We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location esp for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #110 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great central location esp for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We arrived at the train station and the hotel was literally a few mins' walk from there- perfect if you've been travelling for ages and just want to get to your room! Also great if you have a short break in Amsterdam City and need to be central, and you're happy with a small, basic room- which are very clean and comfortable.

Downsides are that you can hear the trains at the back of the hotel, and the water pressure in the shower was inconsistent- one second hot, then warm, and then cold- so not great. Some of the TV channels didn't work either. But if you get a good deal and you don't intend on watching TV and showering the whole time then it's hard to complain.

Overall it was perfectly suitable and I'd stay there again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    1,329
    560
    104
    62
See reviews for
408
1,016
201
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Wonderful location...very near the train station. You will feel like you are in a cruise because of the small but clean rooms. Walking distance to restaurants and shops. Friendly staff... the front desk can assist in booking canal cruise at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here for a city break with the girls. We had two rooms for the weekend. Getting to the hotel couldn't be easier from Schipol airport. Jump on a train at the airport and 10 mins later you'll be at Centraal.


Location is second to none. Practically located on the station. Walking distance from everything (5-10 min max) (Dam Square, Red Light Distt., Anne Frank’s House). The rooms are compact but not as small as some people here are making out. Rooms were serviced well everyday.

Check in and check out was swift. There is a vending machine on the room floors and in the lobby serving hot beverages and cold drinks. We would go into the station in the mornings to buy breakfast at the Starbucks or Supermarket in there (its like being in London’s Victoria station).

The hotel is perfectly located and priced for a city break in Amsterdam. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Indeed a fantastic location hence the very high rate they ve charged ...

The rest is all a little factory-like with a factory style checkin, service and facilities ! As a Dutch person back in the Netherlands for a short break its actually not showing the Netherlands in a great light

Bathroom was tiny but has all facilities ! Had a room near the top floor whilst ' work' was carried out on a neighboring room (they should have told us this)

Overall : there must be a better "welcome to Amsterdam" then this hotel

It seems management just came out of school and had little real-wold hospitality experience

Wont stay here again !

Green Features: other then the usual " chain promo" like save a tree etc nothing seems visible What would be interesting to know where exactly all those trees IBIS is planting currently are ....
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear SiemReaplover,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I'm sorry to hear your experience didn't meet up to your expectations. I have shared your comments with our team and we will do our utmost to improve our service quality.

Regarding our 'plant for the planet' program, I'm happy to share some more information with you. We post this information next to our reception as well. The savings from the guests in our hotel only, since 2009, already financed the planting of 3,866 trees in Transylvanian forests in Romania. Please feel free to visit our website, where you'll find a link to the plant for the planet program, where all information can be found.

Thank you again for your feedback and hopefully we can welcome you in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Last minute decision to stay here due to the hotel being in close proximity to Amsterdam train station. Turned out to be a rather expensive night in a cramped, stuffy room without the ability to even open a window. Regardless the beds were comfy and the location is ideal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Todd181,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our ibis Sweet Beds and our unbeattable location.

Regarding the windows: They can be opened a bit. Due to local safety regulations, we're unfortunately not allowed to let the windows open further.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Belo, SC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is very well located and they have a nice lounge/bar, i think here will stop the postive things that i can think of. The rooms are so small you can not even open your suitcase, we were happy they did not draw the beds on the wall, so small! lousy beds and pillows and the room was way to hot. We thought that the airconicioning was not working but that was not so, all the aircondicionings in the hotel are blowing warm wind into the room, and you can not open the window because of security matters, (prison?)
Ugly cheap decoration, very slippery bathroom, small towels. Very few water is coming out of the shower. Trains passing by underneath. We booked 3 nights but we could "escape" after one night, the friendly, not trained, employee promissed us a refund in a few days ( this was 1th of June) it is still not on our bankaccount (24.07.2014) Very bad relation between price and benefits

2 good tips?
1) Avoid this hotel
2) don´t book a hotel at all in Amsterdam but rent an appartment (google)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Paulo196911,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I'm sorry to hear your experience didn't meet up to your expectations.

We have been in contact through e-mail already and I trust everything is handled to your satisfaction.

It is my hope that we can better serve you in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.