We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #107 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Yarm, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Was not expecting much from this very central over used hotel but what a surprise very clean. It is a basic hotel no kettle but there is a hairdryer and free wifi. Check out was painstakingly slow but I would still return

Room Tip: Floor 5 in the red tulip building had air con others in our party were on floor 3 in the yellow mill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    1,325
    556
    103
    61
See reviews for
407
1,012
200
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

cons:
- Aircon is not working well. We stayed last weekend (Summer season) and it was so hot. Opening the window doesn't really help, it was still warm inside the room.
- too expensive for one night stay
- very limited space in the room
- reception is always busy that you have to wait for some time before they could attend to you

pros:
- right beside the main train station and walking distance to most popular spots in Amsterdam. Also, several restos nearby.
- good wifi signal even inside the rooms.
- clean bathroom

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed in the Ibis hotel in Amsterdam from 30 June to 4 July 2014. My husband attended the Psychology Conference at the Berlage. This hotel was in a wonderful location. Close to the central station. The staff was wonderful. The breakfast was superb! I would recommend this hotel to anybody anytime! The rooms were a bit small but very clean!!

Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

Elzette van Niekerk

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We arrived at the train station and the hotel was literally a few mins' walk from there- perfect if you've been travelling for ages and just want to get to your room! Also great if you have a short break in Amsterdam City and need to be central, and you're happy with a small, basic room- which are very clean and comfortable.

Downsides are that you can hear the trains at the back of the hotel, and the water pressure in the shower was inconsistent- one second hot, then warm, and then cold- so not great. Some of the TV channels didn't work either. But if you get a good deal and you don't intend on watching TV and showering the whole time then it's hard to complain.

Overall it was perfectly suitable and I'd stay there again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Wonderful location...very near the train station. You will feel like you are in a cruise because of the small but clean rooms. Walking distance to restaurants and shops. Friendly staff... the front desk can assist in booking canal cruise at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here for a city break with the girls. We had two rooms for the weekend. Getting to the hotel couldn't be easier from Schipol airport. Jump on a train at the airport and 10 mins later you'll be at Centraal.


Location is second to none. Practically located on the station. Walking distance from everything (5-10 min max) (Dam Square, Red Light Distt., Anne Frank’s House). The rooms are compact but not as small as some people here are making out. Rooms were serviced well everyday.

Check in and check out was swift. There is a vending machine on the room floors and in the lobby serving hot beverages and cold drinks. We would go into the station in the mornings to buy breakfast at the Starbucks or Supermarket in there (its like being in London’s Victoria station).

The hotel is perfectly located and priced for a city break in Amsterdam. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Indeed a fantastic location hence the very high rate they ve charged ...

The rest is all a little factory-like with a factory style checkin, service and facilities ! As a Dutch person back in the Netherlands for a short break its actually not showing the Netherlands in a great light

Bathroom was tiny but has all facilities ! Had a room near the top floor whilst ' work' was carried out on a neighboring room (they should have told us this)

Overall : there must be a better "welcome to Amsterdam" then this hotel

It seems management just came out of school and had little real-wold hospitality experience

Wont stay here again !

Green Features: other then the usual " chain promo" like save a tree etc nothing seems visible What would be interesting to know where exactly all those trees IBIS is planting currently are ....
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear SiemReaplover,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I'm sorry to hear your experience didn't meet up to your expectations. I have shared your comments with our team and we will do our utmost to improve our service quality.

Regarding our 'plant for the planet' program, I'm happy to share some more information with you. We post this information next to our reception as well. The savings from the guests in our hotel only, since 2009, already financed the planting of 3,866 trees in Transylvanian forests in Romania. Please feel free to visit our website, where you'll find a link to the plant for the planet program, where all information can be found.

Thank you again for your feedback and hopefully we can welcome you in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.