We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay indeed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #102 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very nice stay indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Returned yesterday from a lovely 2 night stay at this hotel. Situated just outside the train station making the whole experience of being away that much easier. Staff upon arrival were helpful, spoke good English and were clean and professional looking. Paid, made my way to floor 7 via 2 elevators. Room was clean, lovely bathroom, with nice size flat screen tv, comfy twin beds, desk, safe and clothes hanging area. All I could've wanted to be honest. Made a brilliant place to be able to get back to easily after late nights in the centre and paying that bit extra was definitely worth it. I was going to slum it a bit for £40 - £70 a night in other hotels or b&bs but when I wandered and came across them, what was next door or over the road would've turned me right off. The area in which the Ibis stands is right out the way from all the noise and louts, which after an evening spent mingling with them, is a brilliant contrast. Will be staying again on my next trip.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Richard M,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeattable location and that you'll be staying again with us on your next trip.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    1,234
    524
    90
    58
See reviews for
379
938
189
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just recently stayed at this hotel and was very impressed. The location was very good and not too far from the main attractions. Room and rest of the hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. The only downside is that the breakfast was quite expensive for what it was but other than that very satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Sharon S,

Thank you very much for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you had a great stay in our hotel.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel is directly located to the right of Amsterdam Centraal when you walk out of the front doors of the station. The location is superb, as we did not have to drag our suitcases too far after getting off the train from the airport. The hotel is also a 5 minute walk away from Dam Square, up a straight street.

The receptionists and information staff were extremely helpful and polite.

Our room was located on the 6th floor with views overlooking the city. The room was clean and spacious, apart from the bathroom which was quite small. The room was generally clean - we had zero problems staying for 4 nights.

The only issue that we had was the cost of breakfast. We did not choose to include breakfast as part of our hotel package, but on the first day we decided to try it out. The cooked food was not tasty, and the rest of the selection was a typical continental breakfast. We believe this was not worth the 17 euro fee per person. Instead, we dined in cafes that located along the street to Dam Square each morning where we purchased full English breakfasts for half the price.

Room Tip: A higher floor with city facing views is beautiful to look at, especially in the morning to watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear TravelBuddyE,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the fact that you considered our staff to be extremely helpful.

I'm sorry to learn our all you can eat breakfast buffet didn't meet up to your expectations. We try to offer a varied selection of warm items and local breads and spreads. Did you know our breakfast is also online bookable in advance at a discounted price?

Thank you again for your most valuable feedback. It is my hope we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We chose this hotel due to location and price. It’s located just to the left of Central Station, ideal for the transfer from the airport - around 3 or 4 Euro by train.

The trains run every 15 minutes both ways.

Good location, you can reach most parts of Amsterdam on foot. Easy check-in, excellent English speaking staff. Rooms nice, clean and quiet - no train noise noted, the bathroom was a little on the small size but useable.

We opted for the breakfast, generally acceptable but a bit on the boring side - there was no difference in the choices available throughout our whole stay, it was like Groundhog day.

Very good experience, would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Gaynor T,

Thank you for reviewing Ibis Amsterdam Centre on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would choose to stay here again.

We're looking forward to welcoming you in the near future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We found this to be an excellent budget hotel. The staff on reception were friendly, helpful and professional. Our room was clean, comfortable and had a great view of the city. It was also surprisingly quiet and we had a good nights sleep. The hotel is right beside the station, so it is perfectly situated to make the best of a visit to Amsterdam. We would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good value, central, no frills place to stay in Amsterdam. Thank you ibis for making us feel so welcome on our city break.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view on an upper floor. These rooms are quieter and I loved seeing the city at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Mags5002013,

Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation on Tripadvisor!

I'm happy to hear you felt welcome in our hotel and will pass your copmliments on to our staff.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is right next to the station - which means you don't have to carry your luggage far. The hotel is clean, the rooms are a good size. As this is literally built over the station- there is triple glazing on the windows and they dont open, so I found the room a bit suffy and the AC didn't seem to work.

The reception area is nice, but the breakfast could do with a bit of an improvement. It is a canteen set up and could be more personal.

Amsterdam is such a small city, that it doesnt really matter where you stay, but this is is easy reach of all of the main sites so is a good base for a short trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear relaxandsightsee,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you found our hotel clean and a good base for your short trip.

You also pointed out some possible improvements, which we will certainly look into. Should you run into technical issues during any of your stays at ibis, please don't hesitate to contact our front office team immediately; they will take appropriate action to fix any problem.

Thank you for your most valuable feedback. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here during our trip to Amsterdam and it fulfilled everything that we expected from it and more in some cases.

The hotel is perfectly located for exploring the city and acts as a great focus point to meet and also start your days off with. Conveniently located at the western end of Amsterdam Central Station it is approximate a 2 minute walk from the entrance and is for the most part undercover until you reach the bike park outside the lobby. Its walking distance to most attractions and due to its location you can find it every time by following the signs back to Central Station!

Upon arrival the hotel is a typical city hotel catering mainly for the casual traveler or the business market. Clean and precises it offers a medium sized lobby flanked by lifts to one side and a bar/restaurant on the other. The staff on hand were welcoming and polite, speaking a range of languages but being mostly fluent in French, English and Dutch. Check in was a breeze and took less than 5 minutes of which were clearly informed of how to get to our room , the breakfast times, check out times and also any information pertaining to reservations for dinner should we need to make one.

The rooms themselves were mainly located over the railway track, but the soundproofing maintained the peace and aside form the odd rumble you really would not notice or realize you were over the main line. The soundproofing comes in handy early in the morning when a lot of revelers seem to come back from the various bars and clubs! The rooms were spacious and leaned towards the practical side as opposed to the luxurious side, yet managed to provide comfort and convenience by providing everything you could need for a short to medium length stay, anything longer than 4 days and you may need something a little more. Bathroom was spotless and had a huge shower with a a decent flow, while the beds were comfy, soft and had a range of pillows to choose from. Anything you may have forgotten could be requested from the concierge although the time it took for an extra pillow to arrive was verging on 30 minutes so its not the speediest of services. Towels can be changed each day if you so wish, but they were hard wearing yet soft as well and did the job for the 3 days we were there and did not need replacing. One little issue was that there was a distinct lack of power sockets and they were all concentrated in the far side of the room, and one was in the bathroom, so it was awkward at times to charge phones, tablets...etc.

We didn't eat in the hotel as we were room only but the bar was a nice place to unwind after a long day. It typical hotel prices and it can get expensive 20 euros for a round of 3 drinks! Yet costs aside the seats are relaxing and the bar is long and there were plenty of staff around to take our order. While we were seated we glanced at the food menu and saw that it was uninspiring and relatively standard fare consisting of mainly Italian themed food and the odd regional dish thrown in as well. If you have to eat there then i guess it would be, ok, but there are better restaurants only a few minutes walk away and at a better price to boot. Cant comment on the breakfast although i noticed that it is served from 4am until 10!

Checking out on our last day was simple and was done at the nice time of 12pm as opposed to some of the earlier checkout times. We were able to store out luggage for free in a secure room and then pick it up later before out train back to the airport! The staff also made us aware and provided us wit details of alternative routes to the airport as the direct train was not running. They told us what the alternatives were and also provided us with a print out of the changed route should we decide to take the slower train instead. A nice touch!

Highlights and plus points:

Great location
Clean and tidy
Polite and informative staff
Spacious rooms
Great showers
Good concierge service
Good service from staff
Free WiFi
Free print outs of the top news stories from home

Negative points:

Expensive prices for food and drink
Lack of power outlets
Slow services at times

Overall this hotel will suit you just fine if you are looking for a good all rounder, it wont disappoint and for location alone its a winner!

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter as the views from that end of town are ropey at best. If your really fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear joyrideonthetitanic,

Thank you very much for your extensive review and kind words of our hotel! It's always nice to receive such positive feedback.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeattable location.

You also pointed out some minor areas of improvement, which we will certainly look into.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Otel, ACCOR, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.