We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 15% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #139 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A very comfortable hotel. Friendly staff and rooms cleaned to a high standard daily. Location is perfect to discover the sights and sounds of Amsterdam. Trams, metro etc all on the doorstep also making it easy to get back to should you wander off. The breafast on offer is very tasty albeit basic but starts you off well. The hotel has nice character, with a lift change needed to get to the higher floors but this all added to the fun of our trip away! Fantastic hotel and would look to book again should we ever return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Lizzie D,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor!

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would visit us again in the future.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    1,634
    707
    137
    77
See reviews for
515
1,283
234
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel St. Patricks weekend - were very surprised to see it was just outside the Train Station - very convenient. On arrival the staff were extremely pleasant - the hotel itself was very clean - and our room was very clean - the bathroom was very small - just big enough for one!!!! But you can't have everything! The breakfast was extremely expensive - 16 euros each - but Amsterdam overall was extremely expensive! We had breakfast in hotel the first morn - then discovered a McD's the second - which was enough for us! It was a bit noisy in the mornings but this is to be expected with the maids cleaning etc. I would come back to this hotel again :)

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room higher up - it might not be as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Janet Y,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to use our hotel again in the future.

I will pass your comments regarding our staff on to them, they will be delighted to hear you experienced them to be extremely pleasant!

We're looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

went to the ibis hotel for one night as part of à Stag do. Hotel location central Amsterdam right next to train station. Stayed in room 412 which was clean and tidy. Bathroom à little on thé small side. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Alan O,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merles, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for short city stays: many tourist sites are within walking distance and all forms of public transport are at hand. It is a modern building, clean and functional. It is fine for short stay tourists, commercial travellers and group meetings of lower level managers. Rooms are very small, lacking any enclosed storage space. Fixtures and fittings are generally good quality (e.g. Grohe taps/shower) and sound-proofing is excellent. In-room wifi is fast and did not drop out once.
The key word is "functional": the whole operation lacks refinement and clearly money is being saved in the house-keeping and F&B areas. Bed linen is good, but towels are thin, small and mean. The only soap provided was in the form of plastic bottles of perfumed teepol: no toiletries. The breakfast room is a bear pit between 8 and 9 a.m. - crowded, noisy, all serve yourself push and shove; plates are kept in plate-warming trolleys, but these are never switched on, so luke-warm food (chicken sausages instead of bacon) has to be eaten off cold plates. There is endless apricot jam, but no marmalade. Bread is good, but no toaster. Drinks are all obtained from machines and are weak and flavourless. We avoided taking other meals in the hotel, but the 'daily special' was usually short-order and uninviting. Fortunately, the area abounds in restaurants.
Staff we encountered were cheerful and helpful.
The hotel is busy, so clearly it meets a well defined need. My main issue with it is the high price charged for a budget-end 3* operation. 14 euros for breakfast is risible. Room rates seem to vary widely: I was irritated, having booked through Accor central well in advance, to find on arrival that I could have saved money by simply turning up. As a silver loyalty card holder, I feel very let down.

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Commercial Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear 73John73,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you appreciated our central location and our staff.

Please allow me to respond to your comments. Every room is supplied with two hand towels and two bath towels. Concerning the quality of the towels, I will inform the Facility Manager about your comments.

Our showering supplies like soap and shampoo are actually combined in one tube. This is standard in every Ibis hotel across the world to help conserve the environment. By using a single product and tube instead of several small plastic bottles, we save huge amounts of waste.

I'm sorry to learn our breakfast restaurant and buffet didn't meet up to your expectations. We try to put together an all you can eat buffet which offers a wide variety of hot and cold items, including typical Dutch breads and spreads. We will look into our buffet and see if we can make any improvements.

I sincerely apologize for the fact that you felt let down. We always encourage guests to book in advance for the best available rate, so your comment concerning the rate at the front desk surprised me. Should you wish to share more details of your stay or require any more information, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at: H1556-rm@accor.com.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you encountered. I do appreciate your feedback, which is most valuable to us.

I hope you haven't lost the trust you've shown in our organization and you will give us an opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Best regards,
Pascalle Bijvoet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#122 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,835 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#126 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,432 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#216 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#113 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.