station announcements) the room was too warm for our liking.
Also for us the breakfast at 17 euros per person was extortionate. We only wanted Continental i.e. cereals and toast with a cup of tea. It is a pity hat they did not offer a light option for 8 euros, as Premier Inn do in the UK.
All that aside we enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam

Room Tip: Ask for a Red Tulip room that are on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a great location if arriving/departing via Central Station. Rooms are above the station platforms and our air conditioner wasn't working so the trains were loud as we had to sleep with the window open. Would recommend for a couple for a short stay, however we had a triple room which was a bit small for 3 adults with suitcases

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

just next to the train station (center of the city), safe clean. On top of train line but no noise(because of two window isolation). Only room size is closer than average. international tv channels, good breakfast 15 euro, we prefer delicious local bakeries for breakfast (cheaper).

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors has better view less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.